Building A Gaming PC - Parts Advice Needed Page 14

  • Page

    of 31 First / Last

  • monkehhh 16 Jul 2013 18:18:27 3,477 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @mowgli If you need everything (screen, peripherals, OS, etc) - it's gonna be costly (in comparison to a 360). Without, it's still gonna cost a fair bit more.
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 20:51:26 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Help....

    Put new card in and now picture comes up when I boot the computer :( the card's fans etc are spinning when it powers on so I know it's got juice
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:19:49 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Put old card in again and that still works (thank fuck). Dodgy card??
  • monkehhh 16 Jul 2013 21:24:28 3,477 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Got all the extra power leads plugged in? Same slot / output as the old one?
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 21:33:59 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    If the card offers UEFI support and says UEFI ready on the box you might need to update your motherboard BIOS. What motherboard is it?
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:41:40 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It's a Gigabyte z77x d3h
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:42:24 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Yeah all power cables were in. I'm wondering whether the psu is strong enough for it? It's 650w though so should be enough
  • monkehhh 16 Jul 2013 21:44:43 3,477 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    650W should be more than enough for one card. I upgraded recently and my first boot was weird, then I restarted and everything was fine.

    Does it have on-board graphics that work?

    Edited by monkehhh at 21:47:12 16-07-2013
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 21:46:14 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    superdelphinus wrote:
    It's a Gigabyte z77x d3h
    Update the BIOS if the card uses UEFI.

    Edited by B0rked_Gamer at 21:48:15 16-07-2013
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:49:40 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Actually?!

    Christ I'm scared...

    Ok so I preempted that a bit and went on the gigabyte website - there's two bios updates, rev1.0 and rev1.1 (mine is only version f6 according to msinfo, and it goes up to f14 on there!), do I need to install them both or just go straight to v1.1. V nervous about bios pissing about with
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 21:51:23 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Could you please check whether the card is using UEFI. It should mention it somewhere on the box. :)
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:51:26 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It says 'uefi compliant' on the box, is that the same thing?
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:53:05 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The funny thing is that I just ran the bioshock infinite benchmark to make sure the old card was performing properly and it's doubled its max fps figure since last night :/
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 21:55:43 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    :D

    Update your BIOS.
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 21:58:33 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Cheers. Do I just go straight to rev 1.1?
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 22:07:50 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    If your board is rev 1.0 stick to that and use F16.
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 22:12:40 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hello

    How do I know which rev mine is?!

    (Sorry)
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 22:13:31 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    CPU Z should give you that information.

    yep it's under the mainboard tab

    Edited by B0rked_Gamer at 22:14:28 16-07-2013
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 22:16:01 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Thanks

    And is best to do it via the Internet or download the file first?
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 22:24:13 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I've always flashed the BIOS from USB. It's generally considered a good idea to put any changes made to settings in the BIOS back to default prior to flashing but that could be bullshit. :)

    It's been a while since I flashed my old Gigabyte X58 board but it should have a Q-flash option there. Don't flash from the OS.
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 22:46:58 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    BIOS flashed :)

    I feel like a proper man.

    now to try the card again...
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 23:02:17 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Bingo :)

    Thank you so much for the hand holding
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 23:06:06 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    \o/

    Enjoy.
  • monkehhh 16 Jul 2013 23:08:03 3,477 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    BOOM! What's the new card?
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 23:15:29 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    7950

    Early impressions are it's a beast, and I've not started to push the clocks up yet. Average increase across the benchmarks I did yesterday is around 15 - 20 fps on an overclocked 7850 2gb. I got this particular one because apparently it loves to be cranked up a lot
  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 23:16:19 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hotter though....
  • Gold1877 16 Jul 2013 23:36:34 459 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Need a little advice if possible.

    My current PC spec is....
    I7 2600k 3.4GHz
    8GB Ram
    ATI HD 6970

    Is it worth me upgrading the GFX card or not?, Bought This machine just over 2 years ago, What would be a decent upgrade for me?

    PSN - Gold1877

    Xbox live - Gold1877

  • superdelphinus 16 Jul 2013 23:45:01 8,125 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    So 70.26 average fps on the heaviest bioshock infinite benchmark, overclocked to 1150mhz. Amazing
  • b0rk 16 Jul 2013 23:48:15 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yep the 7950 really starts to sing when overclocked.

    Wolves, the 7950 is pretty good. ;)
  • Page

    of 31 First / Last

Log in or register to reply