Flash Advice

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • Neut 29 Jun 2010 15:05:51 380 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    So I've been planning to get a flash for a while now. I've got no experience whatsoever with flash photography so was hoping to get one to learn the ropes basically. I've got a Canon and am looking at getting either the 430EX II or the Nissin Di622.

From my quick google based research I've learned that the Nissin is cheaper, has a top that swivels (yay) and can be set off wirelessly by using the camera's built in flash as a master or something? The 430EX II, on the other hand, apparently has better build quality and a faster .. uh.. sync speed?

I guess this is something that I'll want to keep around, so I'm ok with spending slightly more on a better build quality, but on the other hand I'm not really sure if I'll end up using it often enough or to such a degree that I need the extra cost/features. So fellow EG photopeeps who have way more experience with these things, any opinions?
  • mal 29 Jun 2010 15:46:16 22,328 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    According to Amazon the 430EXII swivels as well. Wireless flash might occasionally be useful, but otherwise it looks like you're just paying for brand and build quality. Build quality's worth bearing in mind, seeing as they stick out the top of your camera and can be liable to the odd bump.

Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

• Nth 29 Jun 2010 16:01:09 3,118 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I have that 430 and it does indeed swivel and tilt. Very well made. I added wireless ability with a little 20 widget off ebay.
  • mal 29 Jun 2010 16:21:35 22,328 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Is that full E-TTL wireless, or just remote trigger?

• Neut 29 Jun 2010 17:22:26 380 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago