*Limiting* Wireless LAN Range?

• Page

of 1

Previous Next
  • Dudemeister 26 Jul 2009 21:39:21 16 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Hello,

I've been considering making the jump to wireless LAN, since I begin to abhor the tangle of wires going all over the place.

A problem that came to mind when checking on the range of the WLAN routers was that the range usually is about ~10 meters (no?), and that would be waaaay too much for my little (read: studio) flat.

Now you might say why go wireless at all in such a small space, but with two computers, two consoles and possibly an eventual external HD that is linked into the network, I feel it's worth it.

Am I paranoid to think that security becomes an increased concern if the range of the router would basically cover the entire floor above and around me? Or am I overly optimistic of the range? I have no experience of WLAN whats-o-ever :).

Plz to halp,
    Dudemeister
  • ecureuil 26 Jul 2009 21:42:49 76,734 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Encrypt your network.
  • Metalfish 26 Jul 2009 22:05:44 8,818 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Just stick it in WPA. Anyone who hacks that pretty much deserves to steal your internets. The big nerds.
  • faux_carnation 26 Jul 2009 22:08:03 9,272 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Good choice of UiD there OP.
  • Dudemeister 26 Jul 2009 22:13:54 16 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Why, thank you. :D

So, basically it doesn't matter, then. Cheers guys.
  • Red-Moose 26 Jul 2009 22:17:11 5,346 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Dudemeister wrote:

Am I paranoid to think that security becomes an increased concern if the range of the router would basically cover the entire floor above and around me? Or am I overly optimistic of the range? I have no experience of WLAN whats-o-ever :).

Plz to halp,
    Dudemeister