Installing an SSD Page 2

  • Page

    of 6 First / Last

  • androidave 11 Oct 2010 19:41:47 102 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Oky well I've gone with the Intel 25-M 80gb SSD, its on offer at overclockers.co.uk for 150 with a free upgrade kit.. Think I'm going to fresh install though as it'l likely take longer to clone my HDD over usb than to reinstall on an SSD :D
  • Darren 12 Oct 2010 14:02:50 8,317 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    SuperBas wrote:
    Anyone done this? I bought one of these, and I was wondering if it really is so simple.

    Picture from my PC. Is it as simple as plugging power cable 1 into the SSD, and connecting it with a SATA cable to hole 2? Will my existing Windows 7 installation recognize it without having to do anything else, as if it was a USB thumb drive?

    I installed one in my PC last December (128 GB Crucial M225) and apart from needing a 2.5" to 3.5" mounting bay at an extra 7, the drive was as easy to install and setup as any 3.5" SATAII hard drive, i.e. very!

    It's the best thing I've ever fitted in my PC after a graphics card IMO. Windows 7, which was already responsive and relatively fast, just positively flies on an SSD. 20 seconds after turning my PC on and as soon as the desktop appears I can open windows and run applications and they respond immediately.

    SSDs are hellishly expensive though but if you can afford one then you will not regret it. In fact, I suspect you'll wonder how you ever managed without one for so long...

    PS3, PS4, PS Vita, Xbox One, PC (Intel Core i7-4770K, 16 GB, 3 GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780, Windows 8.1 Pro), iPad 4, iPad mini with Retina Display.

  • Darren 12 Oct 2010 14:13:31 8,317 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Rusty_M wrote:
    Is it best to basically have the OS and a few programs on the SSD, and run everything else from an HDD, or do you constantly swap stuff about from one to the other?

    I only have Windows 7 and a few non-game applications installed on my SSD; everything else, including backups, music, pictures, videos and games are installed on my other conventional hard drives (I moved My Music, My Documents, etc. to my D: partition to reduce wear and tear). Because SSDs have a limited lifespans it is not a good idea to fill them or install lots of games on them IMO. I have some 70 GB free and no page file assigned to my SSD yet in ten months of use the estimated life of the drive is down to 79%.

    That's still over four years of life left though at current usage and the chances are that I'll have moved on to a new PC or fitted a faster SSD before the drive expires completely anyway. It is something to consider though as normal hard drives don't wear out in the same way, although like anything else they can develop faults or break completely.

    PS3, PS4, PS Vita, Xbox One, PC (Intel Core i7-4770K, 16 GB, 3 GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780, Windows 8.1 Pro), iPad 4, iPad mini with Retina Display.

  • nickthegun 12 Oct 2010 14:33:03 55,848 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    It should also be noted that if you have an SSD backups are even more important than they usually are because if the drive dies, thats it.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • Dirtbox 12 Oct 2010 14:42:49 76,329 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    As an aside, there's some software that Intel made that migrates your OS and stuff over to a newly installed SSD. Dunno how well it works, but it's here along with a manual and some info if anyone wants to dabble.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • THFourteen 12 Oct 2010 14:49:13 31,804 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    whats all this shizz about boot times anyway. who switches their pc off!?
  • SuperBas 12 Oct 2010 18:41:00 1,437 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Installed! It's superfast. Awesome!

    Windows 7 doesn't see the other drive anymore! Fail!

    Can anyone help? When running the installer, or the BIOS, I see both drives, the HDD and SSD. Having installed Windows 7, it only sees the drive it was installed to. How do I fix this?

    Edit: fixed! Right click computer, manage, disk management, assign the disc a letter.

    Also, run the SSD firmware updater as admin, or else it won't detect the drive. Also make sure you set the BIOS to IDE.

