Gaming HTPC Page 5

  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

  • FanBoysSuck 11 Oct 2012 15:52:03 1,467 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @mikew1985

    Yeah I feel ashamed, I'll now have to cry myself to sleep tonight. :D

    For the emperor!

  • richardiox 11 Oct 2012 16:14:48 5,571 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    "if god created a console he would have called it ps3" - Vizzini

    /not enough RAM to allow for a party system
    /mandatory instals
    /lol

    Edited by richardiox at 16:16:29 11-10-2012
  • Deleted user 11 October 2012 16:16:25
    @FanBoysSuck

    People can set up a system configuration that will give them the answer they want, but across the board of systems, user game options, hard drives, DVD/bluray speeds/ GPUs and CPUs options. Doubling, tripling or quadrupling memory channels will reducing loading times, reduce network card HDD processing latency and help games to handle worst case frame-rate scenarios better than systems using single channel or double channel. It will also improve CPU physX/havok handling in many games.


    And aren't they the same people that told consumers to disable their pagefile system and use 16GB of ram according to EG_user:Atari?
  • Fake_Blood 11 Oct 2012 16:18:54 4,151 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    This is how I picture Vizzini.

  • mikew1985 11 Oct 2012 16:19:19 12,651 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    JUST SHUT UP TALKING SHITE.

    Christ.

    Edit; @ Vizzini obviously :D

    Edited by mikew1985 at 16:19:46 11-10-2012
  • FanBoysSuck 11 Oct 2012 16:26:25 1,467 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @vizzini What mikew1985 said :D

    For the emperor!

  • richardiox 11 Oct 2012 17:00:13 5,571 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    He's qualified on the subject though - he's said several times in many face-off comments threads that he's a games programmer by trade.

    Managed to say that in between breaths whilst he's dismissing everything DF have pointed out...

    ..."EG are biased, third partys are bribed by MS, Witcher 2 actually has shit graphics look at the alpha omega vortex glamourisation on that tree in the background, Gears 3 graphics are actually shit, a 4000 workstation is the best bet for gaming, ps3 was made by god himself" etc etc

    He is to gaming what Jimmy Saville was to children.
  • nickthegun 11 Oct 2012 17:47:14 59,365 posts
    Seen 34 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Fake_Blood wrote:
    This is how I picture Vizzini.

    ftfy

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • mrpon 11 Oct 2012 17:55:43 28,714 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    And he sounds like this.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Armoured_Bear 11 Oct 2012 19:07:18 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    So, can I order my mATX Motherboard despot the lack of octo-channel RAM sockets?

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • Fake_Blood 11 Oct 2012 19:10:50 4,151 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    If you're only using 1 gpu port and two ram ports, why not go down to mini-itx?
  • Armoured_Bear 11 Oct 2012 19:39:32 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Fake_Blood wrote:
    If you're only using 1 gpu port and two ram ports, why not go down to mini-itx?
    I'll possibly add a sound card later..

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • Bremenacht 11 Oct 2012 19:40:58 17,695 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    One of these is probably best for you ecosse, but 200 of them would be better. Have you considered opening your own data-centre to house your gaming HTPC rig? You really ought to.

    It's the only way to ensure a quality gaming experience.
  • Armoured_Bear 11 Oct 2012 21:07:32 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Bremenacht wrote:
    One of these is probably best for you ecosse, but 200 of them would be better. Have you considered opening your own data-centre to house your gaming HTPC rig? You really ought to.

    It's the only way to ensure a quality gaming experience.
    Hmm, looks not bad but I'm concerned about the air quality in modern data centres, I think it'll ruin the performance of my "rig".
    I may just give up and use my PS3.

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • FanBoysSuck 12 Oct 2012 08:51:25 1,467 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I don't know, only 4, 8 core processors? You may find it bottlenecks. 64gb RAM is a bit on the skimpy side as well.

    If you're having to compromise because of the budget though, you may want to look into one of these for cooling.

    For the emperor!

  • Deleted user 12 October 2012 11:34:26
    Thanks for the kind words, pictures and video people :)

    @FanBoysSuck

    Maybe the reason that certain Windows PC configurations don't exploit the use of multichannel RAM now for games,is too much memory per module, as the games are i386 apps fenced within 4GB limits on 64bit Windows 7. That will mean the app will fit perfectly within the size of just one channel's module in most PCs, unless the motherboard device drivers force a multichannel mapping which other than Lenovo, HP or Dell OEM customised professional Oses(for workstations) probably isn't likely.

    Only the other day I was fixing(&tweaking) a friend of friend's overclocked/watercooled tri channel system(Asus P6t Deluxe) as a favour, and was shocked at how badly the version of Windows was configured on this prebuilt Cyberpower PC.

    It seemed very unresponsive using generic device drivers for important motherboard features, and the SAS RAID driver wasn't even installed. All OS windows were configured to run in the same blocking process.

    The two fast samsung SATA3 7200RPM drives were configured like it was running Windows 3.0. The primary drive in use with multiple mount points (drive partitions/letters) reducing C: drive throughput. The performance monitor reporting quite high levels of memory errors (dirty pages in OS services), and even the pagefile was residing on the primary drive, when a perfectly good drive existed on a separate SATA channel to increase performance.

