RuneScape "Jagex Account" email a scam
Phony website will Phish your details.
Don't believe an authentic-looking email from RuneScape warning you that "Your Jagex Account" has received an "infraction" for breaking the game rules.
It's a scam, Jagex has informed Eurogamer. "This isn't legit and is indeed a Phising site," a spokesperson told us.
Therefore, you don't need to review the evidence on a website as the email suggests. But you might consider throwing the email in the bin.
The email reads:
Dear Player,
We regret to inform you that your account has received an infraction due to a major macroing offense. Please visit the appeal section under Account Management to view evidence of your infraction(s) and to appeal any infraction(s) that you feel were unjustified.
To view the evidence please click here: https://secure.runescape.com/m=weblogin/loginform.ws?mod=offence-appeal&ssl=1&expired=1&dest=account_history.ws
Please note: Due to a recent bug in our infraction system, some accounts may have received a void infraction. The majority of void infractions have been removed but we cannot ensure that all infractions have been removed. We urge you to visit the appeal section to appeal any unjustified infractions received due to system errors.
Many thanks,
Jagex Games Studio
You may also like...
-
Dirt Showdown Review 70
-
Going Hardcore in Diablo 3 88
-
The Cave Preview: Double Fine's New Game for Sega 13
-
App of the Day: Hiragana Pixel Party 13
-
Ghost Recon: Future Soldier Review 129
-
Judge recommends US Xbox 360 ban 168
-
Fake Angry Birds developer fined £50,000 19
-
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Vita release date 42
-
Double Fine reveals Ron Gilbert project The Cave 6
-
Kingdoms of Amalur studio execs jump ship 36
-
Activision vs. Vince Zampella and Jason West: Inside the game industry trial of the decade 2
-
Sign up for new Eurogamer content digest emails 11
-
Diablo 3 Review 243
-
Dragon's Dogma Review 133
-
Screenshots of Amalur dev's Copernicus MMO leak 18
Comments (10) Latest comment 11 months ago
Comments for this article are now closed, but please feel free to continue chatting on the forum!
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
so
https://secure.runescape.com/ is a fake site?
EDIT:
just googled, seems secure.runescape.com is a real website of runescape.
so its weird, it is official site of runescape, not phising site like the spokeperson said on article above.
now im really really confused
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
Comment below viewing threshold Show
ah thanks the info
i never enabled html on my email so that make me forgot that email can be formated in html.