Netflix (US FAQ in OP) Page 60

  • Page

    of 78 First / Last

  • Deleted user 3 September 2012 20:57:32
    Anyone else having trouble connecting on their xbox? I've tried it on PS3 and have same problem, so am thinking it's something to do with my ISP, BT. 4OD and iPlayer load and work fine. Is BT blocking some ports or something?

    Yep is slow on my laptop too, barely loading the webpage.

    Edited by Apostle at 21:01:25 03-09-2012
  • Gartt 3 Sep 2012 21:15:19 1,735 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Ive been having issues on xbox since about half 7, Im on virgin, a couple different error codes.
  • Deleted user 3 September 2012 21:36:30
    Hmm, maybe it's Netflix then. Funny lovefilm is playing up too, can't be a coincidence.
  • Gartt 3 Sep 2012 21:42:49 1,735 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Netflix' twitter acknowledged that some UK users are have trouble.

    Working again for me now.

    Edited by Gartt at 22:00:01 03-09-2012
  • Deleted user 3 September 2012 23:01:42
    Thanks for the heads up Gartt. I'm give them a call tomorrow.
  • Deleted user 4 September 2012 21:20:51
    I've about had it with the app for the 360. It's fucking abysmally awful and it should be taken down until it is fixed and actually made usable. The same goes for the MLB.tv app to a lesser extent.

    Netflix doesn't work 75% of the time and when it does there a 50/50 chance it'll be slow as fuck.

    I have my PS3 downstairs and it works every single time with no issue, i've even swapped it with the 360 upstairs and it still worked whilst the 360 didn't. My fucking Wii worked after being in a box for nearly 2 years when i installed and tried the app to see if it was a problem on my end. Both my desktop and laptop work and a friends iPad worked fine when he brought it over.

    The 360 app takes multiple attempts and reboots to get past the swirly looking circle, red "Netflix" screen.
  • Deleted user 4 September 2012 21:24:39
    Works fine for me. Only use the 360 gets.
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 21:36:18
    Fuck US Netflix. Switched to Canadian via Unblock-US and the selection's even better. All the series of the US version plus more (Dexter, Community and more), and a different selection of recent films. Watched DATE NIGHT and JACKASS 3 last night, UNSTOPPABLE this evening and have plans to watch LAW ABIDING CITIZEN, INGLORIOUS BASTERDS or HUGO later in the week (or maybe I'll just watch the John Hughes back-catalogue).

    If you're already paying for Unblock US it's a really simple one-click switch to turn on Canadian content.
  • Fixxxer 9 Sep 2012 22:23:29 1,304 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Pretty sure everything you've just listed is on US Netflix.
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:25:33
    Stop capitalising film titles. I hate to be the one to say this to you but it does make you come across as being 'special'.

    Edited by Aargh. at 22:26:08 09-09-2012
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:27:47
    @Fixxxer Of the ones I mentioned, only JACKASS 3 is on Netflix. Everything else is only on Amazon streaming
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:28:35
    @Aargh. When EG allow posters to post in bold or italics I'll stop doing it
  • Load_2.0 9 Sep 2012 22:31:05 19,099 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    What?
  • mrpon 9 Sep 2012 22:31:13 28,694 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Y'know that weight you're losing, it's your brain getting smaller.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:33:42
    As load has pointed out that can already be done. Still, have you not noticed that you're the only person who has ever posted on the site that does it? Everyone can tell it's a film title without extra emphasis being placed on it.

    If you want it to be your 'thing' then I would advise against it.

    Edited by Aargh. at 22:34:04 09-09-2012
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:39:50
    OK, how's it done then?

    Anyway, here's a selection of the Canadian content, most of which is not on US Netflix thanks to Amazon's money wrecking licensing deals in the States.
  • richardiox 9 Sep 2012 22:46:02 5,565 posts
    Seen 12 seconds ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    The spread of content is really annoying. There's stuff seperately exclusive to the UK, US and Canadian versions. I've got UK Netflix on my PS3, US on my 360 and now I find out I need another device to get the Canadian one.

