Dino PC

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • delicateknifefight 5 Nov 2008 23:01:20 288 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    In a bit of rush, going to order this PC from Dino PC but with a 9800GT.

    Need to know 3 things:

    1. It's 400 for a ready built 2gb RAM, E7300 and 9800GT, does anyone know any better deals out there for 400?

    2. Are Dino PC reliable? I've heard them mentioned on here before, but they seem suspiciously cheap.

    3. There is a choice between 450watt and 580watt PSU, do I really need the 580watt, considering my PC is relatively low spec?


    Thanks a lot guys, any help will be appreciated. I'm aware PC threads are annoying, but I really need the help.
  • Tricky 5 Nov 2008 23:06:33 4,479 posts
    Seen 50 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    1. It's a good deal but someone is bound to come up with something they reckon is better
    2. Dino PC are fine - ordered several PCs through them for work and they've all turned up on time, in good nick and with all the documentation from the various parts that have been used to put the PC together
    3. You'll get numerous people telling you the 450 is enough but having done tech support in the past and come across issues where people had added additional components that were basically causing power issues, I always tend to go the next step up on the PSU. You'll probably be fine though if you don't muck around with the spec any further.
  • Deleted user 5 November 2008 23:06:36
    They're very good, but they use CityLink for delivery who are awful. I had MAJOR issues with delivery, and it being damaged in transit. If you're in a rush I'd seriously consider picking it up from them yourself if you can.

    PC itself is awesome though.
  • Bloodloss 5 Nov 2008 23:09:19 4,499 posts
    Seen 12 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    1. I don't. Make sure you've checked novatech, overclockers UK and awd-it though.

    2. They are reliable and friendly people I believe. However, they use the widely despised City Link to deliver things. Because of this, one member on this forum had his PC turn up in bits.

    3. 450watt will probably be fine. Does it list the brand? Look at some reviews for it, because with a PSU you really want a good, well known brand PSU.
  • delicateknifefight 5 Nov 2008 23:09:57 288 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Right, that's all I needed to know. Cheers guys. Should at least be a step up from my current 4200ti.
  • delicateknifefight 5 Nov 2008 23:11:22 288 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Bloodloss wrote:
    3. 450watt will probably be fine. Does it list the brand? Look at some reviews for it, because with a PSU you really want a good, well known brand PSU.

    Something like "KingWin.". Never heard of it myself. The 580watt is a Hiper, who I have heard of.
  • delicateknifefight 6 Nov 2008 19:53:37 288 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Ok, went for a Q6600 and a 4870 instead.

    /nurses wallet back to health
  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 09:38:06 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Received a pc from these guys yesterday and it didn't come with a plug. Is this normal when buying a stand alone tower? Just seems a bit odd to me, how do they expect me to power it, hot air?
  • Rusty_M 22 Aug 2012 09:53:39 4,869 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yes, using any installed cooling fans as impellers.

    The world is going mad. Me? I'm doing fine.
    http://www.twitch.tv/rusty_the_robot
    http://twitter.com/Rusty_The_Robot

  • neilka 22 Aug 2012 10:49:41 16,471 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It gets its energy by feeding on smaller herbivorous Dino PCs.

    BAAANG!!!!! EXPLOTION!!!!!

  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 10:52:49 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Ah I see that clears that up then...

    I'll be sure to ask here if I need any more guidance
  • Rusty_M 22 Aug 2012 11:06:40 4,869 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You should be able to get a standard lead really easily. I don't know if dino PC supply them as standard. Perhaps asking their customer support would be your best bet if nobody here knows.

    The world is going mad. Me? I'm doing fine.
    http://www.twitch.tv/rusty_the_robot
    http://twitter.com/Rusty_The_Robot

  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 11:16:11 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @Rusty_M

    I just wanted to ask here before having a rant at them really. Just called them, very apologetic and will send one straight away, so all's well that ends well. Thanks anyway.
  • mrpon 22 Aug 2012 11:20:05 29,436 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    The lead is in the bigger first box, not the second smaller box the PC is in.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • sport 22 Aug 2012 11:23:21 12,798 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    mrpon wrote:
    The lead is in the bigger first box, not the second smaller box the PC is in.
    2 boxes left. The lead is in one box. Do you keep your current box, or swap?

    GO!
  • heyyo 22 Aug 2012 11:27:30 14,371 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    NO DEAL
  • sport 22 Aug 2012 11:34:41 12,798 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    /phone rings
  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 11:43:01 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    mrpon wrote:
    The lead is in the bigger first box, not the second smaller box the PC is in.
    Not in mine unfortunately. Checked and double checked. Was a bit gutted because after the 2 week wait I was dying to try it out too!
  • mrpon 22 Aug 2012 11:46:04 29,436 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    What man doesn't have a drawer dedicated to cables and shit?!

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • sport 22 Aug 2012 11:46:12 12,798 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    waggy79 wrote:
    mrpon wrote:
    The lead is in the bigger first box, not the second smaller box the PC is in.
    Not in mine unfortunately. Checked and double checked. Was a bit gutted because after the 2 week wait I was dying to try it out too!
    Could be the Tesla Edition.
  • neilka 22 Aug 2012 11:52:29 16,471 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    mrpon wrote:
    What man doesn't have a drawer dedicated to cables and shit?!
    Mine is just dedicated to cables, but each to his own.

    BAAANG!!!!! EXPLOTION!!!!!

  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 11:59:59 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Of course, (mainly full of 360 pads, charge cables and headsets) but I'm new to pc gaming so don't have a spare.
  • mrpon 22 Aug 2012 12:01:51 29,436 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    The cables are normally pushed to back.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 12:03:28 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    tasty
  • spamdangled 22 Aug 2012 12:31:36 27,427 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I used them for my PC last year and they were excellent - I got the machine within 3 days of placing the order, they were great when I called them with an amendment to my order, and the build quality of the final PC couldn't be faulted.

    On the other hand, I've used overclockers in the past and found them to be awful, shipping me refurbished parts and trying to pass them off as new, or returning faulty parts I'd returned to them and trying to convince me they were replacements.

    3DS: 4055-2781-2855 Xbox: spamdangled PSN: dark_morgan Wii U: Spamdangle Steam: spamdangled

  • waggy79 22 Aug 2012 15:09:33 1,074 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    GamesWizzard wrote:
    waggy79 wrote:
    Of course, (mainly full of 360 pads, charge cables and headsets) but I'm new to pc gaming so don't have a spare.
    It's the same kind of cable and plug you would use to a power a kettle so you might have one lying about (also get similar for laptop power sources etc...)
    ah good to know i'll have a dig about tonight cheers
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply