The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 149

  • Page

    of 157 First / Last

  • drhickman1983 18 Aug 2014 12:12:38 552 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I'm using a Gigabyte board and have had no problems so far.
  • iancognito 18 Aug 2014 14:37:13 1,713 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    There's a lot of support for Gigabyte after all, so maybe that's what I'll go for. Not had any specific problems with them myself, but I'll see. Cheers everyone. I'll let you know how I get on.
  • PearOfAnguish 18 Aug 2014 14:46:51 7,493 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Well here's a reason not to go Gigabyte: that MSI board you linked is 44 quid, compared to the other two at 60-something. Unless it's not doing something you need money can be saved there.
  • PenguinJim 18 Aug 2014 15:32:56 6,004 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Noooooo, don't go Gigabyte! Go ASROCK! HDMI-IN!!!
  • -cerberus- 18 Aug 2014 16:02:22 3,604 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @PenguinJim Good call, handy stuff indeed!

    People are bastard-coated bastards with bastard filling.

  • PearOfAnguish 19 Aug 2014 12:25:14 7,493 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Ebuyer are selling a Palit 750 Ti for 92. Good deal.
  • godofporn 20 Aug 2014 10:20:33 271 posts
    Seen 34 minutes ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    Hey guys. Planning to make a gaming PC and will be buying a cheap gaming pc so I can take a few parts out and swap with them with more powerful components, any advice on a starting gaming pc to tamper with?
  • Bowzer43 20 Aug 2014 18:46:22 614 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    godofporn wrote:
    Hey guys. Planning to make a gaming PC and will be buying a cheap gaming pc so I can take a few parts out and swap with them with more powerful components, any advice on a starting gaming pc to tamper with?
    Not really worth the bother, most budget pc's will come with a crap PSU which you will need to upgrade and any that have a decent cpu will have a shit gpu which you will want to swap out so you basically are paying for components you're going to bin out the box.

    I did all this at the start of the year when I was looking at ways to buy my gaming pc and in the end bought a decent base unit from www.freshtech.co.uk then added my own gpu and installed Windows myself. Easiest and quickest build I ever did, and I have loved the end result.

    Been playing it a whole lot more than my PS4 of late and am patiently waiting for Elite to come out on full release to really put it through its paces.
  • whatthefu 20 Aug 2014 19:57:44 878 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    http://www.freshtechsolutions.co.uk ?
  • Bowzer43 20 Aug 2014 22:45:20 614 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    whatthefu wrote:
    http://www.freshtechsolutions.co.uk ?
    Yep that's the one. I got an i5 4670k with Asus mobo, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, Zalman z3 case (lots of quiet fans perfect for air cooled overclocking), 850w PSU with 2 pcie connectors, all built and shipped to me for about 460. Then added windows, 270x gpu and a spare HDD I had lying around.
    Since then I've put in another ssd, about to pop in a wd black drive for all the steam downloads.
    I went for the 270x as a good budget gpu as it was about 130 when I bought it and the Asus board will take another 270x in crossfire should I want a quick cheap graphics boost, but as I only play 1080p on a 24" monitor, I'm probably not going to need this anytime soon.
    I've had the unit since April and am very happy with it, plays anything I want at high or ultra and happily hits the 60fps on pretty much everything.
    Freshtech have cheaper builds available and they will tell you exactly what each component is, so you know they're not just chucking cheap shit in a box.
  • Spectral 20 Aug 2014 23:49:50 5,019 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    My current PC is starting to show its age gaming wise but is now a bad time to be doing a major upgrade? Specific worries are the upcoming introduction of DDR4 and the next version of USB along with wider adoption of sata express.

    Edit: By major upgrade I mean pretty much replacing the whole thing bar things like SSD, HDD and DVD-RW.

    Edited by Spectral at 23:51:04 20-08-2014
  • PenguinJim 21 Aug 2014 03:08:32 6,004 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    PenguinJim wrote:
    Here's a 228 2GB Twin Frozr GTX 770 from MSI. You could save nearly a tenner if you get this 220 2GB Palit GTX 770 instead. If you want to game higher than 1200P, though, consider the 4GB 770 cards.
    What a fucking waste of money, you fucking idiot. Don't you know anything about buying graphics cards? You can get the MSI Twin Frozr for 214.79 on their Today Only, and it includes Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel. Free shipping if you have enough non-spam posts on Hexus, but if you don't, then it may be cheaper at eBuyer for 220.

    (It looks like the Twin Frozr 770s are getting clearanced? Although the price is now the same as it was last December. Unbelievable. :p)

    On a slightly different topic, I noticed that those 30" Korean monitors on eBay have dropped from ~300 a couple of months ago to ~250 now, for the Perfect Pixel (Pixel Perfect?) models. 2560x1600, which means 16:10! \o/
  • Mekanik 23 Aug 2014 14:21:47 3,734 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Roddles wrote:
    Reset the cmos via the battery jumper or button. Refer to the motherboard manual.
    So. Came home to the pc having been unplugged from mains for a week or so. Re-seated the memory (it seemed fine tbh) and powered on. Would having it unplugged entirely from power for so long do the same thing?

