Droppy net connection

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • malloc 5 Feb 2012 15:50:55 2,299 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I've never been happy with my internet connection. Whenever I've tried to get into online gaming I find after a few minute the connection regularly becomes droppy. More recently when trying out Skype same thing happens, which almost makes it unusable.

    I haven't noticed when downloading anything, just for online gaming and now Skype.

    Any ideas of what to do?
  • monkehhh 5 Feb 2012 15:55:56 3,267 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Call your ISP?
  • Articulate-Troll 6 Feb 2012 10:17:19 3,104 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Maybe stating the obvious, but have you tried resetting your router?
  • Nasty 6 Feb 2012 10:22:51 4,741 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Replace all your DSL filters. Droppy connection usually = noisy line.
  • nickthegun 6 Feb 2012 10:23:26 58,782 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Your ISP will say:

    - check the cables
    - change the filter
    - change the modem
    - plug the modem into the master socket

    There, thats saved you a phonecall.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • Fab4 6 Feb 2012 10:29:40 5,976 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    If you are on a wireless connection, make sure there isnt something else offering a stronger signal in the vicinity.
  • THFourteen 6 Feb 2012 10:31:46 32,857 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Also try plugging your PC/console in to your router with an ethernet cable and see if that fixes it
  • monkehhh 6 Feb 2012 10:33:10 3,267 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    If you're on cable internet a phone call can be useful as they can check stats and power levels and things, then they can send a bloke round who can do stuff and make it work again - very technical.
  • THFourteen 6 Feb 2012 10:34:40 32,857 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    nickthegun wrote:
    Your ISP will say:

    - check the cables
    - change the filter
    - change the modem
    - plug the modem into the master socket

    There, thats saved you a phonecall.
    this is why i love my ISP (Xilo)

    whenever i've had to contact them with an issue they've never ever assumed that i am incapable of doing the above myself before calling them.

    I send them the router stats, they tell me what the problem is.
  • Fab4 6 Feb 2012 10:59:34 5,976 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    monkehhh wrote:
    If you're on cable internet a phone call can be useful as they can check stats and power levels and things, then they can send a bloke round who can do stuff and make it work again - very technical.
    Some cable modems allow you yourself to check a status 'web' page (just like a router's set-up page). Just google the name/make of your modem along with 'status page'. I could do it with my old modem, but not this new one.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply