Getting a 360 to read a 1TB external drive ?

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:10:57
    Hiya all

    I have bought a Maxtor Basics 1TB ext HDD and want to watch .AVI movies off it via the 360. Now the drive was formatted as NTFS out of the box, and I have read that a 360 prefers FAT32, right ?

    Tried plugging it into the 360 with a couple of movies and some pics on it - but the 360 wont see it.

    So I formatted it to exFAT - but it still won`t see it.

    Can someone please point out the blindingly obvious thing or step I have over looked here ? Cos I`m sure I cant see the wood for the trees here.

    Thanks
  • ming 17 Jan 2009 13:17:06 275 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Have you tried FAT32?
  • mikew1985 17 Jan 2009 13:17:48 12,739 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    hmm I'm no expert but I just used Swissknife to reformat a Maxtor drive(500GB) to FAT32 and it worked fine.

    Are you sure the drive reformatted to FAT 32 correctly?
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:20:13
    Not tried FAT32 tey - right clicked the HD icon and it only gave me exFAT or NTFS as options. I read FAT32 isn`t recommended for bigger drives cos of fragmentation issues. That was on Wikipedia tho - is it worth worrying about ?
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:21:23
    Oh, and I`m running VISTA on the laptop Im using - does that matter ?
  • ming 17 Jan 2009 13:34:15 275 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Fragmentation will only slow the hard disk down a bit and you probably wont notice it.

    The newer file systems are not supported so you dont really have a choice.
  • Short-Round 17 Jan 2009 13:36:59 1,181 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Why can't the 360 read ntfs though? Is there a homebrew hack or workaround?
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:37:30
    ah. Just found this in VISTA help :

    " To format a hard disk partition with FAT32
    Click to open Computer Management. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

    In the Navigation pane of Computer Management (Local), under Storage, click Disk Management.

    Right-click the partition you want to format, and then click Format.

    In the Format dialog box, under File System, select FAT32, click OK, and then click OK again."

    Thanks for the replies y`all !

    Ah bugger, that only does NTFS or exFAT too.

    Swissnife it is !
  • oceanmotion 17 Jan 2009 13:40:11 15,942 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Why on earth can't it read NTFS ? I've always wondered why it has to be FAT32.
  • ming 17 Jan 2009 13:50:01 275 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    The reason is that there are no restrictions/licensing requirements for implementing FAT32 so any and every hardware manufacturer adds it to their device. Since everyone uses the format no one bothers with a different one.

    If you want to use NTFS you need to pay MS for the privilege. Although why this stops MS from using it I'm not sure.

  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:50:57
    Yep, so Swissnife wont work on VISTA. FFS.

    Any other suggestions peeps ?
  • buggrit 17 Jan 2009 13:55:50 5,179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Know anyone with a Mac? They can format to FAT32 for you :)
  • oceanmotion 17 Jan 2009 13:56:11 15,942 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    ming wrote:
    The reason is that there are no restrictions/licensing requirements for implementing FAT32 so any and every hardware manufacturer adds it to their device. Since everyone uses the format no one bothers with a different one.

    If you want to use NTFS you need to pay MS for the privilege. Although why this stops MS from using it I'm not sure.


    Thanks for the info. Perhaps it's a cost they didn't want to add to the 360. They shaved everything off it. Maybe they don't make exceptions even for them. I thought FAT32 was old and done with. Guess not.
  • BravoGolf Moderator 17 Jan 2009 13:57:46 12,745 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    The 360 works perfectly with the MAC format HFS, so if you have one handy format it with that
  • Retroid Moderator 17 Jan 2009 13:57:58 44,733 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    ming wrote:
    If you want to use NTFS you need to pay MS for the privilege. Although why this stops MS from using it I'm not sure.
    It's always struck me as staggeringly stupid for an MS machine not to be able to read an MS format.

    >:(

    Also, it's not recommended that the 360 will recognise the drive itself anyway; I have a Western Digital MyBook with one partition formatted to FAT32 and my PS3 reads it fine (I've used it for backups when formatting) but neither of my 360s will see it at all.
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 13:58:01
    Nope. My friends ask me for help with their iPods (poor sods) - so none of them would be Mac enabled.
  • buggrit 17 Jan 2009 13:58:53 5,179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    BravoGolf wrote:
    The 360 works perfectly with the MAC format HFS, so if you have one handy format it with that
    It does?

    /goes to try it out

    Holy crap, it works!
    BG, I now wish to subscribe to any newsletters you are responsible for...
  • Lukus 17 Jan 2009 14:01:22 19,111 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    The 360 can't play avi can it?

    Paintings & Photographs

  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 14:03:42
    Lukus wrote:
    The 360 can't play avi can it?

    I believe it can ?
  • LFMartins 17 Jan 2009 14:05:36 5,704 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It can.
  • jellyhead 17 Jan 2009 14:05:51 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    You can get a Windows ME bootdisk and use that to format or use something like GPartEd.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • Retroid Moderator 17 Jan 2009 14:06:09 44,733 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Lukus wrote:
    The 360 can't play avi can it?
    Yes it can. Also: M4V.
  • jellyhead 17 Jan 2009 14:07:28 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    In Vista have you tried the following command from the commandline?
    [code]
    format /FS:FAT32 x:[/code]
    where x: is your drive letter.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 14:10:34
    jellyhead wrote:
    In Vista have you tried the following command from the commandline?
    [code]
    format /FS:FAT32 x:[/code]
    where x: is your drive letter.

    Yep, but then it was nagging me about switching to Elevated mode. I thought I had Admin rights. Will switch to my wifes profile and try again.
  • jellyhead 17 Jan 2009 14:14:46 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Try "How to to run a command as admin from the run box".
    Basically type the command into the run box and use CTRL + SHIFT + ENTER instead of just ENTER. Apparently.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • jellyhead 17 Jan 2009 14:17:25 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    also Enable the actual administrator account if necessary but it shouldn't be really.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 14:30:59
    Fragmentation issues are only relevant if you were using the drive with intensive I/O, and/or small files, as you are planning to use it as an AVI contender, do go ahead, you'll have no performance issues.
  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 15:08:42
    Can I do a quick format from the DOS prompt ? The progress % didnt move from "0" for ten minutes. Thats gonna take all frickin weekend to do 1TB !
  • jellyhead 17 Jan 2009 15:14:41 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Try using the /Q switch.
    [code]Format /FS:FAT32 /Q x:[/code]

    Use[code]Format /?[/code] to see all the available options but /FS and /Q should be it.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • Deleted user 17 January 2009 15:16:44
    Thanks JH - that sounds like a plan.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply