New iPlayer App incoming

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 10:02:56 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Doesn't specify a timescale but I'm hoping it's soon. Nice to see BBC HD on there and it being a proper dedicated app is nice to hear.

    Linky
  • lucky_jim 8 Aug 2011 10:27:20 5,260 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I stopped using the PS3 version a few months ago, because I found the menu was showing me old programmes which weren't actually on the service anymore (and so couldn't be viewed), instead of new stuff. Didn't have this problem with the iPad, iPhone or laptop though. Was this something to do with my PS3 settings or is the service on PS3 just a bit rubbish? Anyway, hopefully this'll fix it.
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 11:05:45 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    I've had that issue too. Search for programmes and sometimes you get back results that aren't viewable. My Blu-Ray player shows only the correct items though.
  • lucky_jim 8 Aug 2011 11:19:01 5,260 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Ah, well at least it's not just me. As I said, I stopped using iPlayer on the PS3 because of it, but I wasn't sure whether it was something to do with me or the service itself. Seems like it's probably the latter.

    Hopefully this new app will fix that problem though. As nice as iPlayer is on my other equipment, the PS3 is the only one that's usually connected to the telly!
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 11:35:05 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    I've got 3 devices that run iPlayer hooked up (Wii, BluRay player, PS3). The BluRay has the best performance for playback but I tend to use the PS3 the most as it's the quickest to fire up
  • varsas 8 Aug 2011 11:38:06 2,401 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I've not had too much trouble with the PS3 version but I've mostly been using the Freesat HD version. It'll be interesting to see how well this upgrade works because easier navigation is key.
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 14:32:24 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Apparently this is out already. Will try it when I get home tonight
  • Deleted user 8 August 2011 17:26:28
    Gt5 was shit? it was nt perfect for sure but it was still brilliant when it came to the driving.
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 19:19:46 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    I think Fluffy is just the kind of person that hates choice.

    Tried the app now and it's very much improved. The favourites feature is great and the video quality is loads better.
  • mrpon 8 Aug 2011 19:47:51 28,503 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Rhythm, did you have to update anything?

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Res 8 Aug 2011 19:58:40 1,814 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    The application will ask to update when you click it. Mine didn't prompt me until I tried to access it for a second time - first just took me to the old iPlayer.
  • mrpon 8 Aug 2011 20:05:53 28,503 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hmmm, maybe not rolled out to my region yet (NW)

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Deleted user 8 August 2011 20:13:43
    They seem to have rotten luck (or just don't give a flying shit) when it comes to their streaming software. The VidZone thing used to hard lock my PS3 as did the first iteration of the iPlayer.
  • Rhythm 8 Aug 2011 20:20:31 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Pfft, working perfectly for me here. Just trying some HD stuff now and it seems fine
  • mrpon 8 Aug 2011 21:01:52 28,503 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Just watched first episode of dragons den on the old iplayer without a hitch. Then tried to watch the second and crashed!

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • varsas 9 Aug 2011 13:05:32 2,401 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Res wrote:
    The application will ask to update when you click it. Mine didn't prompt me until I tried to access it for a second time - first just took me to the old iPlayer.
    It took me a few attempts too.

    Generally I like it but I would have preferred of the screen didn't load automatically when changing categories and that the search didn't happen until submitted! In both cases the app freezes while items are loaded and it's annoying.
  • fiery_jackass 9 Aug 2011 20:44:03 462 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    it's not working at all well for me. Clumsy, glitchy navigation and piss-poor streaming compared with the old, wonky version (on 20Mb). I expect all these things will get ironed out soon, hopefully they'll make the quit function a bit more intuitive as it'll confuse a lot of people.
  • Rhythm 10 Aug 2011 06:45:02 2,471 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Weird, been fine for me and HD works well too (20mb line running at 10mb)
  • andyk 10 Aug 2011 13:25:50 169 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    This isn't working at all for me The software loads fine, but when I try to play any show from any channel it just says unable to play. Any ideas?
  • BuiltToLast 10 Aug 2011 20:58:22 28 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Its not even there for me. Or 4oD anymore since the update.

    Bollocks!
  • King_Edward 10 Aug 2011 21:34:56 11,454 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I'm missing the iPlayer, ITV whatever and 4oD since the update. Anyone Else?
  • mrpon 10 Aug 2011 21:35:36 28,503 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    andyk wrote:

    This isn't working at all for me The software loads fine, but when I try to play any show from any channel it just says unable to play. Any ideas?
    Ditto. Just hangs when you start playing. Supposed 20MB fibre optic connection here.

    :-(

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Chopsen 10 Aug 2011 21:36:51 15,753 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    working fine here, watching it now. Much slicker and responsive than the browser one. Stutters on HD but then I live in the middle of nowhere and quite frankly I'm glad I've got electricity, let alone broadband.
  • mrpon 10 Aug 2011 21:38:46 28,503 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Oh and anyone missing those channels, restart the PS3 a few times. You should see a My Channels section eventually .

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Chopsen 10 Aug 2011 21:42:48 15,753 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    King_Edward wrote:
    I'm missing the iPlayer, ITV whatever and 4oD since the update. Anyone Else?

    You need to download specific software now.
  • andyk 11 Aug 2011 10:38:19 169 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Billy_Sastard wrote:
    For anyone who's lost the ITV icons etc. If you have the what's new disabled in system settings reactivate it and a new icon should appear, once you've got sorted you can deactivate the what's new app.

    Did this work for others, as after installing fw 3.70, I don't have 'my channels' and iplayer still didn't work. Deleted the iplayer app thinking I would reinstall and all would be rosy, but iplayer now dissappeared as it should be part of 'my channels'. Loads of different suggestions to get 'my channels' back - go into Home, download from the Store, restart the system, etc. Nothing worked for me.

  • MerricK 15 Aug 2011 00:03:18 102 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Billy_Sastard wrote:
    For anyone who's lost the ITV icons etc. If you have the what's new disabled in system settings reactivate it and a new icon should appear, once you've got sorted you can deactivate the what's new app.


    cheers my man! they are there now! :)
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply