Learning to play the guitar...

• Page

of 29 First / Last

Previous
  • mcmonkeyplc 18 Mar 2008 11:41:03 39,414 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    After guitar hero 3 got me hooked on guitars I have decided to start learning to play the guitar.

I know its nothing like the game, so I need tips on how best to learn.

I'm a complete novice so any advice is welcome. Any fancy software or DVD I can buy to help me learn?

Come and get it cumslingers!

• jonsaan 18 Mar 2008 11:56:42 25,341 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    What do you want to play. Electric guitar, classical, folk?

FCUTA!

• FightingMongoose 18 Mar 2008 11:56:59 496 posts
    Seen 19 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm in exactly the same boat mcmonkey, i will track this thread with huge interest.
  • nickthegun 18 Mar 2008 12:02:38 59,367 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Its harder than you think its going to be and there is a 90% chance you will give up quite quickly, so dont spend a lot of money.

Ive got a fender squier thats only had 'o when the saints go marching in' on it in the last two years.

Ah....no...seriously...it depends if you want to learn how to play music or the guitar. Learning how to play music is hard. Learning the tab to sweet child of mine, not so much.

---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

• elredeyegrande 18 Mar 2008 12:03:01 2,382 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Give up. Unless you're seriously committed to it, it's a waste of money.

/glares at unused bass & amp
  • FightingMongoose 18 Mar 2008 12:06:09 496 posts
    Seen 19 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I have indeed heard of many a soul giving up rather quickly when they started to learn. Apparently it's a good idea to get a teacher, they keep you motivated as well as teach you the technique etc.
  • elredeyegrande 18 Mar 2008 12:09:16 2,382 posts