Gears of war 2 disc unreadable error - can anyone help?

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • Deleted user 20 November 2008 02:25:16
    I bought Gears of War 2 two weeks ago from Zavvi.co.uk. I also bought a new 360 console from amazon just last week. For the first few days I only played the campaign mode of gears 2 and everything was fine. On the 11th of November I started playing Multiplayer. Since then, I have been plagued with constant disc unreadable errors when playing online. For a while I would be able to play for about an hour before getting the disc unreadable error. Now I get it as soon as the map loads at the start of a match. It also happens in campaign. It has made the game unplayable for me.

I did a google search for 'gears of war 2 disc unreadable' and no one seems to know if it's a console issue or a faulty disc. Some of the comments said it usually means the console is about to fail when you get disc read errors. I do not believe it's the console however because it's brand new with a manufacturing date of 08-12-2008. Also I have tried other games and they are working fine (tried Gears 1 and Crackdown)

I have tried clearing the cache and wiping the disc but that just seems to have made the problem worse.
    I've just got no idea what to do. Brand new game, brand new console yet I am unable to play. Should I send the disc back to Zavvi? I could not finding anything in their t&c's about faulty goods. What if it's not the disc?

I had this problem with the original Gears of War. I was able to sort it by using microsoft's disc replacement program. Not an option this time unfortunately because Gears 2 isn't on the list of games covered by that program.
    http://support.xbox.com/support/en/us/xbox360/gamesandmedia/games/discreplacement/DiscReplacement.aspx