Forum is eating parts of posts

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • [maven] 17 Mar 2012 15:51:42 5,266 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_thread_post.php?tid=229651&pid=8518944&start=30

    This post has a link to post content that when posted, results in the previous post.

    It seems like some mangled escaping or so. It starts with the power-symbol and eats up to the apostrophe.
  • Mr-Brett 17 Mar 2012 15:55:41 13,261 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It's always done it hasn't it? I assumed something to do with allowing html in posts.
  • Syrette 17 Mar 2012 15:56:50 45,594 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Maybe it's because of your dodgy username?
  • Deleted user 17 March 2012 16:06:53
    Deckard


    naked


    laughed.
  • nickthegun 17 Mar 2012 16:08:50 64,492 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    My current bugbear is that the text box doesn't follow the cursor, so you are typing blind until you physIcally scroll it down.
  • Dirtbox 17 Mar 2012 16:15:53 82,211 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Testing

    Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).
  • Dirtbox 17 Mar 2012 16:18:28 82,211 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It's eating it because the forum has being a little overzealous in disabling certain code syntax.

    Hilariously, the code tags just post in a different font and doesn't let you post code either. It's like giving a milkman a sombrero and telling him he can deliver burritos during a Mexican food outage.

    No, it's exactly like that.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 10:27:30 18-03-2012
  • MetalDog 17 Mar 2012 17:46:24 23,928 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    It chews up portions of my posts if I use my favoured smileys using the = for eyes.

    Doesn't always do it, so I'm assuming the surrounding characters have some effect on it.
  • mAc6 18 Mar 2012 10:25:35 1,553 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    one day I
  • Rusty_M 18 Mar 2012 13:18:29 5,475 posts
    Seen 59 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I ended up posting simply "bangers" a few days ago because of that.
  • MetalDog 18 Mar 2012 13:28:33 23,928 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    It's only been eating =) eyed smiley posts since the revamp, so whatever broke it happened then.
  • mal 18 Mar 2012 13:45:17 24,323 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Yeah, I attempted to post some code in there inside a quote, and it swallowed up text from somewhere in the quote to an apostrophe I had in the text that followed. I'm pretty sure I didn't have an apostrophe in my javascript, so it's not a simple quoting escape bug. I would test it, but it's lunchtime.
  • [maven] 20 Mar 2012 13:11:14 5,266 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Bump? Where is my bug-tracker reference #?
  • pinebear 20 Mar 2012 13:28:08 8,564 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    You can get this fixed as soon as you upgrade to Eurogamer's Premium Membership tier.
  • Salaman 20 Mar 2012 14:01:06 20,590 posts
    Seen 23 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Is premium membership where you get a working search function?
  • mal 20 Mar 2012 14:25:22 24,323 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Test:

    I wonder if it's double == that screw it up?
    Edit: Nope!

    Edited by mal at 14:26:53 20-03-2012
  • Dirtbox 20 Mar 2012 14:28:33 82,211 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    [code]=>
  • Dirtbox 20 Mar 2012 14:30:38 82,211 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    [code]Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).[/code]
  • Dirtbox 20 Mar 2012 14:30:49 82,211 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Hm.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply