Upgrading PS3 HDD Page 2

  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

  • Rowlsten 14 Oct 2008 10:43:01 674 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Make sure your hard drive is Fat32 then plug it in. Under the menu where all the system options are there's a section with backup (and restore) in it. It's pretty straightforward from there.
  • X201 14 Oct 2008 10:47:02 15,158 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    JustMarioBros wrote:
    Exactly how do I back up all the data? I have a SimpleTech external HDD, do i plug it in via USB and save it there?

    The external HDD will need to be formatted for FAT32

    Windows XP is a bit of a sod and will only let you format small FAT32 partitions (despite going throught the motions and fooling you into thinking that its formatting the whole drive)

    Use an app called SwissKnife to format your external drive, then just plug the drive into the PS3 and go to the backup option in the PS3 menu.

    Then put the kettle on.
  • uk_judgement 14 Oct 2008 12:35:57 86 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    In all these threads, there is always a question that someone asks about invalidating the warranty etc. if you do this. Then a reply usually follows saying that its fine as Sony even tell you how to do this in a manual or user guide.

    Can anyone actually give a link to this guide as i cant seem to find it.
    I know there are lots of other guides out there but i am just interested to see what the "official" one says.
  • X201 14 Oct 2008 12:51:00 15,158 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    uk_judgement wrote:

    Can anyone actually give a link to this guide as i cant seem to find it.
    I know there are lots of other guides out there but i am just interested to see what the "official" one says.

    PDF here

    Page 14

  • uk_judgement 14 Oct 2008 13:41:51 86 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    X201 wrote:
    uk_judgement wrote:

    Can anyone actually give a link to this guide as i cant seem to find it.
    I know there are lots of other guides out there but i am just interested to see what the "official" one says.

    PDF here

    Page 14


    Ah, the saftey and support manual - never read that until now!!
  • billythekid 14 Oct 2008 13:49:45 11,035 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The only bit you could possibly cock up is undoing the four screws to remove the hdd from the caddy. You can only cock this up by using a shit or non fitting screwdriver.
  • X201 14 Oct 2008 14:07:23 15,158 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    billythekid wrote:
    The only bit you could possibly cock up is undoing the four screws to remove the hdd from the caddy. You can only cock this up by using a shit or non fitting screwdriver.

    ^^ What he said +1

    The screws are unbelievably tight. Be careful and build up the pressure on the screw slowly. I got mine to the point where it felt like the driver was going to jump and strip the screw head and just held there until the screw broke free.
  • redlander 14 Oct 2008 14:21:36 1,039 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I fucked the threads on the caddy screws and am now waiting for Sony to send me a new one, takes about 28 days but they are free. Got a 320 gig waiting to put in.

    :D
  • uk_judgement 14 Oct 2008 14:33:53 86 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    redlander wrote:
    I fucked the threads on the caddy screws....

    :D

    What about the blue one, was that easy enough?
  • billythekid 14 Oct 2008 14:36:58 11,035 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Blue one is easy, the others are just a bit tight. Just make sure the screwdriver is a good fit and you'll not have a problem. Unless your the bloke from Mr Muscle adverts.
  • [FASHIZZY] 14 Oct 2008 15:50:31 28 posts
    Registered 6 years ago
    i need to upgrada mine soon as possible as im runin out of space
  • chasejamie 14 Oct 2008 18:34:57 813 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I stripped the blue screw on mine something rotten, the screws are also very soft. A trip to B & Q and a pair of needle nose pliers later, all is fine. If your not careful even the right size screwdriver can muck it up. I've heard that the 60 gig PS3's screws are really tight. The blue screw on mine was a nightmare before I used the pliers to loosen it.
  • Aretak 14 Oct 2008 18:43:02 10,346 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Mine is a launch model 60GB and the screws actually came out very easily. I was expecting a tough task based on what I'd read, but they all came out without issue. Lucky for me I guess.
  • Flying_Pig 14 Oct 2008 22:26:50 10,733 posts
    Seen 55 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    As mentioned above - the key is to have a correctly sized screwdriver and then slowly increase the pressure until the screw snaps loose...

    That's what I did anyway :)
  • superjag86 16 Oct 2008 18:57:27 227 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Mine was a bitch to replace because of the screws (60GB launch model) - but customer support sent me a replacement caddy and screws today and I now have a 320GB PS3!
  • HiddenAway 16 Oct 2008 19:13:42 14,859 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I suppose one question from me is, if I do manage to get a 60GB PS3, how much will a new disk cost?

    On Twitter: @HiddenAway1

  • bad09 16 Oct 2008 19:16:57 5,650 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    My PS3 is backed up and just waiting for my lovely 320gb to arrive tomorrow (hopefully!).
  • superjag86 16 Oct 2008 19:54:53 227 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @HiddenAway: 50-60 for a 320GB HDD
    @bad09: nice one - but beaware it takes about as long to restore a backup as it does to create one. It was an hour and a half for me! Oh and good luck with the screws! :)
  • PanStre 16 Oct 2008 20:01:18 425 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Best thing to do is tell Sony you've stripped the screws before you even do anything. Get them to send you out a new drive caddy and screws and just use those. It's what I wish I'd done.

    Fuck 'em if they want to use cheap screws.
  • bad09 16 Oct 2008 20:04:42 5,650 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    superjag86 wrote:
    @bad09: nice one - but beaware it takes about as long to restore a backup as it does to create one. It was an hour and a half for me! Oh and good luck with the screws! :)

    Yeah, mine took 1hr 20, but that's not bad for 37gb of data!

    You guys have scared me with the screws! I should be OK though, if I can build a PC and replace a PSP screen I must be able to replace a PS3 drive OK.

    I just can't wait to fill it with my Star Trek and South Park, oh and Bunout will fit \o/
  • superjag86 16 Oct 2008 22:01:39 227 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    PanStre wrote:
    Best thing to do is tell Sony you've stripped the screws before you even do anything. Get them to send you out a new drive caddy and screws and just use those. It's what I wish I'd done.

    Fuck 'em if they want to use cheap screws.

    BEST.ADVICE.EVER!
  • bad09 17 Oct 2008 20:51:37 5,650 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    \o/

    No probs, Screws WERE a little fiddly but went smooth. Got scared tho because it wouldn't start when I turned it on :(

    A USB key with 2.50 on later and BANG a multimedia wet dream!

    / loads Enterprise, Voyager, South Park, music and photo album :)

    (burnout in a few days to!)
  • elephant_stone 23 Oct 2008 01:16:17 15 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    yeah I have a launch 60GB model and the screws were crazy tight...so pleased I got it all done before I got PlayTV :D
  • RR2407 23 Oct 2008 12:38:13 25 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hi Guys

    I have a 320GB hard drive ready to go for my PS3 but i am wondering about the back up process.

    What size of memory stick / external HDD will i require when doing the backup.

    Is it a straight like for like restore ie if i have 30GB on the PS3 HDD will i require this amount of free space or does it compress the back up down?

    Many Thanks
  • Rowlsten 23 Oct 2008 12:57:06 674 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I used an 8GB stick, but didn't have much on my hard drive, hardly used it at the time.

    Think it possibly does compress coz its all gets bundled into one file. However, I could just be making this up.
  • rare_uk 23 Oct 2008 13:02:03 3,562 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @Rowlson no it doesn't get bundled into one file

    I had a 250GB external HDD, and the PS3 backed up 16GB and then a bit more. I think most of that was demo's. so I suppose if you delete your demo's it could possibly knock the size down drastically.

    I also found when I restored my save Games didn't come back and it would seem that you have to back them up manually via the PS3 Menu
  • Rowlsten 23 Oct 2008 13:15:45 674 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Oh... fair enough then.
  • oreillymj 23 Oct 2008 16:17:10 48 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Anyone who has changed their HDD found that the PS3 occasionally doesn't find it?

    Requires 2-3 reboots before the drive spins up fast enough to boot.

    I have a Western Digital Scorpio 320Gb.
  • X201 23 Oct 2008 16:20:36 15,158 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    oreillymj wrote:
    Anyone who has changed their HDD found that the PS3 occasionally doesn't find it?

    Requires 2-3 reboots before the drive spins up fast enough to boot.

    I have a Western Digital Scorpio 320Gb.

    Er... I don't mean to worry you but... No.
  • rare_uk 23 Oct 2008 16:26:17 3,562 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    X201 wrote:
    oreillymj wrote:
    Anyone who has changed their HDD found that the PS3 occasionally doesn't find it?

    Requires 2-3 reboots before the drive spins up fast enough to boot.

    I have a Western Digital Scorpio 320Gb.

    Er... I don't mean to worry you but... No.
    No way!!! That happened to me.
  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

Log in or register to reply