The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 135

  • Page

    of 149 First / Last

  • B0rked_Gamer 28 Jan 2014 20:34:27 2,560 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yeah I was going to ask what the ambient temps were. The 3770K and 4770K are known to run hot when going over 4.2Ghz (it's the reason I stuck with the 2600K) so getting to 4.5 on a decent air cooler is pretty impressive.

    Edited by B0rked_Gamer at 20:37:06 28-01-2014
  • DodgyPast 29 Jan 2014 06:21:56 8,447 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I get 4.5 on a 2500k, it reminds me of those silly celerons.

    Actually running at stock because nothing is taxing it at 3.3. I'll save that extra life span to give me some oomph once some of the next generation titles can take advantage of it.
  • B0rked_Gamer 29 Jan 2014 06:51:36 2,560 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I need the overclock on my 2600K in order to get a 60fps minimum in some games. Crysis 3 uses a lot of CPU power for example.
  • crashVoodoo 4 Feb 2014 22:50:07 3,869 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Can anyone recommend a decent wireless receiver for a 360 pad for the pc so I can play guacamelee etc.

    im currently using the ps3 pad but its wired and its no good for when i move the pc into its place under the stairs with the rest of the media equipment.

    there's loads on ebay for around 5-6 quid but im not sure if they're all a load of shit TBH

    Edited by crashVoodoo at 22:50:55 04-02-2014

    a Nexus a day keeps the apple away

  • mrpon 4 Feb 2014 22:55:39 28,745 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    An official one and never have to worry about it again.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B000MGVAAQ

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Sharzam 4 Feb 2014 23:15:07 2,832 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Oddly the official ones have Microsoft branding where as the dodgy ones have 'Xbox' branding. I have no idea why, as if the Xbox brand isnt protected or something very odd.

    Oh and buy the 'Wireless Xbox 360 controller for PC' from Amazon, there normally 20-30 that way you get a Wireless reciever for your PC as linked above but you also get an additional pad. Basically a new 360 pad for 10, which will work on 360 or PC.

    Here you go

    Edited by Sharzam at 23:20:01 04-02-2014

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • crashVoodoo 5 Feb 2014 00:36:13 3,869 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    thanks muchly you two. good advice on the extra pad but i've already got 3 and 2 of those hardly get used.

    say that tho, it is only an extra 6 for the one with the pad. I could surely move the pad for more than 6

    Edited by crashVoodoo at 00:38:12 05-02-2014

    a Nexus a day keeps the apple away

  • Sharzam 5 Feb 2014 18:43:46 2,832 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    And the receiver on its own is being sold on the Amazon Marketplace, and not Amazon themselves. That in-itself i think makes it worth it.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • PaulB1991 5 Feb 2014 19:42:31 6 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    So I've finalised a budget PC build and i was wondering if there's anything you guys could add or help me with so that i can improve it if necessary..

    So the build: FX-6300, Cooler Master Hyper TX3 EVO, Asus M5A97 LE R2.0 and 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600MHz 240 (comes as a bundle so even though it's 20 or so more than buying separately, it comes with a 3 year warranty on top)

    GPU i've already got which is an XFX HD7850 2GB Double Dissipation 110

    Cheap 20 ATX case (i know it's cheap but i have limited space and it gives me the option to add 3 fans plus it's quite roomy inside)

    The rest: 120mm CoolerMaster Case Fan, 2x 80mm Arctic F8 fans, WD Blue 1TB and a Corsair CX500M power supply for a grand total of 475.

    Do i need to add or upgrade anything (like the PSU) or would that be fine for overclocking? I'm only doing the GPU for now and later the CPU.

    Thanks for your time.
    Paul

    Edited by PaulB1991 at 19:43:13 05-02-2014
  • whatthefu 5 Feb 2014 20:13:28 868 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Quick question, is the i5 2600 still a high level gaming processor?
    And with it being a few generations old can they be pick up (new) on the cheap?
  • ResidentKnievel 5 Feb 2014 20:15:59 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    If you're planning to emulate Wii or Gamecube games get an i3 instead of the FX-6300 unless it pushes your price up too much.

    Otherwise looks pretty good to me, 500W is more than enough for your build.

