The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 120

  • Page

    of 155 First / Last

  • TVoJ 30 Jul 2013 10:45:42 2,028 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Splurt. My shit has arrived all at the same time. Half from scan and the other from ccl online. All with the same DPD driver and with no damage to packaging whatsoever. Happy Days.

    Now on to the first problem. Because I'm a Berk I didn't realize that the controller for the LED fan I ordered is on an expansion card.
    The case only has expansion space for the GPU so I'm looking for suggestions?
  • monkehhh 30 Jul 2013 11:02:57 3,477 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Any recommendations for a reasonable prebuilt PC that can play World of Warcraft mainly, and other new stuff, to a decent level? For a mate's girlfriend so I don't want to go down the building route I'd happily go down for myself. Ta!

    Edited by monkehhh at 11:03:17 30-07-2013
  • Rodpad 30 Jul 2013 11:05:53 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Budget?
  • b0rk 30 Jul 2013 11:17:23 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    TVoJ wrote:
    Splurt. My shit has arrived all at the same time. Half from scan and the other from ccl online. All with the same DPD driver and with no damage to packaging whatsoever. Happy Days.

    Now on to the first problem. Because I'm a Berk I didn't realize that the controller for the LED fan I ordered is on an expansion card.
    The case only has expansion space for the GPU so I'm looking for suggestions?
    Got a link to the case?
  • monkehhh 30 Jul 2013 12:12:50 3,477 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Roddles wrote:
    Budget?
    I'm not sure, she wants to know how much as well. We're not talking high end, but I don't want something that's going to be useless.
  • Sharzam 30 Jul 2013 12:14:41 3,194 posts
    Seen 34 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @monkehhh

    What is your budget and what sort of size do you want ?

    You can play WoW on basically anything, although to max it you will need a proper gaming PC. If you want small, quiet and cheap consider an AMD GPU if you want full on raiding with all the particle effects you can always later on add a big boy GPU if find not enough.

    Cheap, doesnt include windows

    http://www.ebuyer.com/504520-zoostorm-desktop-pc-7873-1082

    inc windows and bit more powerful

    http://www.ebuyer.com/519893-zoostorm-desktop-pc-7873-0477

    As point reference if you built a PC yourself you can probably do it for around 400 and custom the parts to gaming so should be more powerful and can be more flexible with your budget. But at this price all the prebuilt ones using Intel CPUs will have the terrible integrated intel graphics.

    Edited by Sharzam at 12:41:45 30-07-2013

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • TVoJ 30 Jul 2013 13:05:06 2,028 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @B0rked_Gamer

    http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=210
  • b0rk 30 Jul 2013 13:09:48 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Oh Jesus it's one of those small form factor thingies. Nope, can't help with that.
  • monkehhh 30 Jul 2013 13:28:46 3,477 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @Sharzam it was more of an open question I was asked, will go back with some prices and specs and see what they think. I would build it myself if it was local, but it'll be down in Birmingham so I want to keep it simple. I think she's relatively nerdy so she should understand it's not gonna be 100 quid and amazing :) Ta for the help, will do some Googling when I'm away from work!
  • Duffking 31 Jul 2013 16:18:57 7,488 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Does this look like a good monitor shout?

    http://www.dabs.com/products/acer-g6-series---g236hlbbid-23--led-monitor-vga-dvi-hdmi-8LNG.html?refs=50246&src=3
  • Physically_Insane 31 Jul 2013 16:22:04 9,123 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Looks good to me, but I'm no expert. Correct me if I'm wrong, but that monitor is 60Hz, so you'll only be able to display 60fps max.
  • Rodpad 31 Jul 2013 16:40:36 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    60hz is standard and fine.
  • Duffking 31 Jul 2013 23:10:07 7,488 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Physically_Insane wrote:
    Looks good to me, but I'm no expert. Correct me if I'm wrong, but that monitor is 60Hz, so you'll only be able to display 60fps max.
    Yep, that's fine. 60fps feels smooth as anything to me so not worried about going higher.
  • Duffking 31 Jul 2013 23:10:08 7,488 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Phattso Moderator 1 Aug 2013 02:53:30 13,800 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Unborking the thread.
  • TVoJ 1 Aug 2013 09:18:27 2,028 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    After building my new machine I'm trying to reinvent my old shit into a media centre for the bedroom using XBMCbuntu.

    What I need to know is if the MB I have will accept some old ddr2 ram I have lying round. The manual states it'll take ddr3 2400/1866/1600/1333/1066/800.

    And this site says ddr2. So what do you reckon? Didn't wanna put them in and risk frying em.
  • Rodpad 1 Aug 2013 11:09:50 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    It's DDR3 - http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/A75M-ITX/
  • orpheus 3 Aug 2013 14:39:07 1,008 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Hey guys. I'm interested in some opinions on CPU temps.

    The recent heatwave has, unsurprisingly, stressed my overclock a little. I ended up clocking back down to stock (was @ 4.2) to get the temps down to a level I was happy with (hitting high 70s/low 80s on the days where it was 30-odd degrees).

    When I did, I discovered my temps didn't change all that much. It was idling around 50 in that crazy heat, but even on stock clocks on a cooler day (today), it's still idling around low-mid 40s.