    If there was a DNS to use Canadian Netflix on my 360 I'd use that but I bet for all the stuff it has over the US one, it will be missing a similar amount.

    "you can't win with li-cen-sing"
  • Deleted user 9 September 2012 22:49:40
    I've got the Unblock-US DNS set in my Wii, if I want to switch between US, UK, Canadian or wherever it's just a single click on the website and a restart of the Netflix app.
  • BOBBYLUPO 11 Sep 2012 09:50:58 93 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Worth checking out Brazil too: it has all the Disney/Pixar films, The Hunger Games, Shame, The Artist and more SA soaps than is probably healthy.

    BTW Is anyone struggling to get more than the lowest speed when accessing Canada through Unblock Us?

    PSN: BOBBYLUPO
    www.idbuythatforadollar.co.uk

  • spindle9988 11 Sep 2012 09:54:25 3,516 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Is it just a case of changing DNS settings on the xbox to switch to the canadian website? (like changing to US). I am watching reaper on US netflix at the moment. I love this show
  • Deleted user 11 September 2012 11:09:29
    spindle9988 wrote:
    Is it just a case of changing DNS settings on the xbox to switch to the canadian website? (like changing to US). I am watching reaper on US netflix at the moment. I love this show
    If you're already using the Unblock-US DNS then no, all those settings stay the same
  • spindle9988 11 Sep 2012 11:11:02 3,516 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @Rhythm

    Thanks mate. So if I change them on the website, will that do it automatically on my xbox?
  • Deleted user 11 September 2012 11:11:42
    BOBBYLUPO wrote:
    Worth checking out Brazil too: it has all the Disney/Pixar films, The Hunger Games, Shame, The Artist and more SA soaps than is probably healthy.

    BTW Is anyone struggling to get more than the lowest speed when accessing Canada through Unblock Us?
    Ooh, nice tip.

    Haven't had any speed issues with canadian Netflix, no.

    A nice little thing about switching between US and Canadian is that bookmarks and viewing history still retain across those regions. If you switch between UK and US it'll forget where you left off in a series but the Canuck and US versions seem to talk to each other properly
  • Deleted user 11 September 2012 11:12:45
    @spindle9988 Should do. As I said before, I click the region change button on the website, restart the Wii and I'm suddenly viewing the new content. Couldn't be easier
  • spindle9988 11 Sep 2012 11:13:36 3,516 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Thanks for your help mate
  • Dougs 11 Sep 2012 11:38:58 67,016 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Where's the change region button? Must be blind...
  • CosmicFuzz 11 Sep 2012 11:43:05 23,696 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Nice Brazil tip! Will try that today.

    Dougs it's defo on the unblock us site if you're using that, although I can't remember where... It's a drop down menu bit.

    We're celebrating 75 years of Batman - and here's my look back at Rocksteady's Arkham series.

  • Dougs 11 Sep 2012 11:45:58 67,016 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Ah, using Playmo. Will see if they have something similar. No biggie if not.
  • BOBBYLUPO 11 Sep 2012 12:30:38 93 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Re. Canada streaming issue: Apparently Netflix defaults to low speed in Canada to save bandwith, so you have to manually change your streaming settings on the Netflix site.

    Edited by BOBBYLUPO at 12:36:52 11-09-2012

    PSN: BOBBYLUPO
    www.idbuythatforadollar.co.uk

  • Deleted user 11 September 2012 12:48:24
    BOBBYLUPO wrote:
    Re. Canada streaming issue: Apparently Netflix defaults to low speed in Canada to save bandwith, so you have to manually change your streaming settings on the Netflix site.
    Interesting. I only ever stream SD so maybe didn't notice
  • Page

    of 78 First / Last

Log in or register to reply