The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 102

  • Page

    of 154 First / Last

  • RobTheBuilder 27 Mar 2013 13:25:58 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane just for games and browsing etc?
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Mar 2013 13:34:30 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane mostly the same or equivalent with different cases. I would say it's better to get one with a 3570k unlocked i5.

    The 3570k adds about 15, but is much much easier to overclock. (You should be able to get 3.8-4ghz using the included cooler with no hassle).
  • Physically_Insane 27 Mar 2013 13:46:33 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yeah for games and browsing etc. I'll go for the cheapest one with the 3570k then. I know nothing about overclocking, but Google will help me out I guess.
  • Physically_Insane 27 Mar 2013 13:54:12 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Also, this may sound like a stupid question; do I have to buy a wireless receiver thingy or will it be able to find my wireless router?
  • Rodpad 27 Mar 2013 13:56:23 1,953 posts
    Seen 48 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    If the motherboard doesn't have in built in (doubtful) then you'll need a dongle or a card.

    Personally I'd recommend an 801.11n 300mb (or 150mb) USB dongle that you can place on your desk to find the best signal. You can usually find these for a tenner.
  • Physically_Insane 27 Mar 2013 13:59:03 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Oh right, cheers.
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Mar 2013 14:22:44 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane Yeah, could be worth checking with the retailer which case has best airflow. As that will help if you do decide to overclock. Given that they are all around the same price might as well get the best for your money!

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 14:22:56 27-03-2013
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Mar 2013 14:23:51 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane You don't have to overclock, but there will be loads of advice on how to online for that exact processor. So it's an ideal one to start with!

    I'm sure some peeps on here will have overclocked that very one, so will be able to help too.

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 14:24:12 27-03-2013
  • Maturin 27 Mar 2013 14:49:11 3,098 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    RobTheBuilder wrote:
    @Physically_Insane mostly the same or equivalent with different cases. I would say it's better to get one with a 3570k unlocked i5.

    The 3570k adds about 15, but is much much easier to overclock. (You should be able to get 3.8-4ghz using the included cooler with no hassle).
    My 3570k runs at 3.8 by default with the xmp memory profile set on my mobo. And it'll do 4.3 easily via the auto tuner. I keep it at the semi-stock speed of 3.8 for now. But good to know how easy it is to clock with my Asus board. And with the latest firmware the voltage is kept low - overdoing that was a problem earlier on.
  • Rodpad 27 Mar 2013 20:43:48 1,953 posts
    Seen 48 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    No!

    No!

    NEVER use the auto tuner. It'll grossly overestimate the voltage required and will run super hot at load, not to mention you'll be able to get higher overclocks doing things manually.

    There are plenty of written and video guides showing you what to do. It's not that complicated at all.

    Edited by Roddles at 20:44:33 27-03-2013
  • Maturin 27 Mar 2013 21:59:13 3,098 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Except, as I said, the latest firmware does not over volt the CPU. Did you read that? It's just a plain fact. I've done it. It gave very sensible settings.

    Don't need to get silly about it.

    Edited by Maturin at 22:00:30 27-03-2013
  • Rodpad 27 Mar 2013 22:06:20 1,953 posts
    Seen 48 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    For your particular motherboard and firmware maybe. Bad anecdote for anybody else though.

    Out of interest, what voltage did it assign for 4.3Ghz?
  • DodgyPast 28 Mar 2013 01:47:06 8,493 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    To be fair it's a mature ASUS board designed around over clocking so going to be about as good as you'll get manually.

    Though my i2500k hits 4.5Ghz without touching the voltage. I do use a decent cooler to keep the temperature as low as possible.

    Does seem like I was very lucky with that CPU choice, hardly depreciated in value since I bought it 18 months ago.

    Edited by DodgyPast at 01:48:34 28-03-2013
  • Physically_Insane 28 Mar 2013 19:30:33 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Guys quick, is this any good?

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GINGER6-FX9-AMD-BULLDOZER-FX-QUAD-CORE-GTX-670-4GB-500GB-GAMING-COMPUTER-PC-/190734469164?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item2c68a9082c

    I'm very close to buying.
  • RobTheBuilder 28 Mar 2013 19:34:17 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane compared to ones you were looking at before, no.
    Less ram, much smaller hard drive, considerably slower processor, no OS.

    The ones before with the i5 are far better value and more than worth the extra
  • Physically_Insane 28 Mar 2013 19:35:12 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yeah, I guess. It's a lot of money to part with, so I'm trying to find the best deals.
  • RobTheBuilder 28 Mar 2013 19:50:27 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane of course. But it's definitely less value for money. You'll end up wanting to upgrade far sooner than with the i5. Especially the 3570 which is easy to overclock.

    I think for the money, the 3750k you showed before are an ideal combination of price and power. You'll lose a chunk of power for not that much saving.

    The cheaper one will be capable enough, but you'll fill the hard drive quicker, and you'll probably want to upgrade the ram at some point too. I think if you have the cash you'll feel like you get more for your money with the i5

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 19:58:20 28-03-2013
  • Physically_Insane 28 Mar 2013 19:56:35 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Fucking hell, I'm trying to buy on the tech solutions website and I'm stuck in checkout loop. It keeps asking me to select a delivery date. I've selected one! Please take my money!
  • RobTheBuilder 28 Mar 2013 20:00:34 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Physically_Insane wrote:
    Fucking hell, I'm trying to buy on the tech solutions website and I'm stuck in checkout loop. It keeps asking me to select a delivery date. I've selected one! Please take my money!
    How odd! Which one did you decide on?
  • Physically_Insane 28 Mar 2013 20:08:38 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I've gone for this: http://www.freshtechsolutions.co.uk/custom-built-computers/intel-ivy-bridge-i5-3570k-gaming-pc-2tb-16gb-gtx-670-2gb-galaxy-z77-computer.html

    I think I need to pay using paypal (which I've never used before). I've got to wait a few days now so that my bank card is authorised, and then wait another 5 days for delivery. I'm selling my iMac tomorrow, so I'll be computer-less for a good week and a bit.

    :(
  • RobTheBuilder 28 Mar 2013 21:24:07 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane Sent DM!
  • Physically_Insane 2 Apr 2013 12:32:44 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    So, my PC parts were delivered this morning. I really hope I can build it properly when I get home after work. Never done it before, so something will probably go wrong along the way.

    Anyway when/if it's built and Windows is installed, should I update Windows first and then the drivers, or the other way round? Does it even matter?

    Edited by Physically_Insane at 12:33:15 02-04-2013
  • Rodpad 2 Apr 2013 12:52:20 1,953 posts
    Seen 48 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    To be honest I never update Windows. I find the hotfixes cause more problems than they supposedly fix (even though I never had any issues).

    Just update all the drivers and away you go.
  • Physically_Insane 2 Apr 2013 12:57:07 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I'm usually the same, I never update Windows. Although that's because I can never be bothered when the prompt appears. Cool, I guess I'll do drivers first.
  • RobTheBuilder 2 Apr 2013 13:10:25 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Physically_Insane it's far more of 'connect a to a' than you might think. Most things will only go in one place!
    The power unit and motherboard will have detailed instructions, just follow them and ask on here if you get stuck.

    Make sure you take your socks off while you build it, and earth yourself by touching a radiator or similar before you start, just to reduce risk of static affecting any parts. And don't touch the insides while it is plugged in!

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 13:10:54 02-04-2013
  • THFourteen 2 Apr 2013 13:12:53 33,819 posts
    Seen 58 seconds ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I always have my windows auto update, never had an issue.

    Usually let it do its thing and then update the drivers afterwards.
  • mikew1985 2 Apr 2013 14:16:13 12,888 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Spare a thought for me comrades. I am currently without my beloved pc for the next three months.

    I miss it already.

    It's been 5 hours.
  • THFourteen 2 Apr 2013 14:18:27 33,819 posts
    Seen 58 seconds ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I know that feeling!

    Just set mine up in the study in my new house, after it had been sat in the lounge for the last few years.

    Theres something satisfying about a proper man cave with a quality PC in it.
  • Physically_Insane 2 Apr 2013 21:02:26 8,984 posts
    Seen 42 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    So I've been following a guide online and i've got to the part where you test out the case to see if it turns on ok. Something went wrong. The cpu fan turns on for a few seconds and then turns off. Everything else seems to be working fine. Any ideas?
  • Page

    of 154 First / Last

Log in or register to reply