Virgin Media issues Page 18

  • Page

    of 21 First / Last

  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 18:56:38 4,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Post deleted
  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 18:57:40 4,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    wizardofoz85 wrote:
    @B0rked_Gamer I had my first instance of throttling yesterday. The only thing i could think it could be was watching a series on super HD on Netflix.
    It dropped down so much that I could barely load simple websites and youtube wouldn't stream at all.

    I''m meant to be on 100mb of which when I speed test I got 45-50 wirelessly on a different floor to the superhub and about 70-80 when I'm right next to it.
    The strange thing is I was getting 19-20 consistently with Sky and that seemed to load websites quicker but I have noticed downloads are faster now.

    I'm tempted to get a new router and seeing if that improves things or not but I'm not sure if I want to drop a load of money on that too now.


    Yeah the throttled speed is a fucking joke. As I said previously it gets so slow viewing streaming sites like YT becomes impossible.
  • wizardofoz85 29 Dec 2013 19:00:31 314 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    The problem for me was that even bog standard browsing was pretty much impossible. It would have been quicker for me to tether my phone to my laptop which is pretty bad. Throttling their top package shouldn't have been that bad from the %'s people throw about.
  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 19:05:12 4,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Going from my usual 62mbit to 1.25mbit is just nuts and makes downloading larger games from Steam a futile endeavour. Going digital download only with a PS4 using Virgin Media would be utterly pointless.

    I trying hate this fucking ISP.
  • wizardofoz85 29 Dec 2013 19:10:09 314 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I refuse to go digital until prices are more reasonable so I don't mind that aspect too much. I can live with watching my streaming for the time being.
  • poobob 29 Dec 2013 19:13:20 75 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    I just don't seem to get throttled, and I download 10s of gigs a day most days, at peak times. I feel bad for you son.
  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 19:16:29 4,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The throttling seemed to start when I got assigned a different IP address.
  • poobob 29 Dec 2013 19:20:25 75 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Ah.

    I've had a static IP for years, can't see how that would make a difference though, we're all abiding by the same rules, right?

    Maybe it's because I had massive trouble with my connection about 5 years ago and could only get it resolved by contacting the CEO's office. Perhaps they flicked a switch that gives me free reign or something.
  • graysonavich 14 Jan 2014 19:44:06 7,733 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Youtube is definitely being capped on my "we'll never cap anything!" 100Mb line. It's the only website (that I know of) that is completely unusable between 6-9pm every evening.

    How is this legal again?
  • Dougs 14 Jan 2014 20:34:16 72,558 posts
    Seen 45 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Because they tell you (or should) what traffic management policies they have in place and if you don't like it, you can go elsewhere. That's the theory anyway.

    Check out the KFIs on their site....
  • monkehhh 14 Jan 2014 20:46:06 3,893 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Virgin run caches so you're not directly hitting YouTube, they are often shit and slow.
  • kadooosh 17 Jan 2014 14:28:12 1,952 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I've just ordered from them (today) and just found this thread.. I'm on sky atm with a consistent speed of 12 to 17 meg, no throttling, caps etc. Am I doing a silly thing by ordering this? I really don't want to be capped every night and to have a slower speed..

    Edit, just read the traffic management page and the throttling is only supposed to be 10-16%..

    Edited by kadooosh at 14:29:07 17-01-2014
  • b0rk 17 Jan 2014 14:36:23 4,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    10-16% my arse.
  • BigOrkWaaagh 17 Jan 2014 14:50:25 2,825 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I used to get throttled on my 20Mb package and it was still perfectly usable. I think I got knocked down to about 7Mb or something. I've been on 60Mb for a couple of years now and I've not been throttled since, and I download loads from Steam.
  • Deleted user 17 January 2014 14:54:09
    The traffic management is either a royal pain or not even noticeable. Depends on your personal usage and the package your on, higher packages are effected less I belive.

    Personally iam on 60mb and don't tend to have a problem, although I do get letters telling me to cut down. Which I tend to ignore, as I download a 100Gb from Steam.

    When I get drop offs It's hard to tell if the slow download is due to Virgin or the other end. Either way Netflix and the like is always ok.
  • kadooosh 17 Jan 2014 14:54:10 1,952 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @B0rked_Gamer I read your posts, have you called them to find out why it's so low?
  • nickthegun 17 Jan 2014 14:56:21 64,246 posts
    Seen 28 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    The only traffic shaping I see is on torrents. I dont notice any throttling really, even after down loading a 15gb game from steam or something.
  • kadooosh 17 Jan 2014 15:03:41 1,952 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Seems like hit and miss as to whether you'll get issues..  I'm umming and ahing as to whether to carry on with it or keep sky..
  • Whizzo 28 Feb 2014 15:44:44 43,949 posts
    Seen 57 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Traffic management rules have changed, there's no download speed drops at all only potential upload ones.

    Guess I will be able to use the upgrade to my connection without worrying too much when it happens at some point in March.

    BT/NNTP traffic still "slowed" during peak hours if you're silly enough to be using default ports.

    Edited by Whizzo at 15:46:26 28-02-2014
  • JiveHound 28 Feb 2014 16:07:50 3,735 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    That's a massive relief. Has this got anything to do with my media hub showing three green lights?
  • Whizzo 26 Mar 2014 15:10:11 43,949 posts
    Seen 57 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    My area was supposed to be upgraded this month and after doing my daily test to see if it has, it has!

    My 60 meg connection is now 100ish, nice.
  • Trowel 28 Mar 2014 21:07:01 18,826 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Got my email today to opt in for the free 60MB > 100MB upgrade, nice surprise, worth looking out for.
  • X201 28 Mar 2014 22:15:19 16,580 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The speed upgrade for my area has slipped yet again.
    It's now November 2014 - April 2015 :-(
  • monkehhh 28 Mar 2014 22:38:18 3,893 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    My "supercharge" from 120 to 152meg has slipped from June 2014 to "July to September". Unfortunately I'm moving in June and cancelling - moving in to my girlfriend's with a shitty city centre exchange that gets around 12meg through Sky and has no Virgin availability. Boo.
  • CompetitiveDad 24 Apr 2014 21:15:24 3,962 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Has anyone upgraded from superhub 1 to superhub 2? I'm finding the range pretty crap on the one I have and was wondering if it was worth the upgrade.
  • nickthegun 24 Apr 2014 21:19:46 64,246 posts
    Seen 28 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I have a superhub 2 and its range is probably just as shit as its predecessor.

    You are much better off sticking it in modem mode and getting something like this:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WDR3600-Wireless-Gigabit-300Mbps/dp/B008QBAXI4/
  • CompetitiveDad 24 Apr 2014 21:42:36 3,962 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    nickthegun wrote:
    I have a superhub 2 and its range is probably just as shit as its predecessor.

    You are much better off sticking it in modem mode and getting something like this:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WDR3600-Wireless-Gigabit-300Mbps/dp/B008QBAXI4/
    Cheers Nick, when my neighbours wifi has a better signal strength in my house than my superhub I think you're correct!

    Edited by CompetitiveDad at 21:43:05 24-04-2014
  • AceGrace 25 Apr 2014 11:44:14 1,814 posts
    Seen 33 seconds ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I've got this one and it works far better than the superhub.

    TP-Link TL-WR841N 300Mbps Wireless N Cable Router
  • Furtive_Pygmy 6 May 2014 20:53:24 2,349 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    Ok, this is driving me mad and it's a bit weird.

    I've been with Virgin for about 15 years and never had this before.

    Basically, I have my superhub in the bedroom and my main PC is wired up to it. I have a PS4 and smart TV wired to it in the same room and have other various devices connected wirelessly - phone/laptop.

    Now, the problem which started a few weeks back is if I turn the 'main' PC off, a few minutes later the superhub stops working, in that none of the other devices connected to it are able to attain an internet connection.

    My phone will say it's connected to the superhub but doesn't actually connect to the internet, PS4 can't log in, etc etc.

    The superhub lights are clearly not right, top light goes green, middle light is not on at all (which is the main problem) and the bottom light flashes green.

    Virgin guy came and said it was weird but just brought a new superhub round and put that in without really looking at any other possibilities. This actually did fix the issue for about 6 days but now the problem has started happening again.

    When I turn the PC off, nothing works, turn it back on, it all sorts itself out and I'm back up and running again on all my devices.

    Why on earth should the superhub cease to function properly just because I have turned my PC off?!

    Edited by Furtive_Pygmy at 20:59:37 06-05-2014
  • Fake_Blood 6 May 2014 21:03:54 5,056 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Pull out the kettle lead from the pc when it's off. See if that helps.
  • Page

    of 21 First / Last

Log in or register to reply