Xbox 360 Data Transfer Cable Thingy Page 7

  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

    Next
  • Whizzo 11 Jul 2011 19:53:01 43,129 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Mayhem64 wrote:
    I'm assuming the new HD is larger than the old one, only reason you'd need to transfer...?
    Until the Gears3 console comes out there's only the 250 gig drive for the Slim so I'm a bit confused why he doesn't just pop it out and swap it over.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 19:59:00 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Unless he has the 4 gigger...
  • Whizzo 11 Jul 2011 20:01:02 43,129 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    There's no hard drive to swap, it's built in flash RAM.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 20:06:32 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You said...

    Whizzo wrote:
    there's only the 250 gig drive for the Slim so I'm a bit confused why he doesn't just pop it out and swap it over.

    I replied with...

    ronuds wrote:
    Unless he has the 4 gigger...

    Basically reiterating that you can't swap if you have the 4gb model.
  • BBIAJ 11 Jul 2011 20:07:24 895 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I'm going from the Halo Reach to the Gears 3 console, so yeah, that's 250GB to 320GB, both Slim HDDs, and no easy way of transferring all that data it seems.
  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 20:10:12 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    BBIAJ wrote:
    I'm going from the Halo Reach to the Gears 3 console, so yeah, that's 250GB to 320GB, both Slim HDDs, and no easy way of transferring all that data it seems.

    There's a 3rd-party cable that you can use to plug your Slim drive into a PC. That's probably your only solution other than the aforementioned USB suggestions.
  • Whizzo 11 Jul 2011 20:12:36 43,129 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    ronuds wrote:Basically reiterating that you can't swap if you have the 4gb model.
    Er I'm completely correct, until the Gears3 model (which is what BBIAJ is getting) there is only the 250 gig drive, the 4 gig's flash isn't a hard drive and it can't be removed so there's nothing to swap.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 20:18:21 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I understand that - I don't think you're understanding what I was trying to say, but no big deal.
  • BBIAJ 11 Jul 2011 21:01:21 895 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    ronuds wrote:
    BBIAJ wrote:
    I'm going from the Halo Reach to the Gears 3 console, so yeah, that's 250GB to 320GB, both Slim HDDs, and no easy way of transferring all that data it seems.
    There's a 3rd-party cable that you can use to plug your Slim drive into a PC. That's probably your only solution other than the aforementioned USB suggestions.
    Only got an 80GB PC HDD, and that's pretty much full as it is!
  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 21:06:04 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    BBIAJ wrote:
    ronuds wrote:
    BBIAJ wrote:
    I'm going from the Halo Reach to the Gears 3 console, so yeah, that's 250GB to 320GB, both Slim HDDs, and no easy way of transferring all that data it seems.

    There's a 3rd-party cable that you can use to plug your Slim drive into a PC. That's probably your only solution other than the aforementioned USB suggestions.

    Only got an 80GB PC HDD, and that's pretty much full as it is!

    You're pretty much screwed then.

    The good news is that you can re-download anything you've gotten from XBL onto the new drive from xbox.com (rather than transferring it). All of your game saves "should" fit on a 16gb flash drive. It'll take a while downloading all of that data (depending on how much you have), but you can trigger it all at once, so it's probably better than going back and forth with a USB.
  • BBIAJ 11 Jul 2011 21:09:24 895 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yeah, looks like that's my only option then for the time being.
  • SomaticSense 12 Jul 2011 13:49:52 8,334 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    ronuds wrote:All of your game saves "should" fit on a 16gb flash drive. It'll take a while downloading all of that data (depending on how much you have), but you can trigger it all at once, so it's probably better than going back and forth with a USB.

    But what about the stupid copy protection that many games use?

    It seems it's getting more frequent in the newer games.
  • ronuds 12 Jul 2011 13:52:28 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    What kind of copy protection? I've never had any problems with that... or even noticed it, tbh.
  • SomaticSense 12 Jul 2011 14:00:13 8,334 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I'm sure Mass Effect was one game which used it (or something like it), and I've heard a string of complaints from others about other games.

    I'm pretty sure it wouldn't let me copy my SFIV save to a flashdrive to take to a mate's house either, but that was a while ago so it may have just been that the file was too large.
  • ronuds 12 Jul 2011 14:10:24 21,788 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Oh yeah, there are certain games people seem to have trouble copying their saves for. Not sure which games those are. I can only say that I personally never had that problem.
  • Roos-V 13 Sep 2011 22:08:30 452 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Does anyone have one of these cables going spare? My xbox has RROD'd and I'm getting a new slim at the weekend. Could do with transferring over my old 20gb hard drive when I get it.

    Cheers in advance.
  • Roos-V 14 Sep 2011 10:17:07 452 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Bumped for the daytime crowd. Apologies for the begging!
  • Roos-V 15 Sep 2011 13:08:17 452 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Last bumpage before I give up entirely.

    Anyone got a spare lead? Please? I'll obivously cover any P+P that is required.

    Thanks.
  • funkstar 24 Nov 2011 22:03:45 1,194 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    would like to get hold of one of these if possible... cant find anywhere online that has em in stock except shopto which wont allow me to enter address details for some reason :(

    edit nvm hmv has em, under 'data migration cable' :s

    Edited by funkstar at 22:16:35 24-11-2011

    The Lives of Nobody Important Paperback

  • jabberwoky 27 Nov 2011 10:20:19 522 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    My old 20 gig 360 rodded, before I could copy my save games to a flash drive, so i bought the cable to transfer to a slim. Most of the stuff went across ok, but some didn't. Now I will never know if it was my cable or if they are not reliable, unless 100 people all post here saying it worked fine for them. But thats what happened to me!
  • Deleted user 16 March 2012 13:37:20
    Bump!

    Anyone got a spare one of these I could borrow please?

    Edited by iHAZaCHEEZ3burger at 13:37:42 16-03-2012
  • S.J.Rogers 16 Mar 2012 14:44:48 3,557 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I think so mate, i will have a look and if i can get it out of my loft, i can post it to you on monday.
  • DUFFMAN5 16 Mar 2012 14:45:40 14,687 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Trout, if not I have one.

    "Duffman the grey is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • Deleted user 16 March 2012 14:50:16
    Cheers S.J, but if its easier for Duff to find his it will save you looking for it.

    Cheers guys.
  • hoathenfold 9 Apr 2012 20:38:37 418 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    If anybody has one for sale please let me know - many thanks :)
  • DUFFMAN5 20 Jun 2012 17:47:42 14,687 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Does anyone have the 250slim to 320slim transfer cable I could lend please. I have the old style kit but I don't think that works.

    "Duffman the grey is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • DUFFMAN5 16 Jul 2012 10:49:43 14,687 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    DUFFMAN5 wrote:
    Does anyone have the 250slim to 320slim transfer cable I could lend please. I have the old style kit but I don't think that works.
    I bought and now own one of these slim to slim kits. If a regular wants to loan just let me know :)

    "Duffman the grey is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • DUFFMAN5 21 Nov 2012 13:44:09 14,687 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    For anyone buying a new slim (thinking Amazon deals this week) and transferring from another slim, you do know you need the newer kit ?

    "Duffman the grey is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • dancingrob 21 Nov 2012 16:31:46 1,170 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    had just posted something very similar in the swapsies thread actually!

    I've ordered the Amazon slim deal, so would appreciate a loan of the transfer kit if at all possible, obviously I'll pay any postage etc.

    Let me know!

    Thanks
  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

    Next
Log in or register to reply