Upgrading PS3 HDD Page 8

  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

  • dominalien 12 Dec 2012 21:53:29 6,860 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You need a USB Y-cable, so you either plug two USB plugs into two USB ports in the computer/PS3/whatever, or you can plug them into two different devices, like the data cable into the device you want to attach the drive to, and the power-only cable to e.g. a USB wall charger.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • X201 12 Dec 2012 22:00:49 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    TetsuZaemon wrote:
    Powered it from a different device? So, what kind of gadget am I looking for? Some kind of USB wall socket?
    I powered it from the PS3, while the data cable was in the PC
  • Rose-of-Sorrow 29 Mar 2013 14:04:33 501 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Does anyone know if this HDD would be compatible with the chunky 80GB model PS3?
  • Aretak 29 Mar 2013 14:10:18 10,354 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Yeah, that'd be fine.

    /edit/ Although you could get the 500GB model for the same price at Amazon.

    Edited by Aretak at 14:11:59 29-03-2013
  • Rose-of-Sorrow 29 Mar 2013 14:11:13 501 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Aretak wrote:
    Yeah, that'd be fine.
    Much appreciated :-]
  • Triggerhappytel 29 Mar 2013 15:25:43 2,695 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yes, that would work fine, but I got one double that size for 46 from Play.com a couple of years back. Unless there's a particular reason you're using Currys, ie vouchers or the like?
  • Rose-of-Sorrow 29 Mar 2013 18:46:17 501 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Cheers guys, much appreciate the advice! I know I could have gotten a 500gb got the same price, but my original HDD basically corrupted today so I wanted to fix it. I managed to get a HDD from PC World today, rather than ordering online and having to wait until Wednesday at the earliest- plus 320 is plenty big enough for me :-]
  • dominalien 29 Mar 2013 19:25:09 6,860 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You don't fix a corrupted PS3 HDD by replacing it; you fix it by restarting the console and letting it repair it. :-)

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Rose-of-Sorrow 29 Mar 2013 20:13:40 501 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @dominalien Yeah I did that, went through all the motions. Games couldn't save or load data from the HDD, and when I tried to access all my saved data through the xmb it was taking ages to load it and was really iffy- that and my console kept freezing whilst playing Bioshock Infinite, as well as trophies not unlocking.

    Perhaps re-formatting my HDD may have worked, didn't really think to do that.

    Changed it over now and it seems to work just fine, and I suppose I now have much more storage :-)
  • Triggerhappytel 29 Mar 2013 20:58:00 2,695 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I think I have about 60GBs free from my 640 total. I've bought loads of games digitally in the last 12 months, and PS+ is kicking the shit out of my storage. I really need to go through and have a proper clear out one of these days
  • X201 29 Mar 2013 20:59:59 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Had a clear out last night. 60GB deleted, all sorts of stuff dating back years.
  • dominalien 29 Mar 2013 22:06:31 6,860 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @Rose-of-Sorrow

    Yeah, a format may have helped, but then again perhaps the drive was just on its way out mechanically. If you have a PC you can hook it up to, SMART can tell you whether it's a mechanical failure or not. If it's OK hardware-wise, at least you should be able to sell it.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • kentmonkey 28 Jun 2013 20:41:01 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Quick question...how do you format a FAT 32 drive in Windows 7?

    I want to upgrade my PS3 but need to make a back-up of my PS3 saves first. Or does the externall HDD I'll be backing up to not have to be Fat 32 formatted for that purpose (I know the replacement drive does, but not sure about the drive I'm backing up to).

    It's a 250gb by the way.
  • X201 28 Jun 2013 20:55:04 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Yep the external needs FAT32
  • X201 28 Jun 2013 20:56:39 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    How big is the current PS3 drive? As the amount you back up won't be more than that.


    Remember to sync your trophies before you start.

    Edited by X201 at 20:57:22 28-06-2013
  • kentmonkey 29 Jun 2013 18:05:35 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @X201 It's the 60gb, although I think there's 42gb on it.

    Any suggestions for formatting a external HDD as FAT 32 in Win 7? (I assume I just format it back to non-FAT 32 after I've used it).

    Another thought...I couldn't put the new drive in could I, let the PS3 format it, take it out and put it in an external hdd caddie, put the old drive back in the PS3, do a back up to the external hdd, and then put that drive back in the PS3?
  • X201 29 Jun 2013 18:58:09 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @kentmonkey

    I think this is what I used last time.
    http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?guiformat.htm

    Yep, you can reformat the drive afterwards.

    You can't format the drive in the PS3, as the PS3 doesn't use FAT 32, it uses its own bespoke file system.
  • X201 29 Jun 2013 19:00:21 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @kentmonkey

    And to download it, you don't click the download buttons, they're adverts.

    Click the actual picture of the program
  • Deleted user 29 June 2013 19:29:06
    @kentmonkey

    Download a linux(Fedoraproject.org) live image and burn to a DVD. Then boot the live linux image to use the linux GUI disk utility to format the 250gb drive as a massive FAT32 partition. Short of using 3rd party tools I'm not sure you can use create a FAT32 partition bigger than about 25-30GB in windows. even from the Windows cmd prompt you will be forced to use extFat or NTFS for big partitions. Windows can mount and use big FAT32 partitions created in linux mind.
  • Short-Round 29 Jun 2013 19:41:12 1,181 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I've used the program X201 linked in the past, worked a treat to format a 2TB external drive to fat32.
  • Deleted user 29 June 2013 19:49:28
    @Short-Round

    Did the PS3 find it when you connected it to do a backup? If so, then I suspect the tool X201 linked is more than just a Gui, and provides its own 3rd party disk tools, or at least has functionality to change the partition type after Windows has created a exFat partition.
  • Short-Round 29 Jun 2013 20:17:08 1,181 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Dunno, I just formatted the whole 2TB drive to FAT32 (took a few seconds with that tool, and no fat32 partition/size limits) so I could use it as an external drive for media with the PS3/360. Never backed up any PS3 data to it though.
  • X201 29 Jun 2013 20:20:44 15,476 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Its only called guiformat because its the gui version of a program that was originally command line only.
  • D_arkTrooper 29 Jun 2013 20:46:29 1,317 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Or just Google EaseUS Partition Master?

    Its easy enough to find and use. Used it myself last week when soft modding a Wii.

    Edited by D_arkTrooper at 20:47:26 29-06-2013

    3DS Friend Code : 5000-2484-1471

    Animal Crossing alter ego: Andy from Stoke

  • kentmonkey 30 Jun 2013 15:50:46 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Oh I fucking give up with this.

    Took two attempts to back the data up from my PS3 hdd to the FAT 32 hdd. Second attempt worked fine.

    Now, I've put the new drive in, PS3 formats it. I've got the latest firmware on a USB stick but don't seem to have to use it as when I check system settings and system information the latest firmware is there. I have an old Phat 60gb version of the PS3.

    So I reconnect the back up hdd, inititate recovery...dies. 33%. 42%. 67%. 47%. 41%. Every. Fucking. Time.

    Cunting. Fucking. Shit.
  • kentmonkey 30 Jun 2013 16:04:03 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    The cunting thing just got up to 99%. Fuck it.

    Took 6 hours to back up 42gb, it's apparently taking 5-6 minutes to restore it, and it's fucking failing.

    Googled it and loads of people have encountered the same issues, with no way around it it seems. What a fucking useless way of dealing with system back ups.

    So I'm stuck with the 60gb, assuming that still works when I put it back in.

    Cunts.
  • kentmonkey 30 Jun 2013 16:20:31 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Fucking hell. 100% 'completed' then said it failed, then said it needed to rebuild the database on my PS3...and all it's copied across are my save games, music and pictures. No actual game installs or downloaded games at all.

    What was the fucking point in all of that.
  • Deleted user 30 June 2013 19:41:05
    @kentmonkey

    Try plugging the backup back into the PC and copy the 42GB backup to another partition (on a fault tolerant file system like ntfs).

    Then run chkdsk to do a physical scan of the FAT32 drive to let it mark and repair bad sectors. On completion try reconnect the backup to the PS3 and try another restore. If that still fails. Reformat the backup drive and copy the 42GB copy of the backup on the NTFS partition back on the newly formatted FAT32 partition and reattempt a restore to the ps3.
  • Bremenacht 30 Jun 2013 20:47:43 18,275 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Make sure it's a fault-tolerant file system. Most important that.
  • kentmonkey 1 Jul 2013 21:10:49 20,686 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I gave up. Before I hurt something.
  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

Log in or register to reply