pcsx2

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Widge Moderator 5 Mar 2009 11:52:56 13,442 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Anyone ever got this working on their PC?

    http://www.pcsx2.net/

    I managed to get hold of a BIOS, slapped on an older version of this, got to the boot screen but when I stuck in my disc of Ico... it just refused to appear.

    My main thinking is that portable FFXII would be rather nice! Hell, portable MGS2 & 3 would be rather hot!

    _ _ _

    www.unpaused.co.uk - electronic noise adjective salad

  • TurboBailey 5 Mar 2009 13:42:49 686 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    This is that PS2 emulator right?
    I got the exact same as you. Boot screen, then nothing works.

    Its to do with the BIOS version. Has to match region of the disk.

  • Deleted user 5 March 2009 13:45:14
    It's slow. Exceptional so. Games can be playable, but I'm not sure any games work at full speed on anything other than a monster rig, and those are less demanding ones like Persona 3 and whatnot. Even then the sound is usually fucked.
  • Widge Moderator 5 Mar 2009 14:08:32 13,442 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Hm, I guess my less than monster rig would like this, certainly not my laptop. Shame. No point doing it on my PC as I have a BC PS3!

    _ _ _

    www.unpaused.co.uk - electronic noise adjective salad

  • Deleted user 10 July 2009 15:48:38
    can this load an Iso? I have SOTC and well its asking for the disc.
  • Aretak 10 Jul 2009 15:51:31 10,350 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Use the Linuz Iso CDVD plugin. Then select the 'Cdvdrom' option from the drop-down config menu and select your ISO in that. Then use the Run CD/DVD command from the file menu.

    /edit/ Oh, and you'd better have a pretty good PC to run SotC. It's one of the most demanding games out there, and may run like crap on a system which will run most other games fine.
  • Deleted user 11 July 2009 09:36:58
    bah the iso wont load.
  • Dirtbox 11 Jul 2009 10:45:37 77,686 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I've had mixed success with this. Some games work at full speed at the expense of sound, while others are perfect and some are 1fps or just a black screen.

    sotc doesn't work iirc. Ico does, but it chugs a bit and glitches more.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Aretak 11 Jul 2009 11:19:53 10,350 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    It's a really CPU-dependent emulator. Pretty much everything can be gotten running at full speed by throwing a better CPU at it. RAM and your graphics card don't seem to be overly important (within reason).

    I've only tried a few games out myself. Final Fantasy X runs perfectly. FFXII runs perfectly 95% of the time, slowing down to 85% speed or so during really intensive scenes. Tales of the Abyss is perfect too.

    SotC and Metal Gear Solid 3 are two of the games which require the most grunt to run at full speed.
  • Aretak 11 Jul 2009 12:32:19 10,350 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hmm... can't say I've ever experienced issues like that. It's been really solid for me. It even carried on uninterrupted when I accidentally hit the sleep key on my keyboard a little while ago. Try running it with admin privileges if you're using Vista or 7. I know there can be some issues if you don't.

    I'm about 30 hours into FFXII now. It looks really nice rendered at a high resolution (for a PS2 game anyway).
  • JediMasterMalik 11 Jul 2009 12:33:16 11,820 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Tried it recently, but not only is it slow in places, the texture work doesn't seem to work properly either, don't know what I'm doing wrong. Tried Okami, and GoW.
  • Aretak 11 Jul 2009 12:58:44 10,350 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    JediMasterMalik wrote:
    Tried it recently, but not only is it slow in places, the texture work doesn't seem to work properly either, don't know what I'm doing wrong. Tried Okami, and GoW.
    GoW is one of the games it has problems with I think. I haven't tried it myself, but I've read some posts on the official forums saying that it doesn't display correctly.

    It's worth noting that the version on the main website (0.9.6) is actually pretty ancient now. It's much better to grab the latest one from here, which includes newer versions of the emulator and the plugins it uses. There are a lot of new speedhacks and such in the newer versions which really boost performance.

    Make sure to use the GSDX10 graphics plugin too if you can. I think it's set to use the ZeroGS plugin by default, which isn't nearly as good in my experience.
  • Darren 12 Jul 2009 09:59:43 8,776 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I tried this with Dragon Quest VIII and it ran the game almost much flawlessly so the game was perfectly playable. I haven't tried any other PS2 games though, mainly because I have a PS3 that can play them upscaled. Nevertheless the emulation was impressive but that's probably only because I have a very powerful PC (a Core i7 @ 3.36 GHz).

    PS3, PS4, PS Vita, Wii U, Xbox One, PC (Intel Core i7-4770K, 16 GB, 3 GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780, Windows 8.1 Pro), iPad 4, iPad mini with Retina Display.

  • Deleted user 5 August 2009 11:03:44
    Yeah, got the NTSC version :D
  • Aretak 5 Aug 2009 11:11:38 10,350 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Get the Japanese International version. You can switch all the text to English and it has the English voice track as well.
  • seasidebaz 5 Aug 2009 11:20:41 6,126 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Darren wrote:
    I tried this with Dragon Quest VIII and it ran the game almost much flawlessly so the game was perfectly playable. I haven't tried any other PS2 games though, mainly because I have a PS3 that can play them upscaled. Nevertheless the emulation was impressive but that's probably only because I have a very powerful PC (a Core i7 @ 3.36 GHz).

    Not that impressive. I've got it running lovely on a Core Duo laptop (not even Core2 duo) with Intel 945GM graphics. DQVIII is perfectly playable like that with a PS3 pad plugged into it.
  • Deleted user 9 December 2011 09:01:50
    Can someone recommend appropriate settings for use with SotC? I got a decent cpu (2600k@4.4Ghz) but it's not what I'd call playable at the moment.

    i r emu noob

    ta
  • Deleted user 10 December 2011 12:01:13
    :|

    Anyone?

    Edited by oi at 12:01:39 10-12-2011
  • Deleted user 10 December 2011 12:30:35
    Yeah, buy a PS2 or wait until PS2 emulation is good enough.

    I'm sure there's a database of settings somewhere, google my man.
  • Deleted user 10 December 2011 13:34:15
    hm
  • Deleted user 10 December 2011 13:59:37
    From the state of sotc on the ps2 your PC is probably emulating it perfectly.
  • WoodenSpoon 10 Dec 2011 15:03:29 12,285 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    It's definitely doable, I can't find the guide I used but there was (and probably still is one) up on the PCSX2 forums, or there's one here.
  • Fallen_Angel 10 Dec 2011 17:47:46 89 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    oi wrote:
    Can someone recommend appropriate settings for use with SotC? I got a decent cpu (2600k@4.4Ghz) but it's not what I'd call playable at the moment.

    i r emu noob

    ta
    It will definitely run on that CPU, I've had it running near perfect on a 2500k, only issue is the light bloom is broken, its either on and you can't see shit, or have it off and everything looks a bit dull. I'll post my settings when I'm back at my pc, but iirc I followed a guide on dcemu forums.
  • WoodenSpoon 10 Dec 2011 17:52:22 12,285 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    iirc that bloom issue is something to do with the resolution you're rendering at, upping it makes the bloom less mental or something.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply