SingStar wireless mics next month

Voice controls to follow in Pop Edition.

The long-awaited SingStar wireless microphones will be released on 20th March across the UK, Sony has announced.

A little while later in April, SingStar Pop Edition will follow, introducing voice-controlled menus for browsing, queuing up songs and even using the shop. Dangerous.

SingStar Pop Edition will also feature songs like The Killers' "Human", Amy Winehouse's "Rehab" and Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody".

The wireless microphones have been in the making since before the release of the original SingStar PS3 68 million years ago, and Sony had to grit its teeth last year when Microsoft made it to market with the wireless Lips.

However, the platform holder reckons they will have been worth the wait, having consulted the SingStar community, 99 per cent of whom rated them as "excellent" or "very godo" according to a Sony survey.


Let's see. Saturday? Check. Jagerbombs? Check.

There's no word on how much they will cost when sold separately, or whether they will become the default bundled option for new SingStar discs, but we are told they are compatible with PS3 and PS2.

Obviously we'll be putting them through rigorous testing as soon as possible. The things we do for you, innit.

Here's the SingStar Pop Edition track listing:

  • Alphabeat - 10,000 Nights Of Thunder
  • Amy Winehouse - Rehab
  • Black Kids - I'm Not Going To Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance
  • Bon Jovi - Livin' On A Prayer
  • Chris Brown - With You
  • Chris De Burgh - Lady In Red
  • Cyndi Lauper - True Colors
  • Gloria Estefan - Rhythm Is Gonna Get You
  • Jordin Sparks feat. Chris Brown - No Air
  • Kaiser Chiefs - Never Miss A Beat
  • Kate Nash - Mouthwash
  • Kings Of Leon - Sex On Fire
  • Klaxons - Gravity's Rainbow
  • Little Jackie - The World Should Revolve Around Me
  • N*E*R*D - Sooner Or Later
  • P!nk - So What!
  • Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Robbie Williams - Angels
  • Robyn - Be Mine
  • Rockwell - Somebody's Watching Me
  • Sam Sparro - Black And Gold
  • Solange - I Decided
  • Sugababes - Girls
  • The Feeling - Rose
  • The Killers - Human
  • The Police - Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  • The Script - The Man Who Can't Be Moved
  • Will Young - Changes
  • Feat Cheryl Cole - Heartbreaker
  • Yazoo - Don't Go

Comments (9)

Comments for this article are now closed, but please feel free to continue chatting on the forum!