#9351290, By kentmonkey The all-new Premier League thread

  • kentmonkey 6 Feb 2013 20:33:31 20,882 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I don't meant to nitpick but I don't know how anyone could legitimately argue that he shouldn't have spilled it back.

    For a penalty save you have to go the way you believe it is going, and because there's no player momentum/ball bounce/ball momentum to take into account, you can't pre-judge the distance you need to dive. So you also choose a distance.

    Hart went for far corner and pushed off accordingly. The ball didn't make it, so the save was with his hands somewhere near his midrift, with his hands having to go back from an outstretched position to a tucked position. Hence why he couldn't hold it, or push it out towards the post, and why it just went backwards toward the centre of the goal.
Log in or register to reply