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • ResidentKnievel 5 Feb 2014 20:19:47 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    whatthefu wrote:
    Quick question, is the i5 2600 still a high level gaming processor?
    And with it being a few generations old can they be pick up (new) on the cheap?
    Intel have made very incremental improvements over the last few years, so yes they are still high level.

    You can't pick up new ones on the cheap, the more recent intel i5's are cheaper new.

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • PaulB1991 5 Feb 2014 20:26:19 6 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    ResidentKnievel wrote:
    If you're planning to emulate Wii or Gamecube games get an i3 instead of the FX-6300 unless it pushes your price up too much.

    Otherwise looks pretty good to me, 500W is more than enough for your build.
    Thanks for the reply, no i wasn't planning on doing so, it's going to be used for next gen gaming.
  • ResidentKnievel 5 Feb 2014 20:30:56 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I've the exact same GPU and a fx4300 and it plays stuff like BF4 superbly, so you should be all set for next gen

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 20:31:42 05-02-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • PaulB1991 5 Feb 2014 20:38:01 6 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    That's great news, thanks! I was thinking of future proofing and buying an FX-8320 instead but i'm guessing that'd be a waste what with Mantle reducing the need for a faster/more cores CPU.. what image settings, resolution and FPS are you running with yours?
  • ResidentKnievel 5 Feb 2014 20:43:58 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    one below max on most settings, 1080p, between 50-70 fps, but that's with dx11 and a cpu bottleneck.

    Should be far smoother with a 6300 and mantle, should be able to run v-synced 60 fps with your set up.

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 10:44:45 06-02-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • PaulB1991 5 Feb 2014 21:00:43 6 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    That's even better, thank you so much for your help. :)
  • Sharzam 7 Feb 2014 20:56:21 2,832 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    If you want to keep pace with the consoles i think going forward dual core chips will really struggle. So even through single thread performance intel low level stuff wins out, if its a choice between i3 and 6300 i say go AMD.

    But yes if you can stretch get an 83xx family one, as the extra cores will matter at some point. Naturally thourgh an i5/i7 at this stage is better overall.

    Edited by Sharzam at 21:10:58 07-02-2014

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • ResidentKnievel 7 Feb 2014 21:57:32 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    AMD's IPC is so poor that a dual core i3 can keep up with a 6300 with tasks that utilize multiple cores. Intel's chips are also far less power hungry and run cooler.

    last years bottom of the range i3 vs. a 6300

    If you can stretch for an 83xx you can get an i5 which is way better. middling i5 from two years ago versus AMD's top of the line 8-core, the cpu-bottlenecked Starcraft 2 scenario is the most relevant part.*

    I used to think the same as you until recently, recommending an AMD CPU for a new build is awful advice unless you can get some sort of deal on them like Paul did.

    There's also no upgrade path from a high end FX, AMD are finished with AM3+ as they're focusing on APU's, now. There's still another generation of chips to come from intel next year on the 1150 socket.

    *Anandtech's comparisons are good for CPU's, but not good for GPU's due to 3rd party custom coolers and PCB's having a big effect on performance, heat, noise, yadda yadda.

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 22:01:05 07-02-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • PaulB1991 8 Feb 2014 00:40:21 6 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    I hope you guys are gonna see this because it took me ages to find but this video here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvLRZxRL8N8 now it's only one guys opinion but he states that one of the worst buys he's ever made was changing from an FX-8350 to an i7-3770k which at current pricing (08-02-2014 12:35am) is the 3770k at 238 and the 8350 at 140. Yes they'd been overclocked to a certain speed but doesn't the fact of the matter show that for 100 more on purely a gaming basis, 2-3fps isn't worth it?

    And listening into a bit more of it (i had watched it because that video is what convinced me) is that the ONLY difference that was worth seeing was benchmarks, there was barely any difference in gaming, there was a deal on said website which had an unoverclockable i5 (3570) that was 10 more but didn't come with a CPU cooler.

    Edited by PaulB1991 at 00:50:48 08-02-2014
  • grey_matters 8 Feb 2014 01:00:02 3,690 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    PaulB1991 wrote:
    I hope you guys are gonna see this because it took me ages to find but this video here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvLRZxRL8N8 now it's only one guys opinion but he states that one of the worst buys he's ever made was changing from an FX-8350 to an i7-3770k which at current pricing (08-02-2014 12:35am) is the 3770k at 238 and the 8350 at 140. Yes they'd been overclocked to a certain speed but doesn't the fact of the matter show that for 100 more on purely a gaming basis, 2-3fps isn't worth it?

