The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 98

  • Page

    of 151 First / Last

  • Roddles 15 Feb 2013 15:36:53 1,901 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    4GB of dual channel. You're never going to need more than 4GB unless you're gaming or encoding videos.
  • pinebear 15 Feb 2013 16:01:03 8,565 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    heh

  • Loefah 17 Feb 2013 02:00:45 15 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Looking for some help regarding a budget gaming PC. Have been offered this setup for 300 with a monitor thrown in. Want to play most games at medium to high. Would this be okay? Thanks in advance.

    CASE: COOLER MASTER ELITE 430
    CPU: AMD FX6100
    MOBO: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3
    RAM: CORSAIR VENGANCE 8GB 1600MHZ
    GRAPHICS CARD: ASUS NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX550TI
    CPU COOLER: COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
    POWER SUPPLY: CORSAIR CX600
    SSD: OCZ AGILITY 3 120GB
    DVD DRIVE: LG DVD REWRITER
  • joeymoto108 17 Feb 2013 02:20:27 647 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    That's the same graphics card I recently used to have. With an i5 2500k cpu and gtx 550 ti I could get medium settings on bf3, 60 fps near enough constant on 64 player mp @ 1360x768. You'd be fine with that setup, not bad for 300 quid.

    'Look at you, hacker: a pathetic creature of meat and bone, panting and sweating as you run through my corridors. How can you challenge a perfect, immortal machine?'

  • joeymoto108 17 Feb 2013 02:23:34 647 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    And I'm still selling my gtx 550 ti, if anyone's interested. Desperate to get rid of it, selling for only 35 quid.

    'Look at you, hacker: a pathetic creature of meat and bone, panting and sweating as you run through my corridors. How can you challenge a perfect, immortal machine?'

  • Lt_Drebin 17 Feb 2013 08:35:55 159 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    joeymoto108 wrote:
    And I'm still selling my gtx 550 ti, if anyone's interested. Desperate to get rid of it, selling for only 35 quid.
    If you've not sold it by the end of the month, drop me a pm. I'd be happy to take that off your hands for 35 but I'm broke until payday.
  • Buztafen 5 Mar 2013 11:08:37 16,240 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Yet more 560Ti 448's available for purchase HERE!.

    Feel free to ask any questions.
  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:13:19 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Right, I'm building a new PC at the moment. Need some advice. I've gone with the following:
    Gigabyte B75M-D3V Motherboard
    Intel i3-3220 CPU
    Crucial 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Ballistix RAM
    Coolermaster Elite 342 Black Micro ATX Case
    Corsair 430W CXM Builder Modular 80 Plus

    I was a bit surprised to find the motherboard has 5 sata connections, seems a little excessive. One of them supports 6gb/s transfer rate, the rest 3GB/s. I have 2 SSDs, one of OS and one for games, any advice as to which I should connect to the faster port

    Edited by Razz at 12:20:57 06-03-2013

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:34:49 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, the rest of the components are from my old PC. It's a erm... Radeon 5570 *cough*

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • sport 6 Mar 2013 12:36:27 12,743 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    You just built a PC yesterday, Razz!!
  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:37:23 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    But, truth be told, it's a surprisingly decent card. It's taken everything I've thrown at it with good measure. Skyrim and Borderlands 2 run really well at high settings.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:38:14 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    sport wrote:
    You just built a PC yesterday, Razz!!
    We've got 6 PCs around the house that go through incremental upgrades throughout the year. :D I'm just getting them all Simcity ready :)

    Edited by Razz at 12:38:43 06-03-2013

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Sandbox 6 Mar 2013 12:41:31 339 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Razz wrote:
    Right, I'm building a new PC at the moment. Need some advice. I've gone with the following:
    Gigabyte B75M-D3V Motherboard
    Intel i3-3220 CPU
    Crucial 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Ballistix RAM
    Coolermaster Elite 342 Black Micro ATX Case
    Corsair 430W CXM Builder Modular 80 Plus

    I was a bit surprised to find the motherboard has 5 sata connections, seems a little excessive. One of them supports 6gb/s transfer rate, the rest 3GB/s. I have 2 SSDs, one of OS and one for games, any advice as to which I should connect to the faster port
    My personal pref for budget builds at the mo is a AMD 965, currently 76 on ebuyer, you could then get a bit better AM3+ motherboard with all SATA 6 ports. If you stick with your build then I would put the OS drive on the SATA 6
  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:52:13 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    nickthegun wrote:
    Then why are you upgrading?

    Its your money, but from the build list, you are skimping on spec anyway, so to stick that card in just seems like a complete waste of time.
    :D LOL

    Let me give you a run down of my current spec.

    I have a Dell Vostro 200 Slim. It was gifted to me a few years ago.