  • androidave 12 Oct 2010 18:45:18 102 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    This might sound a pretty stupid question, but when my SSD arrives, I can just swap the drives over and boot up with the win7 install disk? I don't have to do anything to the SSD beforehand?.. Sorry I've never installed on a compleatly new drive before..
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 11:42:34
    So, it seems DDR3 lappy ram is stupidly expensive at the moment, so I can either bung 8GB in this laptop (currently only has 2GB) or go for the SSD drive.

    What do you think? I mainly run Potatoshop and Indesign, not too sure which will be the most benefit.
  • Dirtbox 13 Oct 2010 11:44:16 76,329 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    SSD > RAM.

    It'll more than compensate for any swap/cache usage.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 11:46:25
    That's what I was thinking, then possible just go for 4GB later as swapage will be much quicker.

    Cheers.
  • Dirtbox 13 Oct 2010 11:57:51 76,329 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Whatever apps you use most should go on the SSD. Generally that wouldn't be games, but whatever.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Dirtbox 13 Oct 2010 12:05:14 76,329 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I put F1 on mine because the load times are shit and instead of waiting upwards of 40 seconds, it's nearer 20 now, it's worth it in some cases, but the games won't run any better.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 12:05:18
    Anyone have experience of the OCZ 2.5" drives? I'm eyeing up the 120GB version
  • THFourteen 13 Oct 2010 12:10:52 31,804 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    CrispyXUK64 wrote:
    Anyone have experience of the OCZ 2.5" drives? I'm eyeing up the 120GB version

    the vertex 2 model?

    Thats what i want, so let me know if its shite :)
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 12:17:32
    May take a while, fucked if I'm paying for it :D
  • Andytizer 13 Oct 2010 13:51:07 66 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    SSDs are a godsend for games like World of Warcraft, which can cut loading times by 50% (in a game in which you are constantly zoning to different servers). I have a benchmark up here.

    To split your Steam installation, you can use a program like Steam Mover.

    There is also this new program called Paragon Migrate OS which allows you to move OS folders to and from drives without reinstalling. Article on Lifehacker: here.
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 14:27:32
    Is this the OCZ drive people are getting?
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 14:27:32
    Is this the OCZ drive people are getting?
  • THFourteen 13 Oct 2010 14:41:36 31,804 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    nope this one
  • Margaret_Thatcher 13 Oct 2010 14:42:42 57 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Presumably there's nothing to stop you mounting that in an external case, and using as a bootdisk?

    (Has an iMac at home, so no jiggery-pokery installing interal drives for me.)
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 14:48:10
    Not sure if the interface would be a bottleneck, I'd imagine it would be though.

    Just install it internally.
  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 14:51:25
    THFourteen wrote:
    nope this one

    170 from ebuyer It is the same drive isn't it?

    /checks again.
  • THFourteen 13 Oct 2010 14:57:12 31,804 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    i guess so, seems a lot cheaper than amazon and dabs...
  • Whizzo 13 Oct 2010 15:05:12 42,759 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Andytizer wrote:There is also this new program called Paragon Migrate OS which allows you to move OS folders to and from drives without reinstalling. Article on Lifehacker: here.
    Now that looks handy, I won a 64Gb Crucial SSD at a recent LAN party and can't be arsed to do another OS reinstall so was just using it for STO (where the zoning time has dropped like a rock) and the odd game. I shall investigate this and see how well it works.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Deleted user 13 October 2010 15:56:22
    There's also Clonezilla, which is relatively straightforward.
  • THFourteen 13 Oct 2010 15:58:47 31,804 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    IMO cloning an OS onto different drives sounds like a horrendous idea
  • SuperBas 13 Oct 2010 18:34:31 1,437 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    THFourteen wrote:
    CrispyXUK64 wrote:
    Anyone have experience of the OCZ 2.5" drives? I'm eyeing up the 120GB version

    the vertex 2 model?

    Thats what i want, so let me know if its shite :)
    It's the one I bought! Works wonderfully now. Installing Bad Company 2 on it at the moment.

    Edit: Also, just back up everything you need on USB sticks and do a clean install. I ordered a 32GB usb drive with the SSD so I could backup a stupid amount of files.
  • Page

    of 6 First / Last

Log in or register to reply