PC problem. Page 3

  • Page

    of 6 First / Last

  • grey_matters 26 Apr 2012 12:44:43 3,863 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    cianchristopher wrote:
    Motherboard is 3-4 years old. BIOS is the latest one.
    Still have the manual? Sometimes the max RAM level (if indeed 8GB is your max allowed RAM) needs to be spread across all 4 slots.
  • cianchristopher 26 Apr 2012 12:48:13 6,360 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    BOOM! That just might be it. Cheers dude!
  • ManicDrunkMonk 27 Apr 2012 23:46:58 516 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Download the same version of an OEM vista disk from a warez site like pirate bay and use the key that's on the case. The disk itself is irrelevant, only the key matters.

    Come to think of it, you should be able to restore it to factory settings without any of that.
    Thanks DB. I'm being ultra cautious and providing a new HDD with an install of Vista on it, rather than simply wiping my existing one (which I intend to dispose of more securely).

    Thanks again for the help!
  • Dirtbox 28 Apr 2012 00:04:21 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    You don't have to do that really, you can get little programs that overwrite with 0's and only very expensive places with difficult to operate equipment would be able to glean anything meaningful from the drive.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • ManicDrunkMonk 28 Apr 2012 00:53:16 516 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hmmm I was worried I was being paranoid.
  • JoeBlade 1 May 2012 10:46:32 2,630 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I've been experiencing a rather bizarre issue with my pc for a while now. When playing certain games they will intermittently freeze for a second or two, my screen then goes blank for a moment and finally things proceed normally as if nothing happened.

    So far I'd think a GFX card problem except that in a some games the sound effects no longer work after the screen blanked out (oddly music does continue to play)
    Also, the type of games this happens in aren't necessarily the most graphically intensive ones. In the vast majority of games I've played I've actually never encountered the issue at all.

    Otherwise my PC works perfectly. Unfortunately however it is occuring more frequently so I don't want to let it linger. I wouldn't even know where to begin though and I obviously wouldn't want to replace a component only to discover it didn't help one bit.

    Thoughts?
  • Lukey__b 9 May 2012 22:40:01 3,716 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Can I pick your brains people.

    I thought my graphics card died a few months ago. Screen went garbled then would boot up with no signal going to my monitor but I could hear it go into windows. I recently got a few cables off my brother so thought I'd mess around on the off chance they would work. The DVI - DVI cable didn't work, but DVI - VGA on my monitor did but the screen has strange yellow lines running through it, with some flickering on and off at the top.

    My conclusion is that my monitor PC inputs (runs component from xbox fine) are at fault, with DVI totally gone and VGA faulty. Does this sound the most sensible conclusion or could I be missing something?

    I can't be sure the problem with the VGA isn't down to the graphics card, but I am reasoning that the graphics card must be outputting down the DVI cables I have used and due to the monitor not picking up anything through DVI then most likely the VGA input is screwed as well.

    Extra detail - I have used both DVI outputs on my graphics card and I get the same results.

    Thanks for any input. No pun intended.

    'Sup, what's guanine?

  • Dirtbox 9 May 2012 22:58:19 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Try a DVI to HDMI adaptor and plug it into your TV.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Lukey__b 10 May 2012 15:49:57 3,716 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Doh, didn't think to use a TV (don't have one but used a housemates). Thanks the for that.

    Same problem using his TV, so it's not the monitor. Any idea why I don't get a picture at all through a standard DVI cable but it's fine through a DVI - VGA cable?

    I'm assuming the problem is the graphics card, but how likely is it not to be that but something else considering the lack of DVI output and the yellow horizontal lines through DVI - VGA?

    I'm hoping it's the graphics card. It's a 4/5 year old PC but before this, I was happy with the performance I was getting so won't mind just getting an upgraded GPU, if it's something else then I might just wait until I can buy a brand new rig.

    Thanks again for the help.

    Edited by Lukey__b at 15:50:58 10-05-2012

    'Sup, what's guanine?

  • mrpon 16 May 2012 09:21:40 29,552 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Quick USB 3.0 question. I don't have anywhere on my motherboard (Asus P8P67-M) to plug this 20 pin connector, which is attached to my front panel USB 3.0 slots on my Fractal case.

    Thoughts?

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • FutileResistor 16 May 2012 10:59:23 1,238 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Unfortunately that board doesn't have an internal USB 3.0 header.

    You could get one of these and connect them to your two external USB 3.0 sockets with a couple of Male to Male usb 3.0 leads.

    Alternatively, something like this would be a more elegant solution and leave you with four USB 3.0 slots.

    Edited by FutileResistor at 11:01:00 16-05-2012
  • mrpon 16 May 2012 11:13:09 29,552 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Cheers Fut, I don't understand why the motherboard has USB 3.0 slots but nowhere to the plug the header connector internally? A fuckup by Asus? Or is there another socket I can utilise, SATA -> USB 3.0??

    Yeah I've seen that rather unelegant solution, in fact I think I can buy a single lead to do that.

    Think I'll go with your elegant offering.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Lukey__b 16 May 2012 11:18:24 3,716 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Still pondering what I should do.