    In terms of upgrading. It is the worst PC I've ever owned

    Intel Core Duo 2Gz
    2GB RAM
    200 watt PSU

    It has a shitty Foxconn made custom micro ATX Socket 775 motherboard that won't fit in any other case.

    Due to the case dimensions I can only but low profile cards for it.

    With this new motherboard and case I have plenty of upgrade potential in the future as it takes up to an i7 CPU. I'll buy a new graphics card if needed, but for now, it suits my purposes.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 12:53:23 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @Sandbox Cheers mate, it's all already here. I'll stick the OS drive on the SATA6. Thanks!!

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 13:47:52 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    This is odd the processor hasn't come with any thermal paste. but the included fan seems to have some kind of contact pad on it. Perhaps I don;t need any.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Sandbox 6 Mar 2013 14:03:18 339 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yup, Intel heat-sinks just have a pre-applied area of paste. Should be fine.
  • RedSparrows 6 Mar 2013 14:50:29 22,779 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    What GPU can I put in this?

    Asrock FM2A75M-DGS
    AMD A10 5800K

    That will not be mega expensive and will work nicely and not breaky my lovely PC.

    Thank you clever men

    xxx
  • Salaman 6 Mar 2013 15:21:43 19,093 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Similar to the above question. I'm pleased with my A10 so far.
    Runs Borderlands 2, Xcom, Deus EX fine. It does started crashing on Max Payne3 though. I assume it's struggling without a dedicated GPU.

    So what GPU goes with this?

    ASUS DRW-24B5ST bare
    AMD A10 5800K Black Edition with integrated AMD Radeon HD 7660D

    I doubt I can afford it this month or next but I can lust over it and price watch it at least.

    edit: the internets suggest a Radeon HD 6670 in crossfire.

    Edited by Salaman at 15:23:52 06-03-2013
  • Razz 6 Mar 2013 15:43:26 61,224 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @Sandbox Cheers man, having an odd problem at the moment. I've connected the PSU motherboard cpu and ram only. When I stat up the PC I get continuous beeps and after about 10 seconds it resets. Any ideas? There is no beep guide in the manual :(
    I've tried starting it up without RAM, new RAM, and RAM from other computers around the house, still the same issue. I've tried the CPU in my other computer and it starts just fine. No idea o_O

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Sharzam 6 Mar 2013 16:00:17 2,900 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    So i normally have 16GB RAM for no reason other than i have. The thing is while overclocking the CPU a bit more and playing in bios i find that my ram is higher timings than i want and is running a bit slower overall.

    I have 4 sticks of Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz but is made up of two sets with ever so slightly different timings A: 7-8-7-20 and B: 7-8-8-24 or something like that. When i remove one set and so run with 8GB i find i can overclock more stably and the RAM runs a touch faster while stable. I think this is because of the slight mis match, so the question:

    Is it better to have ever so slightly Faster 8GB or ever so slightly Slower 16GB ?

    I have a feeling you will all say 8GB but thought best check, i guess if i need 16GB with newer games/next gen i can always buy 16gb matched set later down the line and with the thread being about Budget concerns i guess should stick with what i have.

    Edited by Sharzam at 16:01:49 06-03-2013

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • Buztafen 6 Mar 2013 16:33:59 16,240 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Salaman wrote:
    Similar to the above question. I'm pleased with my A10 so far.
    Runs Borderlands 2, Xcom, Deus EX fine. It does started crashing on Max Payne3 though. I assume it's struggling without a dedicated GPU.

    So what GPU goes with this?

    ASUS DRW-24B5ST bare
    AMD A10 5800K Black Edition with integrated AMD Radeon HD 7660D

    I doubt I can afford it this month or next but I can lust over it and price watch it at least.

    edit: the internets suggest a Radeon HD 6670 in crossfire.
    A 99 560Ti 448 like the ones on sale in my link above should be awesome for that setup. Much better than 2 x 6670's too! :)
  • Roddles 6 Mar 2013 16:37:03 1,901 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Overclocking RAM is for mugs. Literally no real world difference for a massive faff and likely instability.

    Also unless you do video editing you won't notice the difference between 8gb and 16gb. You have 16gb so I'd just stick with that.
  • Mr_Sleep 6 Mar 2013 16:41:39 17,085 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Razz wrote:
    @Sandbox Cheers man, having an odd problem at the moment. I've connected the PSU motherboard cpu and ram only. When I stat up the PC I get continuous beeps and after about 10 seconds it resets. Any ideas? There is no beep guide in the manual :(
    I've tried starting it up without RAM, new RAM, and RAM from other computers around the house, still the same issue. I've tried the CPU in my other computer and it starts just fine. No idea o_O
    Ummm, stupid question but have you connected the graphics card? Loads of beeps is usually that or some kind of problem with RAM. Maybe try one stick and then the other.

    You are a factory of sadness.

  • Page

    of 151 First / Last

Log in or register to reply