Wii displaying in black and white

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 11:50:42 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Hello!

    I wonder why my Wii is displaying in black and white on my NEW LCD TV? Every cable is inserted correctly to the, Yellow for image, and white and red for the sound.
    This is not a console problem, as i've just moved it to my dad from my mum, where i got an old and big TV, where the Wii works fine.

    So what causes this? Tried both 50Hz and 60Hz.
    I got a Philips 190 TW.

    Thanks.
  • Tonka 3 Aug 2009 12:03:42 20,019 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Are you playing MadWorld?

    If you can read this you really need to fiddle with your forum settings.

  • Tonka 3 Aug 2009 12:05:18 20,019 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    If not it sounds like a problem with the cable. Have you wiggled it around?
    Is it connected to one of these faux scart adapters? Can yo try it without?

    If you can read this you really need to fiddle with your forum settings.

  • Pirotic Moderator 3 Aug 2009 12:06:09 20,646 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Tonka wrote:
    Are you playing MadWorld?

    We have a winner! :D

    I take it you are using composite then? You should really get an RGB Scart for it anyway, and hopefully that'll fix the problem as well (could be an NTSC output issue).
  • Deleted user 3 August 2009 12:09:23
    Are you on the correct AV channel? Some TVs will display composite on the s-video channel.
  • mrpon 3 Aug 2009 12:10:24 28,450 posts
    Seen 43 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Did you only buy a B&W TV Licence?

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Thingy 3 Aug 2009 12:10:35 5,369 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    If you're using the composite input, the LCD TV may may be set to receive S-video input instead of composite, in which case you'll only see B&W. If there is an S-Video input sitting next to the Composite input then this is possibly the case.
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:10:52 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yeah, using composite.
    Well.. I could always try with an scart adapter, but don't know where i can buy it, will look around.

    Tonka: Wiggled it around? If you mean that i've tried switching between the ports, yes.
  • catterz 3 Aug 2009 12:16:59 8,763 posts
    Seen 8 months ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    No, he literally means wiggling it to make sure the contacts are in ok.

    Sounds like what the others are saying. Look at your TV remote and see if you can change AV settings to Composite instead of S-Video. (For some TVs it's a case of pressing the AV button a couple of extra times)

    On my TV I have to press the coloured teletext buttons to switch AV modes.

    Still stalking this place, old-school style (UID: 1053)

  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:20:42 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I am not using the S-Video channel, as i get no signal there, using some random EXT3 channel ._.
  • terminalterror 3 Aug 2009 12:22:24 18,937 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Don't bother with an RGB scart cable, you might as well skip that and upgrade to the component cable (the one with red, green and blue video cables and red and white audio ones).

    That'll let your wii output 480p.

    Make sure you get the cables the right way round, as incorrectly connected component cables can also give a black and white picture.
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:37:36 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I think i tried inserting the cables everywhere, nothing worked!
    I could give you a more detailed "image" of my slots:
    1 Red, 1 Blue and 1 Green - 1 White, 1 Red (For audio i guess) and a SCART.
    Got some others but it's not related.

    I got the Yellow cable inserted into the green one, the white into the white one, and the red one inserted into the red one to the right.
    Shouldn't this be more than correct? The Wii is only showing up on EXT3, not EXT1 or EXT2 S-Video/CVBS, if that's a problem?
    Do you really think i need to upgrade the cables? :_: Would like to have a good solution before i buy anything, that's the last thing i'll do.
  • Thingy 3 Aug 2009 12:41:14 5,369 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    You put a composite cable into a component input. Buy a component lead.
  • convercide 3 Aug 2009 12:41:51 5,921 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Kromgol wrote:
    I got the Yellow cable inserted into the green one

    There you go. :)

    Just use the scart adapter that comes with the Wii.

    If you can read this, you don't need glasses.

  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:47:04 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    convercide wrote:
    Kromgol wrote:
    I got the Yellow cable inserted into the green one

    There you go. :)

    Just use the scart adapter that comes with the Wii.


    Scart adapter? WTF? Did it really follow a scart adapter with the Wii? ._. I can't look either i guess, i bought it in March 2007, so where the box is, well, only god knows that.

    So.. There is no other solution than using a scart adapter?
  • Deleted user 3 August 2009 12:50:23
    Use a scart lead.
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:54:04 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Well, the next question is.. Where can i buy it? Seems like no stores that i checked that exists here sells it, and i really don't want to order it through internet because of the long shipping time.

    Meh, i hate this problem.
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 12:58:01 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Oh well, seems like i found one.. Thanks anyway for solving the problem ^^
  • convercide 3 Aug 2009 12:58:41 5,921 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Have you got any other console you can borrow it from?

    Here's an image of what you need.

    Most don't have the S-Video in either, so ignore that. You can usually buy an adapter for cheap.

    Here's an idea of cost.

    EDIT: No problem.

    If you can read this, you don't need glasses.

  • President_Weasel 3 Aug 2009 12:59:31 8,975 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    try something like this
  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 13:06:56 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Haha, i just found the composite inputs or whatever they were named, they were on the left side of the TV which i didn't check.
    Everything is working fine now :)

    A happier Kromgol and no money wasted!
    Thanks again!
  • Deleted user 3 August 2009 13:11:12
    lol :)
  • deem 3 Aug 2009 13:14:20 31,641 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Kromgol wrote:
    I got the Yellow cable inserted into the green one,

    I can't believe this didn't work.
  • Youthist 3 Aug 2009 13:44:04 10,010 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    deem wrote:
    Kromgol wrote:
    I got the Yellow cable inserted into the green one,

    I can't believe this didn't work.

    Also, it was such an un-important piece of detail that it didn't make it into the OP.

    Think of how stupid the average person is, and realise half of them are stupider than that

  • Der_tolle_Emil 3 Aug 2009 13:54:38 7,299 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    If he can't even distinguish yellow from green I wonder how much harm a b/w picture does in the first place. It doesn't seem like he cares much for colors anyway.
  • catterz 3 Aug 2009 13:56:24 8,763 posts
    Seen 8 months ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Kromgol wrote:
    Haha, i just found the composite inputs or whatever they were named, they were on the left side of the TV which i didn't check.
    I was gonna say! I haven't come across a TV in the last 10 years that didn't have a composite input somewhere on it. A lot of Digital Cameras come with composite cables to hook up to your TV.

    Still stalking this place, old-school style (UID: 1053)

  • Kromgol 3 Aug 2009 16:07:26 9 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Der_tolle_Emil wrote:
    If he can't even distinguish yellow from green I wonder how much harm a b/w picture does in the first place. It doesn't seem like he cares much for colors anyway.

    Well.. I didn't see the composite inputs at first, and i only saw the component inputs, which ofcourse i thought that those were the correct ones.
    And because a picture still showed up.. Except that it was in B/W, yeah, what should i think? :)
  • Deleted user 3 August 2009 16:08:03
    You are phage AICMFP
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply