Completely disable/hide floppy drive without physically removing it?

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • MrDigital 27 Jun 2012 21:00:03 1,882 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Hi guys. My Dad has an ageing desktop at his home which I recently managed to speed up and mostly fix by installing Windows 7. But one problem persists. Essentially every time at power on, before Windows can even boot, BIOS (the window that shows is "System Console" ) throws up an error with the floppy drive. The tower is in too awkward a position to pull out and manually remove the floppy drive, so is there any way to make the floppy drive completely invisible to the computer, or even disable it so that it doesn't cause errors?

    Cheers!

    Edited by Geesh at 21:02:16 27-06-2012
  • Whizzo 27 Jun 2012 21:03:19 43,952 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    You should be able to disable the floppy drive by going into the BIOS and telling the PC it doesn't actually have one.
  • mal 27 Jun 2012 21:04:22 24,184 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Can you configure it in the BIOS?
  • WrongShui 27 Jun 2012 21:10:10 6,638 posts
    Seen 19 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Jam a screwdriver in it and whack it with a hammer till it's dead.


    Failing that BIOS is a good bet.

    Edited by WrongShui at 21:10:54 27-06-2012
  • X201 27 Jun 2012 21:13:07 16,613 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    As the others have said, BIOS

    You may also have an option in the standard BIOS options called something like "Report no FDD for OS"

    Edited by X201 at 21:15:44 27-06-2012
  • Dirtbox 27 Jun 2012 22:34:15 81,872 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, or just set the floppy as the last boot device instead of the first.
  • MrDigital 28 Jun 2012 11:16:42 1,882 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Thanks for the advice, chaps. I managed to solve it by using the BIOS like you said and found an option to disable showing POST errors. In doing this, it looks like I may have exposed another problem... This worked for as long as the computer was powered on (I did many restart what with update and installing new programs) but when I woke up this morning and started the computer from no power, the settings had reverted. I know nothing about how the BIOS actually works, is it possible it is reverting to some sort of default every time it starts because the long term memory isn't working? This would make sense, as occasionally the computer starts up and the time has been reset to circa 2006. Any way to fix this?
  • Rens11 28 Jun 2012 11:28:18 1,616 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Some sort of flamethrower would probably do the job
  • monkehhh 28 Jun 2012 12:00:23 3,903 posts
    Seen 57 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Maybe your CMOS battery is dead so it can't store your BIOS settings?
  • mal 28 Jun 2012 12:14:26 24,184 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Do we still have CMOS batteries since the switch from the AT to the ATX mobo spec? It does seem it's losing power to the RTC if it's defaulting to 2006, but as I understand it that power comes from the power supply, probably via a capacitor to allow the machine to be unplugged for a few days.
  • Rusty_M 28 Jun 2012 12:16:28 5,418 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    mal wrote:
    Do we still have CMOS batteries since the switch from the AT to the ATX mobo spec?
    Yup
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply