Virgin Media issues Page 17

  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

  • Jeepers 31 Jul 2013 22:23:04 13,224 posts
    Seen 16 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Any solutions for it? I've tried restarting the thing but its still fucked.

    The sooner a proper company offer a hassle-free tv service, the less likely I am to stab someone in the face.
  • RichieTenenbaum 13 Aug 2013 14:21:21 2,226 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    hey,
    I've just got one of those fancy superhubs, and the connection is great. Quick and lovely via wi fi.
    HOWEVER
    My xbox doesn't seem to recognise the router at all. I've plugged it in via ethernet but the xbox doesn't seem to see it. I've tried a number of different cables but nothing. I've gone into my 360 preferences, but all it does it come up with two options, wireless and wired. Wired just tells me to plug in a cable, which I've already done.

    Hmmmm.

    Anyone else have this problem?
  • nickthegun 13 Aug 2013 14:25:33 60,965 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    No

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller

  • onestepfromlost 13 Aug 2013 21:41:57 2,107 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    sounds more like a fucked cable to be honest or your 360 port is buggered. try different ports on the router, a different cable. if neither of those work it could be the Ethernet port on the xbox
  • Nexus_6 13 Aug 2013 21:45:54 3,893 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I had similar where my iPhone didnt recognise the hub at first - scan it a few times and try switching the method of connection, if possible,
  • Trowel 15 Aug 2013 13:56:00 18,016 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    BT Sport finally confirmed on Virgin, and free on XL :)
  • Tom_Servo 15 Aug 2013 13:56:36 18,077 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Awesome. When does it start?
  • Trowel 15 Aug 2013 14:02:40 18,016 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    From today according to the press release - anyone near their TV to confirm?
  • Tom_Servo 15 Aug 2013 14:07:26 18,077 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Watching now, it's there.
  • MadCaddy13 26 Aug 2013 01:57:55 2,032 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Omfg just found out by chance - ESPN is back on!! And I'm over a week too late!!!
  • CaptainKerbal 26 Aug 2013 08:54:04 399 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    ESPN came back same day as BT Sports added.
  • THFourteen 26 Sep 2013 14:16:33 34,180 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Does anyone use the new super hub they released a couple of months ago with the dual band?

    Is it better than the previous model?
  • nickthegun 26 Sep 2013 14:19:10 60,965 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    They would have to be going some for it to be worse.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller

  • Raiko101 24 Oct 2013 18:59:16 6,565 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Ok, so the Superhub has been playing up today. Although the wireless light has been on constantly, all day, i'm having trouble connecting devices to it. It comes and goes whenever it feels like. It doesn't matter which device i'm using, be it laptop, phone or game console, the thing seems to have a mind of its own. If I connect devices via ethernet, all is fine, but as I say, the wireless is on and off.

    On top of that, i've since noticed a second network has appeared in my list of available networks. It has an identical network name, but is unsecured. It might be nothing, but i'm slightly paranoid about that.

    Any ideas? I've check network availability in my area and all seems to be fine on that front.

    Edit - Chrome is quite often failing to load pages, stating that "a change in network has occured".

    Edited by Raiko101 at 19:13:51 24-10-2013

    3DS: 4210 4002 8289 (Dave)
    Wii U: Raiko87 (Dave)
    Xbox Live: Raiko87

  • b0rk 9 Dec 2013 18:44:49 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I like how my download speed gets capped to around 1.5Mbps if I do so much as download a game from Steam. That's fucking great. That is.

    Fuck you, Virgin Media.
  • MadCaddy13 9 Dec 2013 19:10:51 2,032 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yeh, what's more is they are bumping their fuckin prices up 5.75!
    Well for premiere collection customers.
    They have you by the balls I tells ya!
  • b0rk 9 Dec 2013 19:13:10 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    What is the premier collection.
  • b0rk 9 Dec 2013 19:21:50 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Well that's my hour on the naughty step over.

    Wankers.
  • b0rk 21 Dec 2013 14:17:44 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    My connection is getting throttled after I download around 4GB (from 60mbit to around 1.25mbit) and the throttled speed is too slow to view youtube.

    unfuckingreal

    This makes downloading a lot of games from Steam impossible until after midnight. Throttling is one thing but 1 fucking megabit is taking the piss. :mad:
  • MikeP 21 Dec 2013 21:34:10 2,027 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @B0rked_Gamer What package do you have? If you're on the 60 meg package the maximum speed reduction you should face is a drop of 16%.

    http://my.virginmedia.com/traffic-management/traffic-management-policy-thresholds.html

    PSN ID: Mikenetic

  • sherpa1984 21 Dec 2013 22:13:47 287 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    B0rked_Gamer wrote:
    My connection is getting throttled after I download around 4GB (from 60mbit to around 1.25mbit) and the throttled speed is too slow to view youtube.

    unfuckingreal

    This makes downloading a lot of games from Steam impossible until after midnight. Throttling is one thing but 1 fucking megabit is taking the piss. :mad:
    That's weird, my connection drops from 3.5Mb/s to 2Mb/s after I hit the cap.
  • Whizzo 21 Dec 2013 22:23:40 43,268 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    The throttling is so small these days I don't even notice it.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 18:09:37 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I'm getting throttled for seemingly no reason at all now. I haven't downloaded anything today but at peak hours my connection goes from 62mbit to around 5mbit.

    /reggieshrug
  • warlockuk 29 Dec 2013 18:12:52 19,209 posts
    Seen 14 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    5 days until my 120mb package is installed. \o/

    I'm a grumpy bastard.

  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 18:19:27 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I punched the modem and I'm back up to 62mbit now. Ha.
  • CharlieStCloud 29 Dec 2013 18:25:42 5,350 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @B0rked_Gamer

    If in doubt, punch it.

    : )

    ... apart from animals and human beings.
  • b0rk 29 Dec 2013 18:29:18 2,942 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
  • wizardofoz85 29 Dec 2013 18:53:24 314 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @B0rked_Gamer I had my first instance of throttling yesterday. The only thing i could think it could be was watching a series on super HD on Netflix.
    It dropped down so much that I could barely load simple websites and youtube wouldn't stream at all.

    I''m meant to be on 100mb of which when I speed test I got 45-50 wirelessly on a different floor to the superhub and about 70-80 when I'm right next to it.
    The strange thing is I was getting 19-20 consistently with Sky and that seemed to load websites quicker but I have noticed downloads are faster now.

    I'm tempted to get a new router and seeing if that improves things or not but I'm not sure if I want to drop a load of money on that too now.
  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

Log in or register to reply