Uncharted 720p only?

  • Page

    of 3 First / Last

    Previous
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 15:19:52 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I'm sure that a) I read that the devs said it would be 1080i and I danced a merry dance and that b) the demo supported 1080i when I played it. So why is the boxed version 720p?

    Was I dreaming?
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 15:22:32 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Here it is. So why does my TV scale it down to 576p? It didn't with the demo.

    Help me Jebus.
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 15:33:28 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Well just tested it: 1080i demo, but my game box is 720p only. I unticked 576p in the video setting just for fun, and the game wouldn't run.

    Have there been different versions released? Any got Uncharted where it says 1080i on the box? Wanna swap?
  • manuel_garcia 6 Jan 2008 15:35:33 4,079 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Get a new TV already damn you :)
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 15:36:22 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Seriously, what does it say on the back of the UK box? Why would the demo run in 1080i and not the full game?
  • UncleLou Moderator 6 Jan 2008 15:38:13 35,174 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Tinkering with settings FTL. ;p
  • manuel_garcia 6 Jan 2008 15:38:58 4,079 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    morriss wrote:
    Seriously, what does it say on the back of the UK box? Why would the demo run in 1080i and not the full game?

    UK box is 720p only also.
  • Retroid Moderator 6 Jan 2008 15:39:24 44,501 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    UncleLou wrote:
    Tinkering with settings FTL. ;p
    PClol ;p
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 15:41:32 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    manuel_garcia wrote:
    morriss wrote:
    Seriously, what does it say on the back of the UK box? Why would the demo run in 1080i and not the full game?

    UK box is 720p only also.
    Wtf? They announced 1080i support, the demo indeed ran in 1080i (I've literally just tried it) but the full game is 720p only?

    I knew I made a mistake buying a fucking PS3 game, I knew it!!

    Is R&C 720p only too?
  • manuel_garcia 6 Jan 2008 15:42:49 4,079 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    morriss wrote:
    manuel_garcia wrote:
    morriss wrote:
    Seriously, what does it say on the back of the UK box? Why would the demo run in 1080i and not the full game?

    UK box is 720p only also.
    Wtf? They announced 1080i support, the demo indeed ran in 1080i (I've literally just tried it) but the full game is 720p only?

    I knew I made a mistake buying a fucking PS3 game, I knew it!!

    Is R&C 720p only too?

    Not sure on that one, I dont have a copy to hand.
  • Matty10209 6 Jan 2008 15:48:13 3 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I knew I made a mistake buying a fucking PS3 game, I knew it!!

    The first mistake was made when you bought the ps3 my friend
  • Gibroon 6 Jan 2008 15:50:42 1,313 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    R&C says 720p on the box as well.

    Have you tried turning off 720p.

    Seems a bit odd, what kind of tv do you have?
  • manuel_garcia 6 Jan 2008 15:59:46 4,079 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Gibroon wrote:
    R&C says 720p on the box as well.

    Have you tried turning off 720p.

    Seems a bit odd, what kind of tv do you have?

    He has a TV that does SD and 1080i only, which is the oddest thing in the world.
  • ecureuil 6 Jan 2008 16:03:09 76,036 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Matty10209 wrote:
    I knew I made a mistake buying a fucking PS3 game, I knew it!!

    The first mistake was made when you bought the ps3 my friend

    Bollocks.
  • GamesConnoisseur 6 Jan 2008 16:04:34 402 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    This is a damn shame for those who have problem displaying 720p, which is rare with many models nowdays thankfully.

    I would hope that Sony could better ensure that 720p and 1080i will always be the standard and 1080p when the game are able to run it.

    We know by now that not all games will be able to do 1080p same as X360, but it is important to ensure that HD options are flexible to cater to all PS3 owners.
  • Deleted user 6 January 2008 16:05:14
    Matty10209 wrote:
    I knew I made a mistake buying a fucking PS3 game, I knew it!!

    The first mistake was made when you bought the ps3 my friend

    Hilarious, another one for the pile.
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 16:12:35 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Well, Naughty Dog said 1080i support, the link above proves it. Anyone care to swtich off 720p on their XMB and try running the game for me? Just so I can rule out that it's my TV and write an email to ND asking them what's going on? If the game plays at 1080i on your sets then of course its my TV. However, games like GT:prologue and LocoRoco run at 1080i, although none of those are boxed games.

    I still find it weird that the demo and the final game run at 2 different resolutions.
  • silentbob 6 Jan 2008 16:16:50 28,919 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I'm thinking of selling my 720p PJ soon morriss. ;)

    VR News: www.roadtovr.com -- Follow us on Twitter.

  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 16:18:00 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    The coffers are empty, mate. I'd even got this missus on board for a new Sony 40D3500, but we just don't have the cash. Our building work has cleaned us out.

    Anyway, that's beside the point. Does the final game support 1080i or not?
  • Pirotic Moderator 6 Jan 2008 16:18:30 20,646 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    hmm,

    most games which list 1080i on the back don't render at 1080i, they mearly upscale 720p but because they are being lazy and upscaling to interlaced, it's not that big a performance hit.

    I'm pretty sure if you only have 1080i ticked, Uncharted upscales the 720p image to 1080i - the reason they included the feature from what I recall is that people were nagging on the forums because they had sets which didn't support 720p.

    no idea if they changed it last minute for launch :p
  • morriss 6 Jan 2008 16:19:33 70,765 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I tried it and it doesn't, Piro. It says, "Picture format unavailable" and it doesn't say 1080i on the box either.
  • Deleted user 6 January 2008 16:31:35
    It's weird because I know people have played it in 1080i. There was a post on the US PS boards where someone thought ND had made a mistake ie. 720p was listed on the box but they were playing it in 1080i. Their TV only does 1080i too.

    It's also listed here in games that support 1080i.
  • Deleted user 6 January 2008 16:36:12
    morriss wrote:
    Well, Naughty Dog said 1080i support, the link above proves it. Anyone care to swtich off 720p on their XMB and try running the game for me? Just so I can rule out that it's my TV and write an email to ND asking them what's going on? If the game plays at 1080i on your sets then of course its my TV. However, games like GT:prologue and LocoRoco run at 1080i, although none of those are boxed games.

    I only have a US NTSC copy, but I've just switched off 720p and 1080p in the XMB and the game started up in 1080i.
  • Retroid Moderator 6 Jan 2008 16:36:37 44,501 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    They wouldn't be daft enough to change it for the EU release, would they? :s
  • Deleted user 6 January 2008 16:37:48
    Retroid wrote:
    They wouldn't be daft enough to change it for the EU release, would they? :s

    SOE = Possible.
  • Deleted user 6 January 2008 16:38:55
    Also, it only says 720p on the case.
  • Retroid Moderator 6 Jan 2008 16:40:21 44,501 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    cthulhu_steev wrote:
    SOE = Possible.
    Pretty much any EU branch of any games company = possible

    >:(
  • JediMasterMalik 6 Jan 2008 16:42:07 11,826 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    cthulhu_steev wrote:
    Retroid wrote:
    They wouldn't be daft enough to change it for the EU release, would they? :s

    SOE = Possible.

    What do SOE have to do with anything?
  • gareth886 6 Jan 2008 16:43:40 2,841 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I have a UK copy and switched off 720p and it downscaled to 576p. Looks like the UK version is not 1080i compatible then. The game still looks very nice at 576p though, albeit not as nice as 720p but still a highly recommended play all the same.
  • malteaserhead 6 Jan 2008 16:46:28 13,444 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Indeed.

    I tried Uncharted (Pal) out and it doesn't support 1080i.

    R&C does.
  • Page

    of 3 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply