Battlefield 3 (PC) Page 168

  • Page

    of 173 First / Last

  • DugBriderider 18 Oct 2012 20:02:29 531 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Thanks, I was hoping to avoid having all of My Docs on the SSD but I guess I set up some links in there for the other files that aren't so fussy about location.
  • Deleted user 3 November 2012 17:29:34
    Just bought this in the Origin Haloween deal.

    Any server the EG folks hang out in particular? Or any recommended servers?
  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 08:27:54 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Holy shit just got this working last night. Its fuckin beautiful. Just.....awesome to look at. What the fuck have I been doing fuckin about with consoles all this time? Just can't believe how much better it looks on pc. (Bearing in mind I've never had a decent gaming pc before) and I've only got it on high settings. Ultra must be awesome.
    Funny how Crysis won't run smoothly on high settings though, despite it's age.
    A big thanks to @jagg3r for making it possible.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 08:29:09 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Apostle wrote:
    Just bought this in the Origin Haloween deal.

    Any server the EG folks hang out in particular? Or any recommended servers?
    I'd like to know this as well, even though i'm still getting used to the mouse and keyboard set up.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Deleted user 4 November 2012 08:47:43
    I don't want to criticise the console version too much, I've really enjoyed the 140 hours or so I've played, but this is crazy good! People everywhere, more vehicles, action! I agree with you Doom Bar, I wish I'd of bought it on PC from the off.

    Downside is I may need to start investing in better PC components, as it's not as smooth as I'd like.
  • dsmx 4 Nov 2012 11:34:16 7,734 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    and it begins....

    "If we hit that bullseye the rest of the dominoes will fall like a a house of cards, checkmate." Zapp Brannigan

  • Deleted user 4 November 2012 14:51:39
    Yes, I thought I'd finished with the days of upgrading bits of my computer. I did use to enjoy it, but not sure if I can afford it any more :(
  • hypoBla5t 4 Nov 2012 15:11:02 1,583 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Picked this up as well in the sale, had the 360 version but this is absolutely glorious. Graphics are out of this world. Loving the custom servers and 64-player maps. I always felt there was something missing with this, turns out it was just that I wasn't playing on PC!!
  • Iain815 4 Nov 2012 16:23:03 441 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    It took me a while to adjust to the PC version, it's a different beast. I'm a PC and console gamer but when I switched from the 360 version there was a lot of swearing.

    *spawn, run for 5 seconds, die*
    "What! Where the fuck did that come from!?"

    *spawn, run for 5 seconds, die*
    "Where the FUCK did that come from!?"

    I can't handle full 64 player servers because there's usually too much going on for me to react to. :|
  • Dirtbox 4 Nov 2012 17:48:16 79,216 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    64 players are too many really, 32 is generally the sweet spot.

    Despite the maps being bigger, the central choke points are the same, which pretty much completely negates the purpose entirely.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 17:49:29 04-11-2012

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 19:22:28 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Well I would be playing now if my pc was running....
    Installed Power ISO, rebooted and now no boot at all, just a black screen. Tried everything - re seat pcu, try different ram, cables, psu....no BF3. Not even any boot.
    I suppose at least with a console it just works without major hassle...mostly.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Dirtbox 4 Nov 2012 19:37:00 79,216 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Does the bios post?

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 4 November 2012 20:01:54
    I suppose at least with a console it just works without major hassle...mostly.
    Yep, this has always been the downside to PC gaming in my experience. You have to get your hands dirty with the technical bits from time to time, but it is worth it when it's all working.

    Does the computer beep at all when you turn it on?
  • Dirtbox 4 Nov 2012 20:03:45 79,216 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Well that sort of thing is less frequent than a console failure, and it's almost always repairable.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 20:14:26 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Nope, no boot, no post. Strange as I've not changed any hardware all day. Just installed W8 and downloaded all the usual stuff - daemon tools, power iso, avg, steam, origin. Managed to get the BF3 files out of the old windows.old folder, which saved a couple of hours downloading 16gb for the bloody game.

    Was looking forward to a few games as well. Bloody thing.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Dirtbox 4 Nov 2012 20:17:20 79,216 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It's the PSU.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 4 November 2012 20:18:44
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Well that sort of thing is less frequent than a console failure, and it's almost always repairable.
    Yeah sure, I was thinking of more software related issues that you get with games. I had lots of issues with Punkbuster in BF2 for example. I agree though, a little googling normally resolves the issues.

    Sounds an odd one DDB.
  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 20:26:30 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    It's the PSU.
    Can't be that, it's brand new.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 4 Nov 2012 20:42:28 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Post deleted

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • DugBriderider 5 Nov 2012 07:28:33 531 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    bump to fix thread
  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 5 Nov 2012 07:35:23 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    DugBriderider wrote:
    bump to fix thread
    Cheers. I did try postibg again, but it didn't work.

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • Iain815 5 Nov 2012 17:35:45 441 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    BF 1942 free for the masses.
  • Dirtbox 5 Nov 2012 18:20:44 79,216 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Daddy-Doom-Bar wrote:
    Dirtbox wrote:
    It's the PSU.
    Can't be that, it's brand new.
    Absolutely can be that, especially as it's new.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • christourlord 5 Nov 2012 20:22:58 2,498 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I'm getting disconnected from servers pretty much every half an hour at the moment. Anyone else having issues?
  • christourlord 5 Nov 2012 20:25:09 2,498 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Nevermind, looks like my ISP is shitting its pants.
  • WoodenSpoon 5 Nov 2012 22:34:39 12,306 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Iain815 wrote:
    BF 1942 free for the masses.
    Just had a quick blast on this!

    It's aged terribly, but it's pretty jarring to see them doing simple stuff right in '42 that they messed up in BF3 - friendly markers fade out in the distance, you can click on the spawn point you want, there are lots of vehicles about... I even quite like the commo thing with the function keys at the top of the screen - never even realised that was there before!
  • Daddy-Doom-Bar 7 Nov 2012 11:59:16 2,459 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Daddy-Doom-Bar wrote:
    Dirtbox wrote:
    It's the PSU.
    Can't be that, it's brand new.
    Absolutely can be that, especially as it's new.
    Just so you know - it wasn't the PSU. It was working, it still is. Don't be a sarcastic twat know-it-all. Leave that to me. ;)
    I have no idea what was wrong, but I took it apart, used all the components one by one in another mobo, it all worked fine. (Except the CPU as the other mobo didn't support it.)
    So I thought the CPU must be fucked. Put it all back together with the CPU in (just to test one last time before I binned it)...fine. It's all working good now. Very strange.
    Time to get back on BF3 now...

    You must be the change you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

  • coastal 7 Nov 2012 12:45:32 5,390 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @WoodenSpoon Does it come with the Battle of Britain map? That was a last minute gem.

    Edited by coastal at 13:41:04 07-11-2012

    bf3: sergeant_shaftoe

  • Page

    of 173 First / Last

Log in or register to reply