    PC powered up and showed a fault with the Asus mobo overclocking suite (built in thing). Reset to "normal" operation with no overclocking and it seems to be fine now and all voltages etc are good.

    Oddly lost a few gig off of a hdd as well, which i cant figure out what it was.

    Anyway, will give it some time and see how it is. Any more annoyances and i`ll use it as an excuse for a new mobo/cpu/ssd. :)
  • Mekanik 23 Aug 2014 14:33:47 3,734 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    No sooner do i make the above post when it shuts itself down with no warning and reboots whilst loading a game (warcraft out of interest).

    Most strange. Going to swap out the PSU seeing as i have a shiny new spare anyway.
  • DodgyPast 23 Aug 2014 15:15:44 8,533 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    If it's the main drive you lost the space from it could be due to memory dumps after crashes.

    Edited by DodgyPast at 15:16:10 23-08-2014
  • Mekanik 23 Aug 2014 16:10:29 3,734 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Ok DP. Ta.

    Changed my PSU out and same thing happened (no post, constant reboot attempts). This time got some error beep codes (1 long 3 short). Anyway, long story short. Seems the PCI-e main slot is buggered. Swapped graphics card to the second slot and reboot etc and seems ok for now.

    Definitely seems I need to replace my mobo. Need to check ye olde wallet and see how far i can stretch i guess. At least I know the Gigabyte i put in my sons pc the other week is a good place to start.
  • whatthefu 23 Aug 2014 20:24:53 878 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Bowzer43 wrote:
    whatthefu wrote:
    http://www.freshtechsolutions.co.uk ?
    Yep that's the one.

    My next upgrade with be a cpu/ram/mobo bundle, but having asked them they said they wouldn't install a custom cooler if I buy one.

    Their prices are good.
    I've had some issues with my current build and don't want more mistakes with the next cooler.
  • DodgyPast 24 Aug 2014 09:48:59 8,533 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    whatthefu wrote:
    Bowzer43 wrote:
    whatthefu wrote:
    http://www.freshtechsolutions.co.uk ?
    Yep that's the one.
    My next upgrade with be a cpu/ram/mobo bundle, but having asked them they said they wouldn't install a custom cooler if I buy one.

    Their prices are good.
    I've had some issues with my current build and don't want more mistakes with the next cooler.
    If they don't feel confident enough to install a custom cooler that's damming.

    Though I suspect that the techs that work at most of these companies probably earn peanuts... And as a result, especially since I'm building for myself I'll probably do a better job.
  • iancognito 24 Aug 2014 10:21:16 1,713 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I've built my PC. No specific problems other than Windows 8 not wanting to register as I've already registered it on an old machine. Hoping Microsoft will let me move the license if I ring them.

    Installed a different CPU fan, thinking I might overclock at some point and the fan should be quieter anyway.

    This is a very useful thread. Some great hardware tips.
  • dfunked 24 Aug 2014 10:37:26 634 posts
    Seen 28 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @iancognito
    Technically speaking they shouldn't allow it, but I've never had any problems moving OEM Windows 7 & 8 licenses to different machines. The activation hotline is totally automated, you don't have to talk to anyone...
  • Mekanik 24 Aug 2014 11:23:06 3,734 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    So my mono appears borked. Ran fine yesterday all night and this morning same old. Reset CMOS. Led lights pause at CPU sometimes. Memory other times. Sometimes goes to post and I can get in bios. Normally just craps out again before getting to windows.

    Anyway. MSI or gigabyte mobo as a replacement? Any particular recommendations?
  • iancognito 24 Aug 2014 11:39:28 1,713 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    dfunked wrote:
    @iancognito
    Technically speaking they shouldn't allow it, but I've never had any problems moving OEM Windows 7 & 8 licenses to different machines. The activation hotline is totally automated, you don't have to talk to anyone...
    Yes, I've heard they're generally OK with moving it to another machine. Suppose it makes sense. A PC is a bit like Trigger's Broom. If I changed the RAM, then the hard disk, then the graphics card, then the CPU and the motherboard, when did it become a different PC? What if I did it all at once and the other PC is still in one piece but I'm not going to use it with that Windows 8 licence again? Etc. etc.
  • PenguinJim 25 Aug 2014 04:39:17 6,004 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    A friend wanted a new OH MY GOD PLEASE MAKE IT CHEAP PLEASE MAKE IT LESS THAN 400 I HAVE NO MONEY box yesterday, and I noticed quite a good deal on Scan's Today Only:

    2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 Barracuda 7200.14 SATA 3 6GB/s 7200rpm 64MB Cache
    8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Jet Black Low Profile, PC3-12800 (1600), Non-ECC, CAS 9-9-9-24
    Corsair 450W VS PSU
    Gigabyte GA-Z97P-D3 Intel Z97, S1150, DDR3, PCIe 3.0 (x16), 2 Way CrossFireX, HDMI
    Intel Pentium K Anniversary G3258 S1150 Haswell Dual Core 3.2GHz, OC up to 4.5GHz, 5 GT/s DMI, 32x Ratio, Retail
    Thermaltake Versa H23 Mid Tower Gaming Case with USB 3.0 All Black Interior 120mm Fan w/o PSU

    That's the recently-released Pentium that's made some waves on the tech sites recently. It's not as good as even an i3 for most purposes, but it's much cheaper and overclocks like a... Pentium, I guess, so my friend will just stick it at 3.8GHz and fuggeddaboutit. (There is no overclockable i3.)

