Wireless Router

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • Honeynutzee 4 Nov 2004 11:14:30 6 posts
    Registered 10 years ago
    Please help.... Im looking to purchase a wireless router to install in my house to enable me to use with my laptops, as well as my XBox. I currently have BT Broad band at home, and am looking at a Belkin Model. I have really no idea about things like this and could really do with some advice.

    Please help, honeynutzee
  • deem 4 Nov 2004 11:15:56 31,641 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Nemesis 4 Nov 2004 11:16:50 18,606 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'm assuming the BT line is DSL?

    In which case, the Netgear routers are superb. They come with 4 network ports and an in-built DSL modem.

    Takes about 5 minutes to setup and it's a breeze. I had mine plugged in for 8 months (before moving) and not a day of trouble.

    Best o' luck.
  • deem 4 Nov 2004 11:19:31 31,641 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Mike_Hunt 4 Nov 2004 11:20:25 23,512 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I've got a Netgear DG834G 802.11g wireless router.

    Now, I think it's only fair to warn you that I, along with many other forum users have had problems with this router. However, mine have all been fixed after applying the very latest firmware upgrade.

    Oh, the problems consisted of the connection to the net and wireless network dropping, and then the router hiding from me.

    [MH]
  • Mike_Hunt 4 Nov 2004 11:23:23 23,512 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Seems an appropriate thread to post in - does anyone know of any good bundles at the moment which include a wireless ADSL router and a PCI card? I've checked out broadbandbuyer and there are no bargins to be had.

    [MH]
  • sam_spade 4 Nov 2004 11:24:03 15,745 posts
    Seen 12 months ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I have the same as M_H

    I've upgraded the firmware and had no problems, other than not having broadband that is.

  • Ginger 4 Nov 2004 11:24:36 6,829 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Mike_Hunt wrote:
    ...and then the router hiding from me.

    Did you look under the sofa? That's where mine always ends up.

    (o/

    London open taekwondo champion

  • Mike_Hunt 4 Nov 2004 11:25:34 23,512 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    No, but come to think of it I can;t find my sofa either.

    Perhaps I've been burgled?

    [MH]
  • Nemesis 4 Nov 2004 11:26:02 18,606 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Nemesis 4 Nov 2004 11:26:51 18,606 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    sam_spade wrote:
    I have the same as M_H

    I've upgraded the firmware and had no problems, other than not having broadband that is.


    I had the same too.

    I thought it was just me taking the piss with 5 QT streams. I think if you taxed it too much, it'd drop.

    But the firmware update seems to have sorted it. It seems a bit...quicker too.
  • Honeynutzee 4 Nov 2004 11:27:01 6 posts
    Registered 10 years ago
    Okay now you have all confused me.... the belkin one, I have heard good reviews for the 80,but can I actually use this to connect my xbox???

  • warlockuk 4 Nov 2004 11:27:05 19,146 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    After every Belkin product I've got (via work) sucking balls I'd say avoid them as they're shite.

    But the Netgear Router features built-in firewall, wireless access point, 4-port hub and ADSL modem. For 99. And the new version has 108Mbps wifi access (better than mine. Bastards.)

    You can get it from Misco for 99. Part #: SL94345

    If wireless speed isn't so important, look at part # SL45671 - the one I have - it's now only 63.99 :)

    Edit: And yeah; I use the 63.99 product to connect 2 PCs to the net (one via network cable, one via wifi), connect a laptop to the net (wifi) and I have my xbox plugged into it, too. If I bothered to get the TurboNet / Cachecard for my TiVo that'd be plugged into it too. And my dick.

    Er... skip that last part.

    Edited by warlockuk at 11:30:34 04-11-2004

    I'm a grumpy bastard.

  • unwashed 4 Nov 2004 11:28:11 1,857 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    MH, why don't you get something from Expansys and then strong arm them into giving you the PCI card...? :p
  • Dougs 4 Nov 2004 11:29:33 67,125 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Mike_Hunt wrote:
    Seems an appropriate thread to post in - does anyone know of any good bundles at the moment which include a wireless ADSL router and a PCI card? I've checked out broadbandbuyer and there are no bargins to be had.

    [MH]

    BBbuyer advertise a Dynamode bundle, which I had on order - it seems Dynamode have been pissing about and not supplying them, so it wasn't in stock. No idea if its been resolved yet though. Ended up with a D-Link one with a USB adapter.

    Seems to be working so far, although took me about 4 hours to set up - and I've got Outlook connection problems, which I've banged on about in the BT Yahoo thread. If you've got any ideas, they would be much appreciated!
  • PondScum 4 Nov 2004 11:33:29 367 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    If you want to connect your Xbox wirelessly, you need a wireless route.access point but also a Wireless bridge to connect to your Xbox, such as one of these....

    Linksys Wireless Bridge

    Bear in mind Xbox Live support team won't offer official support for this, so you really need to know a bit about wireless..
  • Honeynutzee 4 Nov 2004 11:38:53 6 posts
    Registered 10 years ago
    Ahhh I actually thought that most wireless routers had everything contained in the unit. So for whatever unit I buy, will i need to get a gaming adapter??

    or is this a really silly question. Im a girl what you expect.. :o)
  • PondScum 4 Nov 2004 11:41:40 367 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Nope, the router is generally just the router. So to connect your Xbox you'll need a gaming adapter, to connect a laptop you'll need a wireless card for it etc. All purchased separately I'm afraid :-(

    And welcome to the forum!
  • Honeynutzee 4 Nov 2004 11:46:51 6 posts
    Registered 10 years ago
    Cool Thanks... :o)

    Well I have the wireless card already have the wireless card integrated with my laptop. So I guess the next thing is to purchase a wireless router... I still a little stuck on what the best one to get... prefrebley I would like to get one that I could also get the adapter, so that I can link up my xbox....

  • warlockuk 4 Nov 2004 11:56:02 19,146 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Dude, seriously - the 63.99 netgear does it all. Firewall, ADSL modem, router, wifi router, 4-port switch/hub/whatever they call it. :)

    Or 99.99 if you want 108Mbps wifi.

    I'm a grumpy bastard.

  • sam_spade 4 Nov 2004 11:56:05 15,745 posts
    Seen 12 months ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Well you can link up your Xbox and put the router next to it. If your adsl line socket is close by.

    Then you can access the internet through the wireless connection. But I'd use a cable for changing router settings/firmware updates.
  • Zizoo 15 Nov 2012 09:10:17 8,274 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I know nothing about routers. So much so that I bought a ADSL one by mistake in a online auction a couple of years ago. Dug it out last night hoping to use it to get WiFi going in my house for my Vita :redface:

    I have my Xbox connected via an ethernet cable, and I want to keep it that way, but I currently have no way of getting online with my Vita.

    Will this do the trick?

    This particular one is on auction for a steal.

    Edited by ZizouFC at 09:11:34 15-11-2012
  • nickthegun 15 Nov 2012 09:12:56 59,413 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    How does your broadband arrive into your house? Shirley every free router from an ISP has wireless built in?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • Zizoo 15 Nov 2012 09:23:09 8,274 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    USB Dongle. Nothing fancy. 1mb connection.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply