Adobe Lightroom 4

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • Neverness 6 Mar 2012 21:49:06 1,186 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Just in case people were not aware, Lightroom 4 was released this week. Good news is, the price has been reduced when compared with the previous versions so it works out at 100 for the full version, and 60 for the upgrade. Also, if you go through Quidco they are offering 10% off everything at Adobe at the moment. Nice.

    LR4 is windows 7 only, they dropped XP support in this version.
  • Nth 7 Mar 2012 11:19:47 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Testing it now, all seems fine to me (on Mac).
  • Neverness 7 Mar 2012 12:29:59 1,186 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Still waiting for mine (I like boxes and it is cheaper than the download).
  • Nth 7 Mar 2012 17:26:01 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I'm running the trial, gives me 30 days to cough up :)
  • Neverness 7 Mar 2012 17:45:57 1,186 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Forgot about the trial! I downloaded it when released, but because I couldn't install at work (XP) I forgot. Ah well, the RAW processing is supposed to be vastly better so that is good enough for me.
  • monkman76 8 Mar 2012 17:37:36 5,405 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Yeah, at 100 I think I'm finally going to bite. Not really gaining much image-processing wise as I have the latest Photoshop, but the cataloguing / organising side of things is so far ahead of Bridge.
  • Neverness 16 Mar 2012 18:41:46 1,186 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Grrr, lr4 seems great, but the you can't edit from lr into PhotoShop properly because acr hasn't been upgraded.

    At least that is what I am finding, anyone else?
  • Deleted user 19 March 2012 10:36:34
    I'm currently doing the free trial of this, and it absolutely chugs on my PC compared to LR3. Every time I adjust something it takes a few seconds to catch up, and if I do something really dramatic on a slider it actually freezes and goes into "not responding" mode for a few seconds.

    It's weird as my PC is pretty powerful (quad core, 4GB RAM, 1GB graphic card) and LR3 ran smooth as butter. Is it possible that paying for the code will fix it, in that I'll get the latest updates and such?

    I'm doing a bit of housecleaning just to see if I can boost the performance to acceptable standards, but otherwise I'm dubious whether it's worth upgrading, as I really can't use it like this.
  • Dirtbox 19 Mar 2012 10:43:23 79,199 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Does LR4 have 3D acceleration? Might be worth messing with to improve performance.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 10:45:48 19-03-2012

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 19 March 2012 11:56:49
    Uuuurrrr maybe...

    I'll investigate. Thanks.
  • monkman76 19 Mar 2012 12:05:38 5,405 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I read on the Adobe forums a couple of weeks ago that if you delete your LR3 catalog (or LR4 beta catalog) and let LR4 create a new one, rather than import the old one, it'll run much better. Seems to have improved mine, though I didn't have LR3 to compare to (I deleted the LR4 beta catalog).
    Just re-googled it but can't find the thread I read. But there are plenty of other 'LR4 is slow' threads at forums.adobe.com.
  • Nth 19 Mar 2012 15:56:36 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Adobe are working on it. Mine seems fine but others are saying it's horrendously slow.
  • Neverness 20 Mar 2012 11:36:57 1,186 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Weird, mine was fine until I read this, now it has crawled to a halt. :(
  • Deleted user 20 March 2012 11:58:16
    I'm not really into the idea of deleting my LR3 catalogue. Won't I lose all of my processing if I do that?

    Think I'll just wait for a fix. I'm happy if it's just a known issue, as opposed to being a ridiculously power hungry bit of software that my PC can't handle.
  • AaronTurner 28 May 2012 23:58:05 7,886 posts
    Seen 31 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Holy shit, it's slow but such an improvement, the amount of detail you can bring back from shadow is insane! I love it! I can't afford but I'm going to buy it anyway.
  • Nth 29 May 2012 10:39:42 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    It is a bit sluggish, good old Adobe coding in action there. Insanely good though, shadows/highlights/NR all amazing.
  • Nth 30 May 2012 07:41:35 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    4.1 is now out, seems much quicker on my system (2.26ghz 13" MB Pro, 8gb ram, 500gb hybrid drive).
  • AaronTurner 30 May 2012 20:17:20 7,886 posts
    Seen 31 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yup agreed, I've got quite an shit system and it seems far snappier. NR is still a bit of a dog though. Really enjoying it, I feel like I can actually start to understand how people make those fabulous photos now, you really have to spend the time and effort to bring the best out.
  • Nth 31 May 2012 09:32:10 3,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Depends on the camera to a certain extent, X100 is making my life easier as the files need almost nothing done to them compared to the Pen. Shot in very low light last night at ISO6400 and the images after a touch of NR are just amazing.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply