Building A Gaming PC - Parts Advice Needed Page 17

  • Page

    of 36 First / Last

  • Sharzam 28 Aug 2013 08:25:24 3,915 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    If the OS is stable but game crashes don't rule out the overclock. If that's the case it just means your right at the limit, a bit more and it would crash so assuming temps are good try increasing the voltage to stabilise. Or dial it right down to check other parts of your system stability.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • orpheus 28 Aug 2013 19:00:35 1,190 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    TheRum wrote:
    CPU is overclocked. Can't get to PC at the moment to view event viewer. CPU is i5 3570k, GPU 560ti (not overclocked). No slowdown or blue screen just suddenly BAM! game stops and and it goes back to desktop with windows saying it's trying to find a reason.
    Check for WHEA errors in Event Viewer. If you have them, your overclock is just nudging under the stable voltage level. Push the vcore up a notch or two (watch your temps), then check for WHEA errors again. Repeat til you see no WHEA type errors whatsoever. Prime may not trigger WHEA errors, but you may still get them during gaming, so stable prime does not always mean a stable overclock.

    If you've got no WHEA errors, then greater minds than mine will hopefully have some suggestions!
  • Fake_Blood 28 Aug 2013 19:06:32 4,661 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    watch your temps people.
    Easy with teh cranking.
  • Arrr9 29 Aug 2013 11:19:08 458 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    The Corsair Hydro coolers are fantastic. I had one coupled with an AMD 955 and it never missed a watery beat with temps always being very low. In fact I wish I'd never looked at that Scan page as now I'm tempted to order one for my new pc, despite it running perfectly well on the stock cooler. Silly temptation !
  • Deleted user 29 August 2013 11:31:42
    What sort of power would be needed to run the vr bollocks that is doing the rounds when it goes commercial?
  • Rodpad 29 Aug 2013 14:55:03 2,212 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    The rubber washers are for drive mounting and not the motherboard spacers.

    Edited by Roddles at 15:02:24 29-08-2013
  • graysonavich 29 Aug 2013 18:43:59 7,384 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    munki83 wrote:
    I love everything about the case apart from the lack of instructions.
    It's a case...
  • Rodpad 29 Aug 2013 20:14:47 2,212 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    munki83 wrote:
    Disaster windows is booting to bluescreen of death. Also my dvd drive is old and doesn't have a sata interface but the old enhanced ide cable so no way to reinstall windows tonight. Got a new drove on order
    Go into the Bios and change all the Sata modes to IDE

    Boot up successfully into Windows (safe mode if necessary)

    Do this - http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?69682-Change-from-IDE-to-AHCI-after-Installation

    Go back into the Bios and change all back Sata stuff to AHCI

    Edited by Roddles at 20:15:02 29-08-2013
  • Rodpad 29 Aug 2013 22:38:00 2,212 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I'm fixing your BSOD problem. It's because Windows was installed in IDE mode. All new motherboards default to AHCI mode (which you should be using in 2013).

    Follow the all steps above. Do not just boot up in IDE mode and stop there because it's magically working again. You need AHCI mode enabled in both Windows and the bios.

    Edited by Roddles at 22:42:35 29-08-2013
  • graysonavich 29 Aug 2013 22:43:08 7,384 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Wait wait back up...so rubber washers...?
  • Phattso Best Moderator, 2014 30 Aug 2013 07:57:20 14,688 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hard to go wrong with the R4 case? The box all the screws and washers come in has pictures of all the screws and washers and text explaining what they are. Glad you got there in the end though!

    Everyone that sees it says "blimey that's MASSIVE!" which sort of surprises me. I had a Thermaltake tower monstrosity a few years back... now THAT was a big case. This sleek little thing sitting in the corner of the room barely even registers for me. I put a plant on top, it sort of looks like a side table. :)
  • Rodpad 30 Aug 2013 08:52:27 2,212 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I have to agree that it is a big case. I was previously using a Coolermaster Elite 334U and the R4 is quite a bit bigger in every dimension.

    It bothered me at first, but now it's on the floor I don't even really notice it (nor care).
  • Phattso Best Moderator, 2014 30 Aug 2013 08:59:33 14,688 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Heh - I'm just overjoyed that it's silent for all intents and purposes. Heavy bastard, as you guys say, though. Hernia inducing to move it around.
  • Gartt 30 Aug 2013 11:38:00 1,872 posts
    Seen 47 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    My R4 is actually smaller and lighter than my last case! I had this old beastly antec before, was the size of a small fridge!
  • Kovacs77 1 Sep 2013 16:31:03 383 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Just about to shell out on this lot -

    EVGA GTX770 Superclocked (bargain at Scan just now, 307 with Arkham Origins)
    i5 4670
    Asus Z87-A
    Corsair Carbide 300R case

    Any thoughts / advice? I think I'm getting about the best 'bang for buck' with the CPU and GPU choice. I'm coming from an AMD Phenom II, so I did consider saving some money by sticking with Socket AM3 and getting an FX8320 but I'm wanting this build as futureproof as I can afford.


    (--I'm trying to avoid thinking that I could almost afford two PS4s for the same money!)
  • Kovacs77 1 Sep 2013 16:47:41 383 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Kovacs77 1 Sep 2013 16:48:09 383 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    orpheus wrote:
    TheRum wrote:
    CPU is overclocked. Can't get to PC at the moment to view event viewer. CPU is i5 3570k, GPU 560ti (not overclocked). No slowdown or blue screen just suddenly BAM! game stops and and it goes back to desktop with windows saying it's trying to find a reason.
    Check for WHEA errors in Event Viewer. If you have them, your overclock is just nudging under the stable voltage level. Push the vcore up a notch or two (watch your temps), then check for WHEA errors again. Repeat til you see no WHEA type errors whatsoever. Prime may not trigger WHEA errors, but you may still get them during gaming, so stable prime does not always mean a stable overclock.

    If you've got no WHEA errors, then greater minds than mine will hopefully have some suggestions!
    My 560ti started doing that a few months ago, exactly the same issue and error message. It seemed to have started after I updated Java, so as a long shot I used System Restore to take me back a few days previous, and it started working again. Since then I've avoided updating Java and the problem has never come back. It's probably completely unrelated to Java but it's worth trying System Restore.
  • Rodpad 2 Sep 2013 09:03:54 2,212 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Kovacs77 wrote:
    Just about to shell out on this lot -

    EVGA GTX770 Superclocked (bargain at Scan just now, 307 with Arkham Origins)
    i5 4670
    Asus Z87-A
    Corsair Carbide 300R case

    Any thoughts / advice? I think I'm getting about the best 'bang for buck' with the CPU and GPU choice. I'm coming from an AMD Phenom II, so I did consider saving some money by sticking with Socket AM3 and getting an FX8320 but I'm wanting this build as futureproof as I can afford.


    (--I'm trying to avoid thinking that I could almost afford two PS4s for the same money!)
    You'll want the i5-4670K as that can be overclocked. The non K version cannot. You can quite easily overclock to 4.2Ghz.
  • Page

    of 36 First / Last

Log in or register to reply