    251.99 for that lot, but there's no Windows and no graphics card. I couldn't find a 92 GTX 750 Ti as described by PearOfAnguish, but 75 for a GTX 750 (non-Ti) seems to be similar value. A 3.8GHz Pentium G3258 and a 750 should have no problems with 1080P for everything currently available and for the next few months (!), but if another 92 750 Ti pops up, that's well worth the extra 17.

    So we got to 327, well within budget, and I'll try to find a bargain 120/128GB SSD for it, as well. I expect my friend to put aside ~130 for a 1150 i5 K around Christmas 2015 and ~100-200 for a new GPU sometime in 2016.

    So if you've got the cash, just get an i5 now, obviously!

    Edit: I should point out that I would not recommend the above bundle except for the fact that it has a socket 1150 motherboard, so it can take a decent CPU at some point.

    Edited by PenguinJim at 04:41:11 25-08-2014
  • DodgyPast 25 Aug 2014 04:44:27 8,533 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @PenguinJim

    For the SSD:
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/08/20/sandisk_intros_tlc_nand_ultra_2_ssd_for_pc/
  • PenguinJim 25 Aug 2014 06:54:13 6,004 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Ooh, thanks, that Ultra II in 240GB flavour looks like it'll float my boat! I'll keep an eye out for it next month.

    But Cheapy McCheap will be perfectly happy with any old SSD, I'm sure. There's a 120GB Kingston V300 for 44.39 on Scan's Today Only, which is reasonable, but I'll see if something a bit less Sandforcey shows up. The problem then is the reduced performance on lower capacities... pfft. Hopefully a nice bargain will show up during the week. I've got a soft spot for Plextor drives, and I've had Samsung drives repeatedly recommended at me but never at the right time to actually get one.
  • iancognito 25 Aug 2014 07:14:50 1,713 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    The Samsung 840 Evo is sometimes cheap on Amazon. 250 is 84 at the moment but sometimes gets to 80. 120 is around 53. The smaller disk has speeds around 400 and the larger one is around 500.

    Something I'd noticed about the cheaper SSDs is they're not always that fast.
  • Bowzer43 25 Aug 2014 13:23:03 614 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    @whatthefu they may not want to install a cooler you supply in case it's faulty and then it's a drawn out argument about who is at fault etc. Why do you need a special cooler? I'm using the stock cooler with a Zalman z3 case that provides plenty of cooling to oc my i5 to 4.1ghz at around 38C idle and about 60C under load.
  • whatthefu 25 Aug 2014 19:23:01 878 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Bowzer43 wrote:
    @whatthefu they may not want to install a cooler you supply in case it's faulty and then it's a drawn out argument about who is at fault etc. Why do you need a special cooler? I'm using the stock cooler with a Zalman z3 case that provides plenty of cooling to oc my i5 to 4.1ghz at around 38C idle and about 60C under load.
    My last new build sounded sooo damn loud. I ended upgrading lots of stuff, the stock cpu cooler was mad loud and I had no experience installing an after market cooler. I broke the pins on the original cpu and for ages had over heating problems too. oops :)

    I think I have it right now, but why risk it. Shouldn't a professional do a better job
  • DodgyPast 26 Aug 2014 03:59:50 8,533 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @whatthefu

    Depends on the company and the competence of their tech monkeys. Also their familiarity with the kit.

    My cooler was a bitch to install due to it struggling with my mobo layout though I suspect that I was a lot more careful when installing than someone who was rushing to remove the job from his task list.

    Given that the i2500k has now lasted over 3 years with a 35% overclock I'm pretty sure I did a decent job myself.
  • PaulB1991 28 Aug 2014 16:36:59 9 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 months ago
    CCLonline.com are currently advertising an AMD A10-7850k for 67.60, here's the link if anyone wants to grab one quickly http://www.cclonline.com/product/136387/AD785KXBJABOX/CPU-Processors/AMD-A10-7850K-3-7-GHZ-BLACK-SKT-FM2-L2-4MB-95W-PIB-IN/CPU0249/

    Have to mention that they're expecting more stock in on the 3rd September though.

    (Now sold out as of 17:20)

    Edited by PaulB1991 at 17:20:26 28-08-2014
  • Page

    of 157 First / Last

Log in or register to reply