Learning Japanese I think I'm learning Japanese I really think so

• Page

of 51 First / Last

Previous
  • ProfessorLesser 20 Jul 2008 13:39:30 19,352 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Along with money, this was my chief obstacle to reaching Japan this summer, so instead I'm going to spend the summer, or what's left of it, learning as much as I can to better my chances for next year. Great.

So, any tips on where to begin? I'm starting with reading and writing the hiragana and katakana, then planning to move onto vocabulary and basic grammar. Any good websites or books to help me do this? I have a couple of books already, but they seem to concentrate on speaking and listening.

I've already written out the kana on flashcards, but I've never used flashcards before, so I don't really know what to do with them now except sit and stare at them. I haven't included the dakuten or handakuten because I thought that would muddle things, although they don't seem as complicated as I first thought.

I need to get cracking, so any help much appreciated :-)
  • THFourteen 20 Jul 2008 13:41:18 32,905 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    take an evening class?
  • siro 20 Jul 2008 13:45:54 1,826 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I'm quite able in Japanese, but don't know what's dakuten. I think you should leave them away (of course I checked in a dictionary, now). Seems like a sound plan, you've got there.

Speaking and Listening would be the best / motivating way to get a basic grasp of the language, that's prolly why most (modern) books start off with that.
  • Dirtbox 20 Jul 2008 13:52:30 77,484 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago