Whole PC freezes when site loads for first time - it's the ads

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • morriss 19 Jul 2012 10:39:53 71,286 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    As per thread title. I'm using Chrome. My PC PC freezes until the top and side ad-bar loads, then it works again. It's only perhaps 5 seconds, but mildly irritating. Just thought I'd draw attention to it.

    Edited by morriss at 10:40:04 19-07-2012
  • Razz 19 Jul 2012 10:41:04 61,653 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    morriss wrote:
    My PC PC freezes until the top and side ad-bar loads,.
    As opposed to an unPC PC? I must admit my PC can be a little racist sometimes

    Edited by Razz at 10:43:12 19-07-2012

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • nickthegun 19 Jul 2012 10:45:13 61,284 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It cant cope with the POWER OF FLASH

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller

  • morriss 19 Jul 2012 10:48:48 71,286 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I like to think me being on here helps the people who design the site and write the content get paid. #holierthanthou
  • nickthegun 19 Jul 2012 10:50:10 61,284 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Adblock and send them a bottle of scotch every few months.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller

  • morriss 19 Jul 2012 10:54:55 71,286 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    nickthegun wrote:
    Adblock and send them a bottle of scotch every few months.
    :)

    I hash-tagged, Deck. Sorry. But yeah, adblock. However, it's never happened before. So it's either Flash Player itself or some jiggery pokery from their adserver.
  • Razz 19 Jul 2012 11:00:36 61,653 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Probably just your PC PC #morris'sPCisacunt

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • morriss 19 Jul 2012 22:21:53 71,286 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    It's my work laptop, actually.
  • Dirtbox 19 Jul 2012 23:04:29 79,172 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    #killyourselfifyouusehashtagsplease

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deckard2 4 Aug 2012 17:22:37 3,674 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I get this too. Load Eurogamer, whole PC freezes for 5 seconds. I've tried with:-

    Main PC
    Netbook
    Work PC

    And all three freeze. (Chrome)

    Edited by YoshiMcTaggis at 17:22:58 04-08-2012
  • Dirtbox 4 Aug 2012 18:13:03 79,172 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Pirotic Moderator 4 Aug 2012 19:11:40 20,647 posts
    Seen 8 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Feel bad for us mac users, when I type a comment the characters appear one per second. I'm still seeing the words 'users' while typing this bit.
  • Dirtbox 4 Aug 2012 20:52:44 79,172 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    You've only got yourself to blame.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • monkehhh 4 Aug 2012 20:56:13 3,498 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Portable mode / Ghostery extension for Chrome - lot less eye rape.
  • DFawkes 5 Aug 2012 15:11:39 24,047 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Mine freezes the same way, and that's on both Firefox and Chrome with their respective versions on AdBlock tried unsuccesfully. Does it still load the ads but just not display them?

    The Firefox one is almost certainly the PC though, the one running that is held together with tape and willpower.

    Oh for goodness sake, I've caught my scrotum in my zip again - Margaret Thatcher, 1986

  • THFourteen 5 Aug 2012 15:12:47 34,463 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    no problems on any of my machines using IE.

    IE, the browser designed for PC PCs
  • Deleted user 5 August 2012 15:14:34
    And cunts.
  • THFourteen 5 Aug 2012 15:15:52 34,463 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Adebayor uses IE?
  • Deleted user 5 August 2012 15:16:35
    Don't think he's that stupid, even for a footballer.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply