Forum is eating parts of posts

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • [maven] 17 Mar 2012 15:51:42 5,439 posts
    Seen 51 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_thread_post.php?tid=229651&pid=8518944&start=30

    This post has a link to post content that when posted, results in the previous post.

    It seems like some mangled escaping or so. It starts with the power-symbol and eats up to the apostrophe.
  • Deleted user 17 March 2012 15:55:41
    It's always done it hasn't it? I assumed something to do with allowing html in posts.
  • Syrette 17 Mar 2012 15:56:50 47,917 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Maybe it's because of your dodgy username?
  • Deleted user 17 March 2012 16:06:53
    Deckard


    naked


    laughed.
  • nickthegun 17 Mar 2012 16:08:50 68,441 posts
    Seen 55 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    My current bugbear is that the text box doesn't follow the cursor, so you are typing blind until you physIcally scroll it down.
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 17 Mar 2012 16:15:53 87,823 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Testing

    Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 17 Mar 2012 16:18:28 87,823 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    It's eating it because the forum has being a little overzealous in disabling certain code syntax.

    Hilariously, the code tags just post in a different font and doesn't let you post code either. It's like giving a milkman a sombrero and telling him he can deliver burritos during a Mexican food outage.

    No, it's exactly like that.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 10:27:30 18-03-2012
  • MetalDog 17 Mar 2012 17:46:24 24,076 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    It chews up portions of my posts if I use my favoured smileys using the = for eyes.

    Doesn't always do it, so I'm assuming the surrounding characters have some effect on it.
  • mAc6 18 Mar 2012 10:25:35 2,782 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    one day I
  • Rusty_M 18 Mar 2012 13:18:29 6,358 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I ended up posting simply "bangers" a few days ago because of that.
  • MetalDog 18 Mar 2012 13:28:33 24,076 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    It's only been eating =) eyed smiley posts since the revamp, so whatever broke it happened then.
  • mal 18 Mar 2012 13:45:17 26,540 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Yeah, I attempted to post some code in there inside a quote, and it swallowed up text from somewhere in the quote to an apostrophe I had in the text that followed. I'm pretty sure I didn't have an apostrophe in my javascript, so it's not a simple quoting escape bug. I would test it, but it's lunchtime.
  • [maven] 20 Mar 2012 13:11:14 5,439 posts
    Seen 51 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Bump? Where is my bug-tracker reference #?
  • pinebear 20 Mar 2012 13:28:08 8,564 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    You can get this fixed as soon as you upgrade to Eurogamer's Premium Membership tier.
  • Salaman 20 Mar 2012 14:01:06 21,964 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Is premium membership where you get a working search function?
  • mal 20 Mar 2012 14:25:22 26,540 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Test:

    I wonder if it's double == that screw it up?
    Edit: Nope!

    Edited by mal at 14:26:53 20-03-2012
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 20 Mar 2012 14:28:33 87,823 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    [code]=>
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 20 Mar 2012 14:30:38 87,823 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    [code]Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).[/code]
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 20 Mar 2012 14:30:49 87,823 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Hm.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.