    Don't know whether to risk it and just buy a new graphics card or not. Anyone have any idea if it could be anything other than a problem with the graphics card considering my previous posts?

    The cost of getting it checked out is about the same as a new low end graphics card, but I'd rather put that money towards a decent card. Just looking for rough estimation of odds on what it could be....

    'Sup, what's guanine?

  • FutileResistor 16 May 2012 21:44:10 1,238 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    It is almost certainly the graphics card.

    At least two DVI to DVI cables have not worked. Your original and the one you got off your brother. Chances of two different cables, both not working is slim.

    Both DVI outputs from the GPU give the same result.

    Your monitor and your housemate's TV sort of worked through a DVI to VGA cable. This is kind of complicating the diagnosis, but both Monitor and TV are otherwise working through their other inputs.

    The common factor to things not working is the GPU.

    Pointless to pay someone to test the card. They will just take out the card and introduce it into a working setup. You could do this yourself if you had access to another PC.

    There must be a PC you can use to test the card with.
  • Lukey__b 16 May 2012 21:55:55 3,716 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Unfortunately not near me. I'm currently in Uni accomodation and seemingly the only person who brought their PC with them.

    I've just got a bog standard GPU off ebay just to test with.

    Thanks for the advice. It's good to have some other pov so I'm more confident I'm not missing something.

    'Sup, what's guanine?

  • BigOrkWaaagh 17 May 2012 12:07:15 2,300 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Post deleted
  • ilmaestro 26 Jul 2012 06:26:37 32,534 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Some miscellaneous issues that have all started to crop up around the same time as I had a BSOD that make me think something may be "up" with my PC:

    - Seems to have forgotten my default programs for opening certain file types, and won't let me change it back
    - Keeps on forgetting what I have set as my default web browser
    - Won't remember any changes I make to how folders are laid out (large/small icons etc) in my Videos folder and such
    - MSE sometimes says it can't complete updates because of a "network connection problem" even though there's nothing obviously wrong with my network connection

    Anyone have any ideas?

    4235

  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 07:41:59 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Too much tentacle hentai.

    Back it up now and go buy a new HDD.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 07:46:56 26-07-2012

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • ilmaestro 26 Jul 2012 09:15:30 32,534 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Too much tentacle hentai.
    FFFFFFFFFFFFF I knew it would come back to haunt me one day.

    How serious are you about the new HDD?

    4235

  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 09:18:30 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Do I look like I'm joking?

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 09:19:21 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Oh wait, it's the internet.

    Yeah, I'm not joking. Go sort that out now before it gets serious.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • THFourteen 26 Jul 2012 09:20:39 34,452 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    DB is right.

    Again.

    oh if you really want to know if he's right you could run chkdsk /f on it, but in my experience that tends to fuck things up even more.

    Edited by THFourteen at 09:21:21 26-07-2012
  • chopsen 26 Jul 2012 09:25:44 16,281 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Other things to consider are running Memtest86 to make sure your memmory's ok. Maybe a stress test, like Prime95 or something. See if it BSODs on that.

    If you get a new HDD, I think you should reinstall the OS rather than restoring from a back-up, fwiw. It sounds pretty fucked.

    In fact, either way you'll need a clean OS install.

    Edited by Chopsen at 09:27:14 26-07-2012
  • ilmaestro 26 Jul 2012 09:26:04 32,534 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hmm, I was planning on upgrading this current drive (only a 64GB SSD) fairly soon anyway, so not the most disheartening advice I've ever had, cheers all.

    Edited by ilmaestro at 09:27:32 26-07-2012

    4235

  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 09:27:19 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Memory wouldn't mess with settings, it's always a good idea to give it a buzz periodically though.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • ilmaestro 26 Jul 2012 09:28:27 32,534 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just to confirm... the issue is likely to be with the SSD, right? Not the storage drive I have all the tentacle porn on?

    4235

  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 09:30:33 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It's likely to be the drive you boot from, so if that's the SSD, it might be as simple as updating it's firmware.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • chopsen 26 Jul 2012 09:46:39 16,281 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Memory wouldn't mess with settings, it's always a good idea to give it a buzz periodically though.
    No, I agree the HD sounds buggered given the multiple different things going wrong, but (warning anecdotal evidence ahead) I once got a completely screwed Windows installation due to bad memory, which I guess was down to the registry getting corrupted. This was back in the days of windows 95, and iirc Windows these days recovers a bit better from failure and corruption. It's not infeasible that the BSOD was a low level failure that corrupted some system files, though unlikely.

    I'm sure it is the HD, but if he wants to avoid spending money, it's a cheap thing to try.

    As suggested above running a sector by sector check disk thingy is not an insane thing to do either.
  • Dirtbox 26 Jul 2012 09:48:29 79,170 posts
    Seen 20 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    chkdsk and so on is a bit useless on an SSD.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • chopsen 26 Jul 2012 09:50:35 16,281 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Heh, yeah. Good point.
  • Page

    of 6 First / Last

Log in or register to reply