Forum is eating parts of posts

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • [maven] 17 Mar 2012 15:51:42 5,180 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_thread_post.php?tid=229651&pid=8518944&start=30

    This post has a link to post content that when posted, results in the previous post.

    It seems like some mangled escaping or so. It starts with the power-symbol and eats up to the apostrophe.
  • Mr-Brett 17 Mar 2012 15:55:41 12,822 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    It's always done it hasn't it? I assumed something to do with allowing html in posts.

    Level 37 Social Justice Warrior

  • Syrette 17 Mar 2012 15:56:50 43,767 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Maybe it's because of your dodgy username?

  • Deckard1 17 Mar 2012 16:03:02 28,724 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Yeah it started doing tha
    which obviously
    friday night and it was like
    seriously it was the biggest elephants cock I'd ever
    this nun
    the rubix cube back in the hamper
    fuck spit
  • Deleted user 17 March 2012 16:06:53
    Deckard


    naked


    laughed.
  • nickthegun 17 Mar 2012 16:08:50 60,452 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    My current bugbear is that the text box doesn't follow the cursor, so you are typing blind until you physIcally scroll it down.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller

  • Gland 17 Mar 2012 16:15:53 78,449 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Testing

    Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Gland 17 Mar 2012 16:18:28 78,449 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It's eating it because the forum has being a little overzealous in disabling certain code syntax.

    Hilariously, the code tags just post in a different font and doesn't let you post code either. It's like giving a milkman a sombrero and telling him he can deliver burritos during a Mexican food outage.

    No, it's exactly like that.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 10:27:30 18-03-2012

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • MetalDog 17 Mar 2012 17:46:24 23,734 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It chews up portions of my posts if I use my favoured smileys using the = for eyes.

    Doesn't always do it, so I'm assuming the surrounding characters have some effect on it.

    -- boobs do nothing for me, I want moustaches and chest hair.

  • mAc6 18 Mar 2012 10:25:35 736 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    one day I
  • Rusty_M 18 Mar 2012 13:18:29 4,763 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I ended up posting simply "bangers" a few days ago because of that.

    The world is going mad. Me? I'm doing fine.

  • MetalDog 18 Mar 2012 13:28:33 23,734 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It's only been eating =) eyed smiley posts since the revamp, so whatever broke it happened then.

    -- boobs do nothing for me, I want moustaches and chest hair.

  • mal 18 Mar 2012 13:45:17 22,710 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, I attempted to post some code in there inside a quote, and it swallowed up text from somewhere in the quote to an apostrophe I had in the text that followed. I'm pretty sure I didn't have an apostrophe in my javascript, so it's not a simple quoting escape bug. I would test it, but it's lunchtime.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • [maven] 20 Mar 2012 13:11:14 5,180 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Bump? Where is my bug-tracker reference #?
  • pinebear 20 Mar 2012 13:28:08 8,565 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    You can get this fixed as soon as you upgrade to Eurogamer's Premium Membership tier.

  • Salaman 20 Mar 2012 14:01:06 19,272 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Is premium membership where you get a working search function?
  • mal 20 Mar 2012 14:25:22 22,710 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Test:

    I wonder if it's double == that screw it up?
    Edit: Nope!

    Edited by mal at 14:26:53 20-03-2012

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Gland 20 Mar 2012 14:28:33 78,449 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    [code]=<>><><><<<><<<><><><>><<><><><><;
    test[/code]

    Edited by Dirtbox at 14:29:53 20-03-2012

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Gland 20 Mar 2012 14:30:38 78,449 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    [code]Note: I know fuckall about JavaScript, but:

    - The "var power" bit stores the following function into a variable called "power", which you can then call.
    - Definition of the power function would be something like:
    base^expre computing a new value for result using result and base as input? That's why result has to be initialised, to handle both the edge case and so the loop works; as for the first iteration you're just computing result = 1 * base (i.e. base^1).[/code]

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Gland 20 Mar 2012 14:30:49 78,449 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Hm.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply