I'm a non techie mum, that needs help :)

• Page

of 1

Previous Next
  • madmole 27 Apr 2009 10:08:19 2 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Hi peeps, both my sons have XBox 360's and both are connected to the net via a Linksys router.
    They can both get on to play against other gamers online but are having a problem joining party with their friends. i.e if 1 of them is already joined to a party the other one cannot join a different party. Is there a way around this?

I'm not technically minded so is there someone out there who can solve this problem without talking too tehnically at me - remeber i'm nearly 40 and a girlie !!! LOL

Thanks

Moley
  • MrTomFTW Moderator 27 Apr 2009 10:12:11 36,290 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I seem to remember reading about problems if 2 Xbox 360s are connected via the same Internet connection. I know you said don't talk technical... But if I recall correctly, it's the age old problem of NAT settings. You might need to assign each Xbox a static IP address on the router, and then open the appropriate ports on the firewall.

Yeah... Good luck!

I totally called it.
    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

• kalel 27 Apr 2009 10:12:18 83,877 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hello. Do they have their own unique subscruiptions to LIVE?
  • Lutz 27 Apr 2009 10:12:56 48,854 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I prefer mad ferrets myself. They've up for anything.

*ahem*

AFAIK, no, due to the chat system. My friends sister said she had similar problems.
  • psychokitten Moderator 27 Apr 2009 10:14:01 7,791 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Can you try this first, and see if you get any error codes:

On the Xbox 360 go up to "My Xbox", then across to "System Settings".