    I'm surprised in any way by tomshardware findings, maybe windows 7 home is really that bad that they can't force the system to exploit the extra memory bandwidth of dual or trichannel memory, but Wine on Linux certainly does, and I suspect this will be an improvement with Windows 8 handling memory striping more aggressively, as they will be making a big push with Windows 8 to get away from 32bit address space games allowing bigger memory use.
  • FanBoysSuck 12 Oct 2012 14:30:46 1,467 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    vizzini please stop. For the love of your favourite deity, please stop.

    ecosse, hopefully this handy guide will help ;)

    For the emperor!

  • nickthegun 12 Oct 2012 14:39:36 59,365 posts
    Seen 34 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    "Well, it worked fine before you messed about with it...."

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • mikew1985 12 Oct 2012 14:41:59 12,651 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    It's like he is oblivious to what any of the posts are saying yet he acknowledges them prior to posting yet another round of utterly boring nonsense.

    Can't wait for Windows 8's more aggressive approach to memory striping though.
  • Deleted user 12 October 2012 22:04:52
    nickthegun: "Well, it worked fine before you messed about with it...."

    Actually, it was bricked went it arrived, for more than one reason.

    Looked like someone not smart enough to know what they didn't know (;)) had altered bios settings outside of tolerance and had, had a try at fixing it themselves first, without success.

    It had a nasty cheap wifi card probably shorting the PCI bus, as it hadn't been seated fully(and not screwed in). Other important screws were missing in the case, and the reservoir wasn't even secured. Worse yet mobo cables in the system were barely making connections, in spite of a excellent cable management system. Naturally when I get involved in sorting out someone's computer I sort and enhance everything that can be, short of an OS reinstall. Just like I would professionally, or for my own personally needs.
  • Armoured_Bear 15 Oct 2012 22:19:39 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Very nice case if you don't want an optical drive

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • Armoured_Bear 24 Oct 2012 15:10:52 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    I have received or await delivery of the following:

    Case

    Lian Li PC-C60

    PSU

    Seasonic X-560

    CPU

    i5 3570K

    Motherboard

    ASUS P8Z77-M Pro

    RAM

    8 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz Low Profile

    CPU Cooler

    Noctua NHC-C14

    HDD

    Samsung 830 (256GB)

    Case Fans

    Be quiet! SilentWings2 140mm

    Soundproofing

    AcoustiPack ML 3-layer 7mm
    AcoustiPack ML 3-layer 12mm

    Blu-Ray Drive

    Asus BC 12B1ST

    I'm going to order the GPU tonight or tomorrow but I think I'm going to go for the
    Asus Direct CU GTX 670 instead of the 660Ti

    Almost there!
    I just need to order a 360 Pad for Windows and a new kb/mouse.

    Any suggestions for gaming kb/mouse that is living room friendly?

    Edited by Armoured_Bear at 15:11:20 24-10-2012

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • Armoured_Bear 24 Oct 2012 15:16:26 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    rodpad wrote:
    Yeah get the Asus 670 and you have an excellent machine. Well done!

    No keyboard and mouse is comfortable on a couch to be honest. Using a wireless 360 pad for gaming, and any old wireless keyboard and mouse for navigating windows will suffice.
    Cheers, I have a wireless kb/m that I use when working from home that I can use for now I suppose.

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • mikew1985 24 Oct 2012 15:26:21 12,651 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I have a Logitech K750 solar powered keyboard which is a nice lightweight wireless keyboard and a microsoft sidewinder mouse of some description. Great range on both and excellent for gaming when required
  • Armoured_Bear 24 Oct 2012 15:27:25 10,509 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    mikew1985 wrote:
    I have a Logitech K750 solar powered keyboard which is a nice lightweight wireless keyboard and a microsoft sidewinder mouse of some description. Great range on both and excellent for gaming when required
    Thanks for the tip Mike, solar sounds good.

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • FanBoysSuck 24 Oct 2012 15:57:30 1,467 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I just got a Razer Orochi wireless bluetooth gaming mouse to go with my laptop. Highly recommended if you're willing to part with the cash. Very responsive in wireless mode and works like a high end gaming mouse when plugged in.

    For the emperor!

  • mikew1985 24 Oct 2012 16:02:15 12,651 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Armoured_Bear wrote:
    mikew1985 wrote:
    I have a Logitech K750 solar powered keyboard which is a nice lightweight wireless keyboard and a microsoft sidewinder mouse of some description. Great range on both and excellent for gaming when required
    Thanks for the tip Mike, solar sounds good.
    The solar part is great, no worries about the battery or charging. It's got laptop like keys, but I prefer them to the full standard high profile keys and they work fine for gaming with my old withering fingers as well as helping the keyboard to remain neat and tidy when not in use.
  • mrpon 24 Oct 2012 16:24:03 28,714 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yup, echo what mike said, I've have the same keyboard. No issues with it at all, providing it's not going in the basement.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

Log in or register to reply