    And listening into a bit more of it (i had watched it because that video is what convinced me) is that the ONLY difference that was worth seeing was benchmarks, there was barely any difference in gaming, there was a deal on said website which had an unoverclockable i5 that was 10 more but didn't come with a CPU cooler.

    Edited by PaulB1991 at 00:41:41 08-02-2014
    Not going to watch the youtube clip because anyone who moves from an FX-8350 to a 3770k isn't worth listening to.
    I've always liked AMD (and have been happily running my two 1055T systems for a long while now) but their current offerings require a very (very) specific workload before they are worth getting over an Intel system (assuming there is no direct drop-in option motherboard-wise). In general, it is usually better to go Intel (CPU-wise) at this point in time if you are starting from zero. Although there are still some usage cases that that an AMD-based computer would work out better.
  • ResidentKnievel 8 Feb 2014 10:16:36 6,181 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    If you're only using your PC for gaming then an i7 is a pointless waste, i5 is best.

    There's really only two CPU options when building a gaming PC, if you're on a budget get an i3, if you're not get an i5.

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • Jetset_UK 10 Feb 2014 19:59:33 3,563 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hi guys. Been thinking it's upgrade time. Running an i5 750 at stock, with a GTX 560Ti, 4gb of RAM with win 7 64.
    Should I be thinking of a new CPU?
    Might have a little go at over clocking and doubling the RAM for the time being.
  • B0rked_Gamer 10 Feb 2014 20:27:21 2,560 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Overclock the CPU (if it isn't already) add another 4GB of RAM and go for either a 280X or if you want to stick with Nvidia a GTX 770. The 280X makes more sense in my opinion because a 4GB 770 is too expensive and I don't think 2GB will cut it once devs start pushing the PS4 so multiplat games might start to become problematic.
  • orpheus 10 Feb 2014 22:36:51 1,000 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @Jetset_UK

    I went from a 750 OC'd to 4 to a 3570K @ 4.2 and definitely noticed the difference. OC will help in the short term, watch the temps etc. I'd leave the RAM and stick a new set in when you get the new CPU. :)

    Edited by orpheus at 22:37:38 10-02-2014
  • Jetset_UK 13 Feb 2014 10:40:23 3,563 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Managed to overclock from 2.66 to 3.8 without any hitches, and popped another 4gb in, and it's like a new machine. Should keep me happy for another 6 months. :)
  • Jetset_UK 14 Feb 2014 08:49:08 3,563 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Jetset_UK wrote:
    Managed to overclock from 2.66 to 3.8 without any hitches, and popped another 4gb in, and it's like a new machine. Should keep me happy for another 6 months. :)
    Oh you're such a n00b!

    So during a drunken gaming session last night, the PC died, and it felt very warm. I was hoping it may have turned itself off due to overheating, and it might have sorted itself out after an hour or two, but it wasn't switching on this morning.

    Didn't have anytime to fiddle before work this morning, but did notice that the USB port is still charging stuff. Does that mean the PSU is OK?

    Not had a PC blow up on me for a while, what would you recommend as the correct way of finding out what popped? Disconnect everything and retry?
  • Roddles 14 Feb 2014 08:54:53 1,830 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Bad overclock. My old i5-750 could only go to about 3.2Ghz at pretty high temperatures without crashing,so god knows how you got to 3.8ghz in the first place for a few hours!

    Unplug the PSU from the mains for a few minutes, plus it back in and try turning it on again. If it still won't switch on then use the clear cmos jumper/switch for a minute, then revert it back before trying to switch on the PC again.

    If it still won't turn on then it'll be a component on either the CPU or Motherboard you've fried. The PSU will be fine.

    Edited by Roddles at 08:55:29 14-02-2014
  • Buztafen 14 Feb 2014 09:01:46 16,166 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Get it discharged first. Unplug it and hold the power button down. Then plug it back in and try it. If it doesn't power on hold the power button down again while plugged in for 10 seconds, release, then try again. If it still not responding then the first thing to try is using a different psu.
  • Jetset_UK 14 Feb 2014 09:01:51 3,563 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Do CPUs not auto shutdown before popping?
  • Page

    of 149 First / Last

Log in or register to reply