    This seems a little hot for an i53750K on a Prolimatech Megahalem cooler, with two fans in a push-pull setup. Most idle temps found through google with decent cooling on the i5 3750K seem to average around 20-30. The Megahalem is a good cooler, so now I'm wondering if I need to reseat the heatsink - or whether something else is to blame.

    The Megahalem does have a fairly cheap push fan attached to the heatsink itself, might be that it's gone to shit and needs replacing. Might need to reseat the heat sink. Neither operation is a problem, my real question I suppose is: what idle/load temps are you guys getting on i5 3750Ks with decent (non-stock) cooling?

    The Megahalem is five + years old now, so if that may be part of the problem and you'd recommend another, please do so! I also just swapped out my aging and near-dead PSU, so I suppose that the new one may have higher power output, and thus more heat - again, if this is possible I'd love to hear about it. It did throw an eppy after installing the PSU for a bit (XMP memory overclock had to be reset to stock, then on again or it wouldn't recognise any of the memory & thus wouldn't post), if that's of any help to know.

    Thoughts? Temps?

    Edited by orpheus at 14:39:28 03-08-2013
  • Maturin 3 Aug 2013 14:43:28 3,160 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    That does seem a bit hot. I'm running a 3570K cooled with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO running a single fan. It's a warmish day here and my temp is 31C. When gaming it gets up into the 40s (occasionally low 50s) but never much higher. Even when it goes into turbo mode up to 3800MHz it doesn't get very hot.

    My previous PC had a similar issue and it turned out the paste had gone off. And the cooler was actually loose and hanging off slightly. Amazed it didn't die. That was a Q6600.

    (BTW I have tried clocking the 3570K to 4.2 and didn't see much improvement in gaming performance so dialled it back)

    Edited by Maturin at 14:45:27 03-08-2013
  • orpheus 3 Aug 2013 15:19:02 1,008 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @Maturin

    Yeah hence me wondering about re-seating the heatsink, maybe the paste is shit or I fluffed when applying it. May do that and order a decent fan for the front of the sink and see if that helps. A Megahalem should be a fuckton cooler than this.

    * Also didn't see a monstrous improvement @4.2, but it did give me another 5-10 frames in Planetside 2, which is the main reason I overclock. :)

    Ed: what's a good thermal paste? Isn't it arctic something-or-other?

    Edited by orpheus at 15:20:21 03-08-2013
  • Maturin 3 Aug 2013 15:22:07 3,160 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Arctic Silver
  • orpheus 3 Aug 2013 15:29:09 1,008 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @Maturin Yeah that's the one. May invest in some, I need to order new compressed air cans anyway! Cheers chap.
  • b0rk 3 Aug 2013 16:08:14 2,942 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I've not got a 3750k but I want to take part too dammit. My 2600K is idling at 33c and gets up to a max temp of 63c in this hot weather. I had to dial back the overclock to 4.3Ghz to keep the temp under 65c. The cooler is the still godlike Noctua NH-D14.
  • Buztafen 5 Aug 2013 08:58:46 16,493 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Anybody have any experience with THIS Crucial RAM?

    Seems like a good deal.
  • Rodpad 5 Aug 2013 09:19:34 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    If you're looking for a good deal to save money then you can cut back to 2x4GB for a start.
  • Buztafen 5 Aug 2013 09:53:04 16,493 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I've been wondering about the toss up between 8gb and 16gb for ages and i've not been able to make a decision either way so far. It sounds like 8gb is more than enough for what i'm going to be using it for (generally 1080p gaming on tv and some par'ing and unzipping of large files).

    Reason i cant make my mind up is i generally keep my systems for quite a few years bar upgrading gpu's and storage if necessary along the way. My current Q6600/4gb setup has served me well for almost 6 years and with DDR3 prices seemingly increasing month by month is it worth it dropping an extra 30/40 for double the ram now or go with 8gb and regret it later when its double the price?
  • Rodpad 5 Aug 2013 09:57:27 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Motherboards (usually) have four memory slots. Use two of them for 2x4GB (8GB total). If and when you need to upgrade, just plonk two more 4GB sticks in to get a total of 16GB.

    It's highly unlikely you're going to need more than 8GB in the next 3 years. You have nothing to gain by "future proofing" now when prices will go down if and when you need the extra memory.

    Edited by Roddles at 09:58:28 05-08-2013
  • Buztafen 5 Aug 2013 10:09:06 16,493 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    After doing a bit of research it looks like the cost of DDR3 is only going up since manufacturers are cutting production to concentrate on RAM for smartphones. It doesn't look like price will get as low as it did last Nov or the year before that. Then again DDR4 will probably be out in the next 2-3 years seen as Haswell-E will be using it.
  • Rodpad 5 Aug 2013 10:20:32 2,066 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    In three years time I'll give you a free 8GB upgrade if it costs more than it does now. 3 years is a long time in "storage" size terms. It's already been on the consumer market since 2008 and has dramatically decreased in cost since then.

    Edited by Roddles at 10:45:45 05-08-2013
  • Page

    of 155 First / Last

Log in or register to reply